We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,127)
Filter reviews
8,127 results
Traveller rating
4,654
2,289
714
273
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,654
2,289
714
273
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,307 - 5,312 of 8,127 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was blown away by this hotel - and unexpectedly too! I had just stayed in Hotel Circle at a 3 star hotel for 4 nights and moved to this hotel for a conference. The price difference was only $20 per night extra for THIS hotel and it was far and away AMAZING value for money!

Firstly, the place is huge and there are at least 20 staff members lurking around to help in the foyer. I have never been to a hotel with such exceptionally friendly, helpful staff.

The rooms are very nice, comfy beds, strong wifi connection (I can't comment on price as mine was included in the conference cost) and amazing views - pay the extra $10 or so for the view - worth it!

There is a starbucks on site, it is close to the waterfront, shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars etc - everything you need is right there.

The rooftop bar has a nice view, and the pool area is also amazing.

A special mention to Cathy (Kathy?) at the concierge desk for going above and beyond and helping me fix my shoe during my stay! Exceptional service.

If I go to San Diego again, this hotel is definitely where I will stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liztiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The only thing I can say good about this Hyatt is the location. Other than that, I am mostly disappointed with it. The window panes seemed very thin that you can hear the alarm whenever the trolly runs by, also the airplane flying by. This may be my personal opinion, but the bed is too soft for me and the pillow is just not right. I could not have good sleep for the whole week. Not impressed with this Hyatt at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We loved our splurge at this hotel. The location is perfect, the rooms well appointed, the views spectacular, and it is quiet. No outside noise, even with your window open, and no noise from other rooms. It is within walking distance (1/2 mile...6 easy, flat blocks) from the Gaslamp District (restaurants, bars) and even closer to the SD Convention Center.

We had a room on the 28th floor (South building) with spectacular views. Tip: I asked for a city view as I wanted to watch the "city lights" at night and the city skyline by day. From the north building our room also had a view of the beautiful Coronado bridge. Also could see (but not hear) the planes on their approach to San Diego's airport. The views were spectacular. There is a small couch in the room in front of the window and we literally turned it around to face the window so that we could take full advantage of the view.

I've seen other reviews that have criticized this hotel for the expense of their parking and the internet which are particularly annoying when added to the very expensive room rate. I am a price shopper and investigated the many upscale downtown SD hotels. Room prices were very similar and parking/internet charges at all big downtown hotels were identical, so I did not find that as a distinguishing feature. Not that I like those charges, but every hotel has the same setup. I did opt for the Bed & Breakfast for 2, which allows a 2:00 p.m. checkout and a terrific, extensive breakfast in a lovely dining room (linen napkins). The views and the 2:00 checkout option is what sold us on the Manchester Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieeQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel. It is very nice,, and grand and luxurious. Staff are accommodating and friendly, and the hotel has a very good location with nice views of Coronado and the Pacific Ocean. Come here!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed there last week for the first time. The location is excellent right on the harbor and Seaport Village area. The hotel is really large (1,000 plus rooms) but the staff was super friendly and helpful. My room was quite worn and not at the level of quality I would have guessed for a Grand Hyatt. One of the seats was covered in white paint/dust and was quite worn. The same was true with the couch by the window. The accompanying table was very dusty upon arrival but was never dusted in the three days I stayed in the room.

To me, you are paying for the location but not necessarily the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews