We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Grand Indeed”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here quite a few times on business, and I must say that I was quite impressed with this hotel. From the front entrance to the hotel to the spacious ultra high ceilings in the lobby, everything here says grand. The surrounding property is filled with world class eateries, and the lobby has a small mall like shopping area. A mile or two in any direction provides a great place to take a morning run or an evening stroll. The BBQ joint across the street is the place where they filmed "Top Gun". There is also a fire pit area near the pool which is really cool, and the gym/fitness area is like a mini Gold's Gym. We always are given rooms on the middle to upper floors, and the views are always awesome. Although I have only stayed here on business trips, I would definitely bring my family to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,065
    2,051
    633
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,481
209
3,388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I thought for a hotel which cost >$200/night it had to have extreme luxury all around. I didn't feel like i was in that hotel all the time. There was not free internet service to my knowledge, but service hook ups were in the room. i also didn't get a free breakfast with my stay. The service at night is not nearly what it is in the morning. The best part of the stay was the view of the Seaport Village and San Diego Bay. The property is not crowded and the club "Top of the Hyatt" is a real classy place. The pool deck and spa areas are tops for the city. The worst part of my stay was when I walked 10 blocks to get my car because i was too buzzed to drive home and I came back to valet my car. I was told that i needed to pay $25 for the 3 hours it was parked there.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest possible floor to get a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrillCharming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Yes, it's a very big hotel and full of business travelers but the pros outweighed the cons.

The pools are great especially the adult one on the 3 rd floor. The 4th floor main pool gets a little cool due to the breeze. Great views from both.
Check out the Top of the Hyatt... great bar and fantastic views of the harbor.

So many places to eat nearby and the it's worth walking into town to get away from the hotel restaurants which were expensive and busy.

Rooms were clean but dated and walls are a little thin. Great views from the higher floors over the bay. Keep the window closed if you don't want to be woken up by the train!

Room Tip: High floors are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Fantastic property! Lots of rooms; lots of services; not overcrowded, at all; fantastic pools; great restaurants; lobby is beautiful; great lobby-bar; close to downtown, Gaslamp, marina, & bay. I highly recommend this property for business travelers, getaways, and family visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pverda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpitz, E-Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear pverda,
Thank you for the nice recommendation here on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting San Diego. Please come back to see us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Spitz
E-Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt in San Diego for a large wedding. It was an excellent venue, 10 minutes from the airport, very spacious with clean, comfortable rooms. There are multiple pool decks with great views of the city. The rates were very reasonable, especially with the group discount, but even despite that. My only complaints would be the $12 Internet charge for 24 hours and the fact that my key card kept de-activating in my purse because of proximity to my phone (but I couldn't really put it anywhere else!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J91000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently spent 5 days at the Manchester Hyatt on a family vacation. This hotel is very nice and the rooms are clean & pretty typical of what you would expect in an hotel room. The only problem we had was water from neighbors backing up in bathroom sink--notified staff upon check out. The location is great and you and walk to so many eating & shopping locations. Old Town Trolley picks up at Seaport Village which is just beside the hotel. I would recommend the extra $$ for a bay view--it was amazing. This hotel helped make our San Diego vacation amazing! We also paid the extra $25 for early check in and was able to check in just after 10am.

Room Tip: water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

In the short week I spent in Downtown San Diego was a unique experience I definitely would have to go again, maybe even with my own money. It started at the hotel we stayed at, The Grand Hyatt. The rooms were okay. But the meeting places and surrounding locations were excellent. Plenty to do from night life to watching the boats along the harbor.
The hyatt also has a 40th floor restaurant that overlooks the whole place. Spectacular view! Plus San Diego is great anyway so I dunno..

Room Tip: ask for the newer tower... well the agent told me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing