We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but hotel dated and locale is so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #158 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Not a bad place to stay - rooms are specious if a little outdated (no HDTV in the rooms?) - plus there's just not much to do around there after going to sea world. You have to drive anywhere to eat. The restaurant, while in a nice spot, is very ordinary.

Service was good in this hotel - though there were several inaccuracies in the bill which they quickly resolved so no issue there. Overall - not bad, not great. If I had to do it all over again i'd stay in Gasslamp rather than on the marina.

Room Tip: Worth the extra $11 or so to get the suite - particularly with a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with our two year old and had a great stay! They had 2 slides that my 2 year old enjoyed tremendously. The rooms were a bit outdated but very clean. The only drawback was the parking which was 29 a night and resort fee of 40 per day. So the value diminished when this was all paid in the end.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacaPrincess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The pool and water slides are great for the family unless you are there on a weekend then they don't have enough chairs to accommodate the guests. Rooms are outdated and were not Hyatt standard clean. If you can stay in the tower and get the access to the Regency Club…

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Shelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Mold in the bathtub where the shampoo products are kept and leaking sound from the bathtub drain all night and day long. I just shut the door to the bathroom to be able to sleep. Was loud one night outside in the courtyard around 11:30 pm but someone must of complained because it quickly went away about 30 minutes later

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Jason B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I regret to learn of your dissatisfaction with the condition of your guestroom and would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result. We will conduct a thorough inspection of your room to address any concerns and ensure everything is up to Hyatt standards.

Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and value your loyalty to Hyatt. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you expect from the Hyatt during your next stay in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

$29 A DAY TO PARK, $19 A DAY RESORT FEE!!! SO DECEIVING!!!
We travel a lot and have NEVER been gouged like this. Save your money and stay at Paradise Point or La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. I have paid resort fees at many hotels, but have never paid for self parking! They even charge you to use a beach chair! The Hyatt does not care about their guests. They only care about the mighty green dollar! I'm not a fan of BAIT & SWITCH AND THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED HERE! We just checked in and I'd leave if half the county wasn't on fire!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CaliforniaRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear CaliforniaRiverGirl,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay we truly appreciate your comments. I regret to learn of your dissatisfaction with our pricing and would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result.

As a management team, we regularly review our pricing as we want to ensure we remain competitive with similar hotels in our local area. Paradise Point is one of our direct competitors and our pricing for resort fee and parking is actually lower than what they are charging.

Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and value your loyalty to Hyatt. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you expect from the Hyatt during your next stay in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay. Only real complaint was that there was a silverfish in my shower one day. The bed was really comfortable and I slept like a baby! The internet was also a bit difficult to connect to. It seemed as though the connection was always there, it just didn't always sync up correctly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great and friendly hotel staff with clean nice, resort amenities. The beds are very comfortable, we had a great sleep. The view of the harbor is great and there is a lot to do close by. The carpets could use a cleaning, but everything else was idealistic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Christophe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#46 of 286 in San Diego
2,502 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
#103 of 286 in San Diego
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £120 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing