We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a PERFECT location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a PERFECT location!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are updated and clean. The staff is friendly...but by FAR the best part of this hotel is the location. It is located right on the bay and steps away from Seaport Village, a small walking community of shops and restaurants. The ONLY negative aspect is the parking situation. For $200 a night/5 nights I was very disappointed to find out that PAYING hotel guests are charged an additional $28 per DAY to use the hotel parking structure and during the weekends you cannot even find a space to park. My family dreaded returning each night as we entered the parking structure, which was always jam-packed.
Helpful tip: Internet access is $10-13 per day, BUT if you sign up for the Hyatt rewards club at check-out by simply giving your email address, they will wave this fee :)

Room Tip: Ask for a bay-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Hi Lindsey,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past June. We are glad you and your family were able to explore the downtown community and attractions but we are sorry to hear your thoughts about parking. Like most large cities, parking can be high and sparse. We price our amenities very similar to other hotels in the area and to help with the cost, we have packages from time to time that include parking with your stay — so be sure to check that out for your next visit.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back in to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,257
    2,135
    663
    238
    180
See reviews for
1,452
1,538
222
3,540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic Hotel overlooking the bay. We had a sea view in the seaboard tower which offered fantastic views of the bay and USS Midway. Room was spotless and modern. Pool area was busy but to be expected at time of year. Highly recommend this hotel particularly given the really good deal I got for the 4 days we stayed there. Only one small gripe in that we had a twin room and I'd say the beds were on the small size.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review, James. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past June. If you are able to visit before or after the summer months, the pools aren’t as crowded and the weather is just as nice! San Diego is great weather wise so any time of year works. We are sorry to hear you felt our twin beds were a touch on the small side. We will share this information with our staff to see what we might be able to consider in the future to make guests experiences better during their stays. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel while attending a conference at the convention center, which is close by within walking distance.

It is a large, high quality hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms. Internet costs extra. I used the high-speed option, which worked well. Service was friendly and fast when needed.

I probably wouldn't choose it for vacation, but for business it's a good choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tdsdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us this past June. Our urban waterfront resort is perfect for family getaways too, not just business. We have tons of Camp Hyatt activities for the kids, sports courts and a ‘backyard’ where they can enjoy even more activities out in the sun. Parents can enjoy the adult’s only pool near the spa and whirlpools on the 4th floor pool deck along with a romantic date at the Top of the Hyatt 40 stories high. We welcome all travelers whether it is for business or leisure and invite you to stay with us for a nice vacation in the near future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Full service hotel with great amenities and convenient location. Lots of restaurants on hotel grounds and nearby. Close to the airport and has a wonderful spa and top floor bar with amazing views of San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Deborah. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. We are glad you felt our spa was wonderful and took a liking to our Top of the Hyatt lounge of the 40th floor. We have renovated our spa since you last stayed with us and would love to welcome you back to get your input. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is located in a great part of town right by the waterfront with the ability to walk many places. While it is a beautfiul hotel with every amenity what struck me about this hotel was how friendly and kind the servers were from bellman to room maids to front desk people. They were all very polite and gracious. I felt valued which is a rare thing these days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Margaret. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staffs kind and friendly services during your stay this past July. We genuinely care about your experience in San Diego and want you to feel welcome and at home. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

For being such a big hotel, the warm and friendly staff make it feel boutique. I had a premium view of the San Diego Harbor and the deck of the Midway aircraft carrier which was a thrill. The breakfast buff was delicious. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to the ball park, Gaslamp, Little Italy and the harbor. I would definitely stay here for any occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you, Stacy. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. The location of our hotel is perfect for anyone looking to explore downtown San Diego attractions by foot. Public transportation hubs are also conveniently located just across the street for any farther to reach places which are still only minutes away. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and staying with us during your trip to San Diego. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Grand in size, it's huge in two tall towers, and grand in its public spaces decor. On arrival you feel special already. The rooms are a good size too and depending on which side of which tower you get a room in the view can be spectacular. The room maids was the most friendly I have ever come across, and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green. Tries to do everything large hotels can.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Noel and Richard. We couldn’t be happier to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past May and our housekeeping staff will be delighted to find you appreciated their kindliness too. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4,328 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,199 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing