We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location; large and expensive ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location; large and expensive ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I don't typically like mega hotels - you'd have to really convince the expense is worthwhile - but this was a business and I wanted to be right next to the convention center. The location was fantastic, plus close to Gaslamp for restaurants, and hopping the water taxi to Coronado when I had some free time. My only complaint is that the Top of the Hyatt was closed for some reason. The room was lovely and the lobby was "grand" indeed. I likes the lobby bar, even though it was ridiculously overpriced. Skip the breakfast buffet and go to their coffee shop out back for a less expensive option. It wasn't as special as it should be for $25. Everyone was very friendly too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AccidentalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,716
    1,928
    590
    212
    162
See reviews for
1,288
1,396
201
3,059
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

They aren't lying when they say Lael's Grand Buffet Breakfast has everything you could possible want for breakfast! The Grand Buffet at only $26 per person includes everything you could dream of from waffles, to berries, to juices, and danishes, even your very own omelette made fresh for you to devour!

I was lucky enough to find a great rate at the Hyatt on Booking.com for $170US, the room was clean and tastefully decorates, with 2 large queen size beds and the view from the room was absolutely fabulous!

For Business travellers you will find Hyatt's Web Check In service a breeze, cutting down wait times to minimum. You can also check out online as well, so it makes for a no fuss entrance and exit. I thought this was a fabulous idea and really enjoyed the efficiency!

Just walking into this Hyatt hotel you are greeted by friendly concierge and a breathtakingly grand foyer!

Location is always important, and you will find that the Hyatt is central to all things to do and see in San Diego. Gaslamp quarter is only a walk away and there is transport at your door to places like Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo (which is a must!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our room had a wonderful view of the harbor, and while it was described as "partial harbor view", it would be hard to top. We were in the Harbor Tower, which is slightly behind the Seaport Village Tower, but we had a direct view of the USS Midway as well as the Naval base on Coronado Island, with the USS Ronald Reagan docked.

This place is beautiful. Walking in the lobby, my wife commented that she felt like she was on the Titanic (an indication of the architecture and opulence, not the ship's final outcome).

There was no free in-room wifi, but you could go to the lobby to get it. That was the only negative I could find for this hotel.

We booked using our AAA membership, which gave us some discount on the room, but the best part was free breakfast buffets at the Lael's restaurant. This thing was amazing! Scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, bagels, cupcakes, donuts, omlettes, all kinds of fruit, cereal, ... Seriously, the best breakfast buffet I have encountered. Normal price for this is $25/person, and after the second day I believe I'd actually pay that for it. However, on the "AAA Breakfast" plan this was included in our rate. It would be worth joining AAA just for this if you are going to be here for a couple of days!

Room Tip: Get a "partial harbor view" room at least 20 floors up in the Harbor Tower for a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
368 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Manchester Grand Hyatt is indeed grand - the huge marble lobby and common areas are impressive, on a scale that reminded us of Las Vegas without the casino. The location is excellent, next door to Seaport Village and near the tram station, easy to walk along the waterfront to the Coronado ferry or the Midway, and near a lot of good restaurants. We appreciated the large self-park facility in addition to the availability of valet parking.

We had a corner room with a gorgeous view of the bay and Coronado bridge - oddly, the construction of the tower is such that even the corner rooms have windows only on one wall. It was spacious and well-appointed, and the bathroom had plenty of counter space. The one serious lack, which kept this from being a 5-star experience, is free internet access - they charge $10 per day, even if you're a member of their loyalty program. In a hotel of this caliber, it just annoys me to be nickle-and-dimed for something that should be a basic amenity and is provided in most lesser-caliber establishments.

The breakfast buffet was excellent (included in our room rate), with good variety and quality. the pool area is lovely, and they have firepits where I understand you can make s'mores in the evening (we never had time to do) with a kit purchased in the cafe downstairs. There's a spa with a second outdoor pool, for adults only. Service was great throughout, especially at the concierge desk. Overall, this was a good choice for visiting San Diego.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Attended a conference at the convention center and stayed at the Manchester Hyatt. Good choice. Very friendly staff, nice room and a superb view of the bay. Only a few minutes walking distance from the convention center and just next to the little village on the marina and the gas lamp district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and seem to have the same similar experience. It's a nice lobby , average rooms , nice staff and above average food choices . I think that the surrounding area , beautiful weather and local beaches
Are more impactful than any minor differences between the marriot's , hyatt's or similar chains

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ajptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

1. Have a customer service rep out at check-in. Line can be long and one can get on wrong one.

2. Fix room doors. They are heavy and slam when closing waking/startling people.

3. Spacious lounge and happy it is monitored for guests only, but there is a need for someone to staff the lounge or, at least, regularly check in on guests and food supplies in the afternoon when there is no formal service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing