We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Grand" just doesn't do it justice...this place is Humongous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peletier
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Grand" just doesn't do it justice...this place is Humongous!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This expansive property has everything you could imagine and fantastic location for conventions and vacation goers. We were there for a convention in which my husband took part; however, my best friend and I went along to take in the San Diego sites. I have to say this hotel not only offered great amenities, restaurants, bars, the rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. They have a wonderful buffet breakfast in a fine dining setting which was a great way to start your day. Bell hops/Valets were very helpful in getting your car or getting you a taxi quickly. Concierge services (Scot, I believe was his name) was extremely knowledgeable and gave us lots of tips for visiting the Zoo. He had a great sense of humor, as well. This is definitely a property to experience not just a place to sleep!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawndan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,131
    2,077
    640
    231
    172
See reviews for
1,394
1,502
213
3,439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
234 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've stayed at the Marriott, the Hilton, and the Hyatt on the San Diego waterfront, and as a swimmer I choose the Hyatt. The rooms and restaurants and amenities at all 3 are comparable, but the Hyatt wins for its fitness offerings. First of all, they have 2 pools, a nice pool for families, and a second pool affiliated with its spa which is for 18 years and older. Whereas the first pool has loud and upscale pop music, the spa pool has spa music. But best of all if you swim is that the spa pool is a long rectangle so that lap swimming is possible. The spa itself is also excellent, and I had a lovely massage which includes the use of their sauna, steam room, lounge, and they even offer a plate of crackers and goat cheese with wine afterwards, and they also have cookies and fruit, nuts and dried fruit out in the lounge. The fitness center is actually located by the main pool, and has a fairly extensive array of machines and equipment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great place to stay while in SAN. Probably the best breakfast that I have found anywhere during my travels. Staff very helpful and friendly. Short walk to the USS Midway, Padres baseball. Across the street at Kanas City BBQ is where part of TOP GUN was filmed.

Room Tip: Get a view of the USS Midway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttrippc750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This huge (apx. 1600 rooms in two towers) property delivers everything you'd expect in a large scale hotel geared to the convention trade. The facility can handle multiple small to mid size conferences at the same time without breaking a sweat. You won't be disappointed if you're assigned here. Multiple bars and restaurants in the hotel. Great location and harbor views adjacent to Seaport Village. Convention Center also adjacent. Walkable to the Gaslamp Quarter and the USS Midway and many other dining and entertainment venues. Roof deck pools are fine to lounge by after your meeting, but are not resort service worthy. For example, at the main pool, for food and beverage, one must call and order on a phone. It comes promptly enough, but there's the inevitable hide and seek of the server runner trying to identify the ordering party. The deck was fairly busy and they certainly lost out on some F&B sales by not having active wait staff to take orders. There are several other notable hotel options near the convention center to compare, but none will be as large. If I was strictly on a family holiday, I'd prefer a less business like feel and efficiency, but it's hard to argue with the location and grandeur. Cab from airport is quick and reasonable.

Room Tip: Request high floor harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed every moment of my night away! They have an adult only pool, which is great for those who are getting away from the kids for a weekend!! I highly recommend this hotel and the food and drinks....amazing!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbor Tower. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevensmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This location was great for the San Diego Food and Wine Festival. We usually stay at the Embassy suites but this is the new must stay location. It is so close to things and the views are great. I was able to look at the USS Midway, the Naval yard and Embarcadero from our room.

My friend and I really liked our rooms (decore, comfort, cleanliness, climate and location). The beds were so comfy and the

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego while attending a convention at the San Diego Convention Center. This hotel was very nearby and well within walking distance! The check-in process was professional and quick; the hotel room was clean and well appointed; and the breakfast buffet was nice.

I wish I had more to share, but this was a business trip and therefore, I didn't get enjoy many of the other amenities. I heard that the pool area was really nice as well.

Thank you for a very nice stay, Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego! I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasLaura69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,190 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing