We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Ranked #120 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    893
    583
    220
    125
See reviews for
544
707
109
800
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room is small, beds are full sized not queen as stated on my reservation but it was clean. We were in tower 2, floor 14, city view. The view is very nice from the roomy balcony, however the railing on the balcony is very low! I don't know how this made "code" but seriously be careful and keep your kids off the balcony! You can watch the planes come in for landing, the trolley is below and you can hear it through the night although train horns don't bother me. As the lights come up in the city and the moon rises over the skyline it's very beautiful. I imagine the bay view is nice too however, it's not a particularly nice part of the bay. Back to the room... Beds were very comfortable albeit small, the linens really soft, the shower (no tub) was roomy, bathroom was clean, and the Bath and Body Works soaps/shampoo's etc. were lovely. No micro/fridge, which I find annoying. You can request one for an additional fee. An ice machine was available down the hall, with a beverage vending machine. The standard sized ice bucket didn't come with any liner bags so I felt the need to wash it first myself. A Small desk and chair, a dresser with a flat screen tv on top finished out the room. Closet is in the bathroom. The a/c rattles all night long, but it blows cold. I didn't use the pool or gym but I took a look and they were clean and adequate. Parking is $24/night. There are 7 spots for parking near the garage entrance that don't require meter payment from 6pm-8am. Otherwise, it's a $1.25 per hour in the meter. We had two vehicles so we paid to park one in the garage that we didn't move until we checked out and drove the other one around during the day and got lucky and snagged one of the free overnight spots. Ruths Chris is just next door, Anthony's across the street, The Star of India across the street and a short, easy walk to Seaside Village. Little Italy is a bit of a walk or an easy drive with great dining choices. Fireworks at the Midway visible from balcony. Overall, the Wyndham is in a great area with easy access to all. The service was fine. The room was fine. The price was a little high at $350 for 2 nights plus parking $48 but at the time of booking it was the best value.

Room Tip: Upper floors for city view of tower 2 are good. For bay view request floor high enough to see over f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. While we are glad that your overall stay was good, we do extend our sincere apology for the parts of your stay that were not satisfactory. Further we truly appreciate all the detailed feedback you provided, as we will give these concerns our immediate attention. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest. Again, thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked our stay at Wyndham to attend a San Diego convention and needed a hotel within walking distance to convention center. The hotel is near restaurants and a nice walk to Seaside Village. The parking spaces for self parking are very squishy in the parking structure and were made for compact cars. The hotel reception staff was great in checking us in and handled questions promptly. The pool was well stocked with towels and very clean. The room itself was clean and beds were comfortable. It was small; just had enough room for two double beds, a desk, and small tv on small dresser. There was no compact refrigerator or microwave for an expensive room. We also had the city view side which meant we heard the train horn go off every time it went by (which is a lot in San Diego) as well as beeping from the nearby construction sites. The ocean view side would have been better to avoid the train noise. The staff is great, but for the price of this hotel, you would think that the room would be a little more spacious and have a refrigerator.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are glad your overall stay was good and appreciate you sharing your comments. Further we appreciate the detailed feedback to include the nice comments about our staff and your overall experience during your stay. Your comments and recommendations will be shared with our management. We look forward to your return so that we may have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to you as a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Harbor Drive was ten up and under construction as was the hotel. Parking like most of San Diego costs a fortune be it valet or self parking so add that in to the cost.

Our first room had a tiny Juliet style balcony which was not what we booked so the next day they moved us to another room in another tower with the bay view and larger balcony. Room was clean, updated and bathroom was modernized. Beds were ok for comfort. Some of the front desk staff was more helpful than others when we checked in and when we were changing rooms.

On Sunday night they shot fireworks off the Midway and from our 10th floor room the view was spectacular. We were within walking distance to our champagne brunch harbor tour and very close to Seaport Village.

Overall OK place to stay even accounting for construction inconveniences.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank caburpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. While we are glad you had a good stay, we do want to apologize for the need to change rooms; we were pleased to know that after the room change the remainder of your stay was nice. We look forward to your return and assure you your next stay will be a much more pleasant and memorable occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week with my daughters softball team. We got a great rate $159/night. I did not chose this hotel, but it was better than what I had expected. The best thing about it was probably the location! The views of the bay were beautiful, especially if you had a bayside room, higher up in tower III. There is no free breakfast, but the Cafe in front of the hotel was convenient and all of the breakfast and lunch food we had there was good! The beds were comfortable. I wish that there was a larger room that could accommodate our family of six. The housekeeping service was not too good. I don't think they vacuumed our room everyday because I saw a fruit loop on the floor, under the desk for 2 days, before throwing it in the garbage myself. We enjoyed spending time with other families at the pool. I was also satisfied with the equipment between the two workout room. Running along the bay front in the morning was even nicer! Overall, the rooms were small, but the location was great, especially for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are glad your overall stay was good and that you received a great value for your stay. We look forward to your return so that you may experience another great stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've stayed in the Wyndham before and thought it was a nice hotel so I decided to book it again for this past weekend. We were in town for a wedding in Coronado but the hotels on the island were ridiculously pricey. The location of the Wyndham was perfect as it was a short drive to the wedding. We stayed on the 11th floor and had a beautiful view of the bay. The elevator is fast, our room was clean, the beds were comfy and the AC worked!! We were extremely grateful for the AC because the wedding was at the Hotel Del Coronado and they didn't have a working AC in the reception hall. There was a little hiccup with our reservation but Neville, Guest Services Manager was at the front desk when I checked in and made an amazing effort to make our stay pleasant. He fits his role as Guest Services Manager perfectly. Overall, I was very happy with my stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay.. it's absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are glad you had a wonderful experience here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside during your recent stay. Further, thank you for sharing comments about the beautiful view and great customer service you received. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Property: Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-3321 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing