We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location to Gas Lamp Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Good location to Gas Lamp Quarter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel is located a walk away from the Gas Lamp, great restaurants, and many attractions.
The hotel decor could use some updating. We wanted to recognize Philip at the concierge desk. He was extremely helpful and courteous. All his recommendations were terrific.
We had a great view of Coronado and the US Naval Base.....We have stayed at many Hyatt hotels and this one could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Lina P,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel - neighboring downtown San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, on the San Diego Bay. I will also be happy to pass along your nice comments about one of our Concierges, Philip. Thank you for the kind words.
I am happy to report that we are in the beginning planning stages for a room renovation set to start in 2012. During this renovation we will update all guest rooms, public areas and outlets. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back so you can experience these upgrades firsthand. Thank you for the review here on TripAdvisor, we appreciate any and all feedback from our valued guests.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Spitz
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,997
    2,021
    621
    224
    170
See reviews for
1,354
1,472
208
3,305
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is great in proximity to downtown location and attraction. The best is Seaport Village where you can spend the entire day to visit each stores and dine there. Best bay view restaurant is Harbor Restaurant, so don't miss it. They also have kids menu. Attraction can't be missed is the Waterfront cruise from Seal , see photo #1. Hotel itself are pretty old but renovated in guest room. You can tell but is acceptable. If u visit during summer, I would not recommend to rent a car since many attractions could be within walking distance and taxi is cheap. Parking is $28/day at hotel. Didn't try out the food in the hotel but definitely, make good use of the fridge to save cost. There is a supermarket called Ralph about 10 mins walking distance that you can buy roast chicken, hot food as take-out. Buy some milks and cereal as breakfast for kids for the morning. The guest room is not much different than the other one, however, the best part is to view the bay. You must like it...

Whether is day or night, you should visit the top 40th floor from Manchester Tower I think (the newer one). It is free which save some money especially for family of 4, it would be easily $60....The floor is open to public after 3pm daily but requires to be 18 after 8pm...See photos.

Staffs are not excited & not that friendly, no smile, perhaps it is due to the wage, or too busy, etc....

Room Tip: choose the newer tower (Manchester - left to the main entrance) , not the renovated one (Seaport - r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SekBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear SekBoy,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We pay very close attention to all reviews as it helps us improve and evolve on a daily basis so we can ensure the very best in customer service and accommodations during your stay. We're happy to hear you took advantage of our close location to Seaport Village, downtown San Diego and Ralph’s grocery store (to stock up the mini-fridge in your guestroom). We're also thrilled to hear you enjoyed the views from Top of the Hyatt on our 40th floor - and you are right, they are quite spectacular day or night with sweeping views of the bay and city!
We pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and the best in customer service to all our guests and apologize that you feel you did not receive this during your stay.
We do hope you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves in beautiful San Diego and hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back to the Manchester Grand Hyatt in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Spitz
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Manchester Hyatt is an upscale hotel at the edge of Coronado Bay with spectacular views. The staff is accomodating and friendly, the grounds clean and well kept. The hotel is situation next to the San Diego Convention Center and a light rail transit station making it convenient for business travelers and vacationers.

My wife, daughter and I stayed here the first week of September as I was attending a conference within the hotel. The close proximitey of the light rail allowed my wife and daughter to travel around the city while I was sequestered in the conference.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Man_1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

While attending national conference at this hotel, the region was suddenly without electricity. In San Diego this power outage lasted eight hours. The hotel management did a wonderful job keeping guests informed as to the nature of the problem, its size and probable length. They kept elevators running, lights on in the hallways and bars and restaurants well-stocked (most important because the blackout was from 4 pm to midnight.) Staff were very helpful. What could have been a major pain for many guests ended up as more of a minor blip, mainly because the hotel was prepared and management was on top of everything! Nice job!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeTravelersTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

While the rooms aren't as beautiful as the lobby (and when did lobbies stop providing places to sit down while your party registers and checks out?), this is a nice hotel in a great location. Walking distance to the harbor boat tours, Gaslamp District. Next to Seaport Village, with shopping, food and entertainment. We were there in a blackout and the hotel staff were awesome! Five stars for Philip, one of the concierges. He found us great deals, great dinners, a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not-naturally-red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hyatt hotels are overall fantastic, and this property is no exception. But if you are a light or early sleeper, this may not be the right location for you. Freight trains seem to come by every night around midnight. Trolleys, trains and noise from the street can be heard even at higher floors.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with my wife on our wedding anniversary.. Amazing hotel with great views of Coronado and the Coronado Bridge.. Located right near all the downtown San Diego attractions and The Gas Lamp district.. San Diego Convention Center next door, Petco Park a short walk away and did I mention The Gas Lamp District a few steps away? Complete access to restaurants, museums and San Diego's nightlife.. I am looking for a reason to move here..

Room Tip: Pool View / Harbor View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenie-mac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,897 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing