We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Ranked #123 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    941
    620
    242
    135
See reviews for
592
749
117
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very close to airport and has a shuttle for pick up. Staff was friendly. View of San Diego Sunset was amazing. Convenient to everything and transportation to shopping areas.
Had a great quick visit. Will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside and appreciate the nice comments about our staff. We look forward to your return so that you may experience another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The price was well for the area. I would come back again no doubt. My kids loved the pool, it was well maintened and the temperature was well kept as well. Only con was there was no hot tub, but the pool makes up for it by its size and warmth.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Appreciate the wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside! Look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We used San Diego as a stopover between Boston and Hawaii. Not a terrible idea. On the way to Hawaii, the hotel room was nice and they upgraded us to a bay view room because it was our honeymoon. We honestly weren't at the hotel much, explored SD and then took off the next morning. The return trip, however, wasn't as great.

We got back to the Wyndham on the 8th and checked in, went to our room and found that it hadn't been cleaned since the last person checked out. Kind of gross, but these things happen I guess... so we called the front desk and they said they'd send housekeeping up. After a little internal debate, we decided that sending housekeeping up wasn't really the best option (at all) because we had dinner reservations, needed to shower and unpack a little in a short amount of time. We called the front desk again and they said they would put us in another room. Went back downstairs, got our new key, and moved to the new room. Which was again an upgrade as an apology and because it was still (just barely) our honeymoon. The room was nice, though the a/c unit made a terribly loud thud sound every 5 minutes or so, non stop, despite adjusting the temp and just using the fan. Oh well, being on Hawaii time, it wasn't like we were going to sleep anyways.

The rooms are fine, the room service is fine, the hotel airport shuttle is fine. It's all fine. A bit noisy, with the high traffic roads surrounding it, but all in all pretty seriously average.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We really appreciate all your detailed feedback and be assured the items of concern will be given our immediate attention. We hope you will visit us again so that we may have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Property: Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-3321 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing