We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your Review The staff could not seem to comprehend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Ranked #120 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    877
    574
    213
    121
See reviews for
534
689
106
787
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel in itself is really nice u I would just comment on the parking.
It took me by surprise the would charge $24 a day for parking fee in San Diego Downtown.
They told me is not the hotel but the is San Diego City fees. It's outrageous ridiculous fees.
I rather parked somewhere else and avoided paying those fees. By all means watch out for these new type scam when staying in hotels nowadays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthful201408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay and are glad to know you thought the hotel was nice overall. I apologize if you found the parking fee a bit surprising. On the positive side, the fee includes in-and -out privileges. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agassiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I just got back from 5 nights at the Wyndham and was overall pleased with my experience. I had a room in tower 2 on the 6th floor with a balcony overlooking the pool/bay, the room itself was fine, the bed was very comfy and the pillows were fine, the bathroom all worked. My only complaint about the room is that the coffee and tea were atrocious, I don't know if it was the maker itself, the brand or the creamer/sugar, but I tried on 3 separate occasions and ended up throwing out my cup of coffee or tea all 3 times. I met a friend there and his room in tower 3 was not nice, it was on a lower floor and had no view, no desk and was generally a bit dark and dingy. He requested a transfer and was moved into my tower on an upper floor and was more pleased with his room.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful in arranging shuttles (airport/zoo) when needed. The pool was great too, getting sun exposure for most of the day. The location is fantastic, it's right by little Italy, which means lots of great restaurants. The last time I stayed in the Gaslamp district and much preferred the Wyndham's location due to its proximity to better restaurants. Overall a great trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your five night stay here at Wyndham San Diego Bayside and we appreciate you sharing your comments about your stay. We look forward to your return so that you may experience another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was great. We got there early and were told there were no rooms available for check in before 3. However staff were very helpful in finding us rooms an hour early. room rate on checkout was not what we were quoted. Again staff at checkout were extremely helpful and fixed this immediately. Our king room was extremely spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. Our room didn't look over the harbour however our view at night time was lovely especially when watching planes come in. Overall our stay was enjoyable and we thank the stuff for all their help.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammika09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham SD B, Manager at Wyndham San Diego Bayside, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We re glad you enjoyed your two night stay and that the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provided you with a wonderful view of the Bay. We appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your stay and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Diego Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Diego Bayside

Property: Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Address: 1355 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-3321 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Diego Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a premiere location close to the San Diego cruise ship terminal, Convention Center, and Gaslamp Quarter, the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is unsurpassed among downtown waterfront hotels. Leisure travelers will enjoy nearby attractions such as the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, Harbor Tours, and Maritime Museums including the USS Midway and Star of India. A stay at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside immerses guests in a true full-service experience, and relaxing views of the San Diego harbor front or city center skyline. A free airport and area shuttle makes traveling to and from the hotel and nearby attractions easy, while free high speed internet makes business travel a pleasure. Fantastic features such as an outdoor heated pool and a poolside gym provide opportunities for recreation once guests return from a fun-filled day exploring the area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are easy as well, with several exceptional on-site restaurants such as Elephant and Castle as well as Ruth Chris Steakhouse providing a wide variety of options for any taste. The 600 guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside provide a peaceful escape from the vibrant city buzz. Bright decor, comfortable beds, floor-to-ceiling windows and furnished balcony rooms help guests make the most of the stunning location. Suites located near the top of the 14-story tower of the hotel offer breathtaking views along with a private bedroom, living area, pull-out sofa and mini-refrigerator. All rooms include guest-preferred amenities such as free high speed internet access, a free morning newspaper, a coffee maker, hairdryer and a large work desk. With 24,000 square feet of meeting space and conference facilities the Wyndham San Diego Bayside is the ideal location for San Diego meetings and events. Full-service planning assistance and professional amenities along with and creative catering help create the perfect meeting on the bay. Grand galas or casual affairs are also a specialty for the professionals at the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, with 12 wedding reception halls and various wedding packages to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham San Diego Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego - On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Bay San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing