We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel staff was friendly but I was rather disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Ranked #243 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
1 review
“The hotel staff was friendly but I was rather disappointed...”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel staff was friendly but I was rather disappointed in the condition of the hotel itself. I was expecting a nicely maintained and modern room, but I might as well have been in a Motel 6. The room was what I would expect if I had stayed at a Super 8 or Motel 6. The room was not bad, just not what I expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    148
    176
    266
See reviews for
284
129
76
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location was fantastic, but the rooms were old and badly needing remodeling , appeared the sheets were not clean and the shower curtain was old, very outdated , Microwave did not operate correctly, and very noisy with other guest outside your room talking on their cell phones.late at night contacted front desk and it not help no Action was taken, which led to no sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I were on a budget for a vacation in San Diego and found this hotel online, the price was great for what we could pay for, because at the end of the day we only needed a place to sleep. The rooms were small and old. They advertise "Free Continental Breakfast" but is not really good and not healthy at all. Needs to be updated, carpets were very old and smelly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An19812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First of all I call Howard Johnson toll-free number to make my reservation I asked for one location and was given another. Basically I got stuck with this location. Which was the biggest inconvenience ever. I gave this location the benefit of the doubt. Should I use my first mind and went elsewhere. The room was smelly, stuffy, and smelled like someone had just taken a dump. The A/C didn't work and when I called the front desk to ask someone to come look at the A/C there was no answer. Should have stayed at Motel 6 yes I'm very frustrated!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaBuffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddell, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff was truly friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very well maintained and some amenities offered. Great value for what you are getting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank champlain20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#175 of 279 in San Diego
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#172 of 279 in San Diego
162 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#140 of 279 in San Diego
1,474 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#134 of 279 in San Diego
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Property: Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle
Address: 1631 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing