We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #145 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Is it a Hyatt? No it isn`t. Hyatt hotels have a different standard. This hotel probably was good many years ago. But, the owners decided not to invest money on their property. So, although very well located by the sea it is an extremely old hotel. Nay, it is an ancient hotel. The rooms smell the last century. Few people in a huge property what makes it sad. On the other hand, everything is always closed. “ - Today is Monday? Oh, unfortunately the snack bar is closed. And so it will be closed on Tuesday, Wednesday…..” In the reception there is always a huge queue with many people complaining about something. And, as far as I listened, employees are not able to solve any problems. The worst problem probably is the internet. I was informed that in public areas there was free internet. But, the public areas where internet is free are always closed in the evening. So, you have to pay. In simply and taut words: never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luizpaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    893
    662
    402
    275
See reviews for
1,210
649
78
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Could not locate two bedroom suites when arranging the trip so opted for a suite at Hyatt. Lovely room with 2 double beds and a reading chair with views of Marina & small balcony plus another TV whole room with L shaped sofa's. Meant the kids could go to sleep in bedroom & parents slip into lounge. Perfect. Bathroom good but needs extractor for moisture. Water bottles are not complementary but no notice provided (only found out on check out and lady waived the charged). Upon arrival I said "self park" but they moved the car regardless when there was no need (to "earn" a top maybe?). Didn't happen. The Einstein Bros Hutt handy for coffee & casual breakfast. Pools are small but heated in winter and slides brilliant for kids of all ages. Service was good all round. Ample parking out front of suites. Walk over bridge to Mission Beach restaurants and Boardwalk. Walk to Sea World is a bit further than you think but comfortable. This is a good hotel & brilliant location incl. Access to freeways.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a nice stay at the Hyatt in Mission Bay. The pools are why we chose this hotel along with the fact that the ocean view is beautiful and is only a short drive away to the beach and all of the local attractions including Down Town San Diego. We went impressed with the hotel food, but the connecting restaurant, Red Marlin was good. Staff is very nice. Had a fun day on 4th of July with a full house at the pools with fun games for the kids. Wish there was more to do on the property, but we had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed Dec 26-29th. First trip to San Diego. Our kids are the main reason I chose this hotel. There was not much to choose from in San Diego in regards to awesome pools which surprised me. When I came across this one on Tripadvisor and saw the water slides I was sold! Booked thru getaway today as a package deal with Sea World. Just over $800 for three nights stay and a 7 day pass to SeaWorld for a family of four.Be forewarned that parking is extra here and a hefty $24/day to boot. (That's for self parking) SeaWorld was only $15!!

The grounds are beautiful and very well kept up. At night there are gas lamp torches and a fire pit in the center area with cabana seating amid banana trees. There are three pools each with different temps. Slightly on the cool side but probably awesome in the summer. Depth is 3 1/2 ft max so most kids are OK. Two twisting waterslides pour into one pool and run until 5pm. Another small slide pours into one of the other pools. Hot tub (only one here) get way crowded with kids trying to warm up from the pool. Max occupancy is 16 and always full so the wife didn't enjoy it as much as she hoped. Property could use another hot tub to relieve this, hint, hint! There is a full bar with local beer on tap as well as snacks and smore kits for use at the lava rock firepit just outside. That's a nice touch. Staff at the bar as well as the pool were very polite.

We stayed in room 2071 just above the lobby. It was right next to the elevator, slightly loud in the early morning but didn't keep us up after a long day. The towers seem to have views but were all booked up. Beds were a tad soft, but room was larger than most we've stayed in. Could have used a small table in the room for when we brought late night Hodads back to the room. Had to eat on the beds.

We ended up driving to seaworld but the walk would have been just under a mile and looked doable. Be sure to walk the walkway along the marina one night and check out the boats all lit up. Ocean Beach as well as Mission Beach were a quick 5 min drive from the property.

In short, kids will forever remember the waterslides at your hotel. At the beach, dinner, or SeaWorld, mine kept asking if we could go back to the pool!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4CacheMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this property. Very close to Mission Beach (15 minute walk). Absolutely stunning views of Mission Bay and the Pacific. Recommend west facing views if you can. We only have Hyatt Platinum status, but we had a WONDERFUL front desk clerk named Britteny who upgraded us to the club lounge. While most clerks would relegate us to a standard room on a night where the hotel was sold out, Britteny made us feel like welcome members of the Hyatt family. We'd definitely stay here again based on the great service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you are near the Gas Lamp and want to enjoy an exceptional view of the waterfront you have to visit the Top of the Hyatt on the 40th floor. Younger children are allowed to visit with their parents during the day. In the evening it's 21 and over. The drinks are fairly priced and the views the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoboTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have never wrote a review before, but I wanted to take the time to acknowledge Britteny for the great service she provided for us when we checked in. We stayed there for my husbands holiday party, and she went above and beyond for us. We had a wonderful view of the beach, and the beautiful property around. It definitely made our stay a great one. From the time we pulled our car up to check in, and the check in process we were treated very well. We will definitely return to this property because of this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#134 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing