We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #155 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here with a group after our company party. We had a great stay, rooms were very clean and well kept. Service was also very good, and lives up to the Hyatt name.. I would recommend and will be coming back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rowdy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    951
    734
    462
    305
See reviews for
1,373
688
92
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We wanted to get away for the weekend and this was the perfect location. Great restaurants close by and great setting for romantic walks. Rode bikes and enjoyed the area completely. Closed to Sea World and other bay front areas. Winter months are great for good room values as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I usually love staying at Hyatts as I find that most times you feel like you get great service without the Ritz Carlton prices (see review of Hyatt Tahoe). As other reviewers had mentioned, this one doesn't quite live up to the Hyatt standards. Although it was very busy during our stay, I would expect a Hyatt to be able to anticipate this and plan accordingly to accommodation the influx of guests. Here were some glaring examples.

1. There were only 1 person checking in for the main line and 1 person for the "VIP" line. With 10 people waiting in line and expecting lots of check ins, they should have an extra person to accommodate during the busy time.
2. They were out of towels at the pool and until we went into the pool restaurant to have them call it in as it was empty for quite some time.
3. They did not replace the water in our room because they ran out. With a $19 daily resort fee that is suppose to cover 2 bottles of water, I do want my $9.50 bottle of water.
4. Resort fee...not sure if they are still continuing with it but a $19 resort fee seemed unnecessary for what you get. Most places like Hawaii has resort fees but the resort fees cover self parking, snuba lessons in the pool, water aerobic classes, etc.. Here, they already charge a separate parking fee so a resort fee for things that most guests probably won't use except for the 2 bottles of water daily that they don't always even replace seems like a rip off. We won't really need the local phone calls since most will just use cell phone, wireless internet usage may be a tossup but if it's mainly business clients that uses it, then just charge for usage since they can expense it anyways vs charging everyone. For everyone else, just enjoy a tech no vacation.
5. They probably need to have an adults only hot tub as the one they had with a capacity of 15 or so had over 40 people at one time including the kids in there.

But don't get me wrong, there are some wonderful things about this resort and our experience there as well.

1. Despite the long wait to check in, the front desk was very friendly and patient in answering any questions and whenever we did have a problem, they made sure to rectify it.
2. We stayed in the tower which I believe the rooms were recently updated and the balconies overlooking the pool is a nice respite to enjoy your breakfast out there in the mornings or to absorb some sun in the afternoon.
3. Walking distance to the marina and boat deck for a nice scenic morning run, etc..
4. The For Your Convenience amenities is one of the things I like about the Hyatt as you are bound to forget something or didn't realize you needed it.

So definitely pros and cons for this place. If they can fix the cons, I think it can bring the standards up to what you would expect from a Hyatt.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We had a suite in the tower rooms with a corner window. We had a separate sleeping area and the views were great! We were within walking distance of the boat docking areas and there were a lot of places to walk along the bay. We did have trouble finding eating areas near by. There are some fast food places within walking distance and a restaurant on premise but for variety you need to drive ekes where.

Room Tip: If you want a great view ask for rooms in the tower building. Also ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Is it a Hyatt? No it isn`t. Hyatt hotels have a different standard. This hotel probably was good many years ago. But, the owners decided not to invest money on their property. So, although very well located by the sea it is an extremely old hotel. Nay, it is an ancient hotel. The rooms smell the last century. Few people in a huge property what makes it sad. On the other hand, everything is always closed. “ - Today is Monday? Oh, unfortunately the snack bar is closed. And so it will be closed on Tuesday, Wednesday…..” In the reception there is always a huge queue with many people complaining about something. And, as far as I listened, employees are not able to solve any problems. The worst problem probably is the internet. I was informed that in public areas there was free internet. But, the public areas where internet is free are always closed in the evening. So, you have to pay. In simply and taut words: never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luizpaulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Could not locate two bedroom suites when arranging the trip so opted for a suite at Hyatt. Lovely room with 2 double beds and a reading chair with views of Marina & small balcony plus another TV whole room with L shaped sofa's. Meant the kids could go to sleep in bedroom & parents slip into lounge. Perfect. Bathroom good but needs extractor for moisture. Water bottles are not complementary but no notice provided (only found out on check out and lady waived the charged). Upon arrival I said "self park" but they moved the car regardless when there was no need (to "earn" a top maybe?). Didn't happen. The Einstein Bros Hutt handy for coffee & casual breakfast. Pools are small but heated in winter and slides brilliant for kids of all ages. Service was good all round. Ample parking out front of suites. Walk over bridge to Mission Beach restaurants and Boardwalk. Walk to Sea World is a bit further than you think but comfortable. This is a good hotel & brilliant location incl. Access to freeways.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a nice stay at the Hyatt in Mission Bay. The pools are why we chose this hotel along with the fact that the ocean view is beautiful and is only a short drive away to the beach and all of the local attractions including Down Town San Diego. We went impressed with the hotel food, but the connecting restaurant, Red Marlin was good. Staff is very nice. Had a fun day on 4th of July with a full house at the pools with fun games for the kids. Wish there was more to do on the property, but we had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,052 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#147 of 278 in San Diego
5,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing