We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #30 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Asked at check-in to be located in the tower closest to my conference sessions, but the desk clerk must have been new as he was proud to move me, however, he placed me in the wrong tower. Hotel is very large and very busy. The room was nicely appointed and roomier than most. Left a tip and note for maid service both days and tip was taken and request for more coffee and towels was not fulfilled. Great location for walking along harbor and pool deck is very nice. Sports bar has typical food that is not too pricey. Order drinks here as they are much cheaper than the lobby bar in the opposite tower. Overall a 3.5 star hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank raible01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,336 - 5,342 of 7,992 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Manchester Grand--Hyatt, San Diego is a first-rate hotel, with all the amenities. The accomodations are outstanding, and the staff is top-of-the-line in kindness and care. All treatment from the fellow who takes your luggage to the folks on the main desk, everyone is 5-star!!!! Of course, the site itself is wonderful, just what a 5-star hotel is, and the location couldn't be better!

Room Tip: I was up on the 16th floor, and the view was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Gerald K,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all of the nice things you said regarding your stay - especially the staff, as we do work very hard to make sure each and every one of our guests are well taken care of.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent hotel, we were on the 21st floor and had the most awesome view of the harbour and Bridge to Coronado island...As well could see the convention centre and GASLAMP district.
Room was a King size bed, with WIFI. Coffee maker and Bottled water for a fee- $5.00 . Quiet.
They have bikes you can rent to tour around. Bus and Train is very close -across the street.
Has a work out room and pool, there are a lot of business type people given it is close to convention centre.

Room Tip: Higher up facing the Bridge to Coronado you get a view of downtown and GASLAMP street...marina ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reissort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Reissort,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel. We are so glad you took advantage of the many amenities our hotel provides to our guests.

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed there last week for 4 nights. The location cannot be better, right on the Gaslamp District and right next to the convention center. The convention area is adequate and the food was good. Good service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiroloco-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear tiroloco-travels,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, whether it be for business or pleasure!

Until next time in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a conference and while the rooms were clean and well maintained, the hotel certainly doesn't represent great value for money. In particular, the lack of free WIFI in the rooms just seems ridiculous.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Grand Hyatt is distinguished by its location on the marina. It is also is in proximity to the Gaslamp quarter ( walking distance ) where great food and entertainment are. the hotel has 2 towers connected by a lobby. The hotel lobby is impressive. the rooms are spacious and modern and the views ( depending on which view you take -city or ocean ) could be amazing.
the problem is that the rooms do not seem to have good sound proofing, I could hear the shower and toilet in the next room in am ; this could make your sleep less than ideal.
just to be sure, i asked few hotel guetss and they reported the same thing.
Overall, however, the hotel is nice , especially if you get time to do some walking by the marina during daytime and to te gas lamp quarter at night.

Room Tip: choose ocean viw if youcan. higher is better to avoid noise from street . stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed her for a conference. The rooms and views are lovely as expected. Ask to get the exterior views; the two inside views are okay. The bathroom had some hair but otherwise very very clean.

The top of the Hyatt is worth the look but not the beverages; below average service, below average drinks. The lounge bar was just as bad with no view :(

The concierge was great and so was the bell hope who has a scaler in case of traveling to airport.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank viperswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#23 of 286 in San Diego
4,647 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,184 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#28 of 286 in San Diego
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £153 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing