We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All-Around Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #30 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here (minus our 2-year-old) as she attended a conference in the convention center and I used the time for vacation. I can't speak to the value of the room based on the rate, but can say that it is first class in location and amenities. We experienced great service regarding the in room internet, with parking, and in providing the toiletries that we forget. Despite a long line, check-in didn't take long either.

The location of this hotel and the majestic views make it our favorite place to stay in San Diego. I would have liked a view across Coronado Island to the ocean, but there was nothing wrong with the northwest view we had of the bay from the north tower.

Overall, the couple of small complaints we had (pillows, discolored/dirty grout in shower, uncomfortable room couch/chair) pale in comparison to the major benefits. If given the chance, I hope to stay here again in the future and have a return visit to the "Top of the Hyatt" for the sunset view.

Room Tip: A corner king has the best view, but just consider what tower you're going to be in, what direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,433 - 5,439 of 7,940 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

You walk into a huge lobby that is well-appointed, you're greeted by friendly staff, and then off to your room, which is lovely. Overall, a really nice experience. There is a wonderful sports bar off the lobby where you can watch your favorite team and have a bite if you like. The little café next to the sports bar is a great place to grab a morning coffee and treat or an afternoon snack or soda. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gaslight district and also a ferry to take you to Coranado island. They also have a very nice spa where I received one of the best pedicures ever.

The two small downsides here is (1) from one of the towers you will hear the jets from the airbase nearby if they are doing maneuvers; and (2) they charge for internet access, which I personally believe is criminal. You can access your smartphone in the lobby but not always in the room and even in the lobby it can be spotty. Otherwise, I really enjoyed my stay here!

Room Tip: It's possible the harbor tower is quieter if you don't hear the jets but I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I am currently staying at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for a business conference. The hotel features two towers and they are the tallest buildings in all of Southern California. When walking into the hotel the lobby is impressive with large painting/frescos, a bit of a hodge podge of styles. The checkin process was quick. I am a Hyatt Passport Gold status member, and was able to secure a room on the 24th floor facing the bay with beautiful views of the Bay, marina, and Military Battleship. The rooms are nice, modern, look recently renovated. With a large flat screen TV, comfortable/firm bed, and nice large waterfall shower head in the shower. The room was also very quiet the two nights I stayed here. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the heart of the Gaslight. There are plenty of other hotels on this strip of downtown San Diego, but for Hyatt loyalists, and folks looking for a nice place with great amenities (Did not swim in any of the pools but they looked really nice, Gym was large and had modern equipment) this hotel is a great option for Business travelers and Families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent a long weekend in San Diego and this hotel. Large hotel. Recently renovated. While there was a large party/conference in the hotel, it wasn't particularly loud (also helped that we requested to stay away from elevators and ice machines). Self-Parking over the labor day weekend was a bit of an issue but the parking folks were very accommodating and allowed us to valet our car free of charge when self-parking spots were unavailable. Probably would not recommend this hotel for a quiet, romantic getaway but definitely kid friendly and good for business trips.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SMDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel. Clean rooms. Very centrally located. But, its at the level of a normal Hyatt. Not a Grand Hyatt. If you have stayed in Grand Hyatts in Tokyo or Shanghai, you will know.
You can also hear street noises, especially the clanging of Light Rail Tram system which is right next to the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katongkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and a great location, they have a lot to offer as far as restaurants walking. The only reason I would never stay again was because the beds are so hard. I am not a firm bed person. After the first night I had to check out and go stay at the Westin. Which was great and the beds were much better

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Jjuday30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with an impressive lobby. Rooms were spacious although I could hear street noise at the 6th floor. Higher floors may be better. Short walk to convention center and Gas Lamp restaurants. The breakfast bar was very elaborate and also had quite a few local favors like perfectly poached eggs Mexican style in addition to an omelette station and fresh juice stand

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Shree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 286 in San Diego
4,606 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £143 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing