We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$591
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
HardRockSD.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (8,197)
Filter reviews
8,197 results
Traveller rating
4,692
2,307
722
276
200
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,692
2,307
722
276
200
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
Filter
Updating list...
6,822 - 6,827 of 8,197 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

First time in San Diego and this hotel was great. On the harbour front, near to the Fish Market restaurant, and within walking distance of the Gas Lamp district where there is a wide choice of restaurants and bars, as well as shops.

We were on the 30th floor with an awesome view of the harbour and with the baseball ground Petco park in the distance. The trolley (tram system) ran from just over the road which was convenient for getting to Sea World and Fashion Valley (not my choice of venues but I'm a good bag carrier).

The hotel room was spacious, big bed, very comfy, all clean, and the 40th floor 'Top of the Hyatt' was a good place to kick the night off, or retire to mid afternoon to escape the heat.

The restaurant in the hotel is nice, as are the bars, but I would recommend getting out to the local restaurants, as there are some great fish places to eat, and the steak at the Marble Room in the Gas Lamp was fantastic.

We will definitely return to San Diego and this hotel soon!

...and a quick word on San Diego, it is right up there with our favourite place New York, as the people are very friendly and we loved it!!!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rOjU_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

At our recent stay at the Manchester Hyatt we found the quality of service unsurpassed, starting with the concierge, specifically Philip and Mercedes, always doing their best to make our stay enjoyable. Cathy, and Benazon went out of their way, along with Ben our bellman to help us find a certain type of medicine for my wife and myself, even personally driving us there. Basel was also one of the most helpful managers we have met. We are frequent travelers to San Diego, and we never consider any other hotel than the Manchester Hyatt. The staff are more friendly and welcoming than anywhere we've ever been; we always feel like we're home when we arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelByLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

my daughters i-pod was stolen by a staff member. no interest from hotel, no investigation or contact on our return as promised. this place looks great but its a facade, anything goes wrong and you are on your own. beds are tiny, yet the sheets don't reach the bottom of the bed so your feet are on the bare matress?! walls paper thin, very expensive to dine, massive internet charge. the 'designer' shops mentioned in the foyer are a couple of dodgy places flogging garrish statues and floral patterned shirts. pool is very small, and very windy as its 4 floors up, if there are more than 50 people present its full and with a hotel this size thats not difficult. it was clean, thats about it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rae g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear rae g,
Thank you for your candid comments here on TripAdvisor. We take any theft reporting very seriously at the hotel. If this incident has not been addressed already, I'd like to invite you to call our Rooms Director, Chad Eding at the hotel so we can further investigate this claim. We appreciate your cooperation in the matter.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Spitz
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is great. It's not cheap but the service is great at check in right through to check out. I'd recommend getting breakfast at the hotel as you can get a take-out bag to take away fruit, bagels, cake, etc so if you are smart and don't intend eating out in the evening, you could get away with not spending any other money on food!

Tips: check the room guide in the hotel for 20% off the spa. Do hang out at the pool on the 4th floor, which provides virgin cocktails (not on the menu, but just ask). Music provided at the 4th floor pool which was very enjoyable. Sally's restaurant is amazing - worth the money. Another tip: join the Hyatt Gold passport scheme (you can do this online) then mention this when you check in and you can get free internet negotiated (you normally have to pay $13 a day).

I'd also recommend Super Shuttle ($12 return) to get picked up from and to the airport. Bus or tram also an option, but for stress-free experience, I'd recommend Super Shuttle.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Ask about upgrade packages - you may get to pay $25 a day for access to 32nd floor hospitality room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great value foe $100 a night. Great location, great pool area with fire pit to watch the sunset and feel the chill at night. Attentive staff at checkin and check out. Only negative is slight smell lf mildew in corridors and room. Probably due to a lack if humidity control with AC setting?

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shore-Club-Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews