We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vadcation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, United States
1 review
“Great Vadcation Spot”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you are looking for a good value and great location in a San Diego resort hotel, the Manchester Grand Hyatt is the answer. Having Seaport Village (just out the back door), the USS Midway, Petco Park and the Gaslamp Quarter within walking distance was awesome. The only time I my family got int the car was to visit the San Diego Zoo and Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Scott. We couldn’t be happier to hear about you and your family enjoying your stay with us this past July. It sounds like you made the most of your trip and explored all that downtown San Diego has to offer. It is even easier getting to the San Diego Zoo and Old Town by taking the Trolley. So next time, forget the car unless you think you absolutely need it. The trolley hub is just across the street and a pleasant ride to your destination. Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others here on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you and your family back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,970
    2,015
    621
    224
    169
See reviews for
1,353
1,469
207
3,277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There is no parking for the guests, you must pay for it. There is no free Wi Fi that most hotels have. Everything else is excellent, the Room Service is great and the employees are giving excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your candid review, Benjamin. We are sorry to hear your thoughts about parking and Wi-Fi. We price our amenities very closely to the hotels in our area so it is not uncommon to see charges for Wi-Fi or parking. Like most major cities, parking is hard to come by and can be marked up pretty high. Some guests feel that it is unnecessary to have a car since most attractions are walking distance and using public transportation is cheaper than renting and parking. We are glad you appreciated our room service and guests services. We will be sharing your comments about parking and Wi-Fi to see what we might be able to do in the future to improve our guest’s experiences. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very comfortable beds, great view from our room, great access to shops, restaurants, entertainment and outside walks along the shore. The pool area was spacious, beautiful and had plenty of seating. The shops in the hotel are very pricey but nice. The lobby was beautiful and open. There are lots of eating choices within the hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mishel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you for your review, Mishel. We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of our hotel is just steps away from so many restaurants downtown in Seaport Village, Headquarters and the Gaslamp district. The trolley can take you to Old Town where you can find even more fun activities and food for the family. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dieog, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Staff was great, our room had spectacular views (32nd floor), the spa was good but expensive, the adult pool was dirty (but it was July 4th), perfect place to stroll around Seaport Village, catch the ferry to Coronado, and play in the Gas Lamp district.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, Richard. We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. We will be sure to share your information about our adult pool so that we can ensure this is kept up with and never neglected. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent sea view from high room and close to the convention centre. Beautiful pool & spa. Walk out to village bay and boardwalk. Perfect location. Superb service if you forget any of your comforts from home. Very clean, fed ex on premises as well as gift shop that is well stocked.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fishiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past June. It is our main priority to make sure you have all the necessary amenities and accommodations you need during your trip to make as relaxing and carefree as possible. We are happy you appreciated the services, location and accessibility to Fed Ex during your stay. It is also great to hear you took advantage of the pools and spa. Thank you for sharing experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a great hotel and could be rated 5 star. The rooms are large and spacious and my view over the bay was excellent. There are a number of restaurants and the pool area is beautiful.
The location is perfect, 5 minutes from the city, conference centre and major attractions.
Staff were friendly and helpful and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: High room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, Frank. We are ecstatic to hear that you feel we could be rated a 5 star hotel. We have 8 dining options at our hotel, two pools (one being adults only) a 24/7 gym and a newly renovated spa all on property to give you the convenience and feel of a resort. The location of our hotel is great for exploring downtown attractions and easy access to the trolley, train station and airport.
We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us this past July and hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego for Fourth of July weekend with my family which included two toddlers. We enjoyed our stay a lot and so did the kids! The hotel is very up to date, luxurious and is in a great location. Right next to the hotel, there is a plaza with some great restaurants we tried for breakfast and dinner. And our room had a view of the bay so it was beautiful! Our view was so great that we were able to watch fireworks from our room. If you're staying there, I definitely recommend asking for a room with a view of the bay on a high floor. The other people we were traveling with just had a view of the city and it was not as good. The kids also had a great time - they have a children's pool that is very shallow and a section where they play games with kids! I would come back here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the bay on a high floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great practices but I was unaware of these practices during my stay at the hotel and I'm sure a lot of others were too. If they want to make people aware of this, I think it would be best to have a sign in the guestrooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Anita. We are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed staying with us this past July. It sounds like the set up you had was perfect for firework gazing and we are so happy you enjoyed that too. During the summer months, we have a program called Camp Hyatt that offers fun for the kids and allows parents a little time off. We are so happy you had a great time staying with us and we hope we can host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,050 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4,622 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing