We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand experience, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, United States
1 review
“Grand experience, great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location - right by Seaport Village and the Harbor Walk, lovely facility - elegant, well kept and spacious, and friendly, courteous service - from registration, to the Concierge and valet and door attendants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Thank you for you thoughtful review, Gail. It is so great to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and we are glad you appreciated this. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others here on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,064
    2,051
    633
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,481
209
3,387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out this hotel was just fabulous. Location was super - right next door to seaport with some fabulous shops and restaurants and just minutes away from the gaslamp district with plenty of bars, restaurants and shopping. The rooms were huge - big enough for a family and always spotless. If you forgot anything - I mean anything -the hotel provided it. From a hairbrush to straighteners. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Reception staff, esp Basel were fabulous. The same for the concierge staff. Scott must get a special mention for his helpfulness. If you are planning a trip to San Diego then look no further than the Hyatt to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
What a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past June. We do everything we can to accommodate our guests and by providing the smallest things that you use day to day but might have forgotten at home – it’s our pleasure and just part of the service we like to provide. Basel and Scott are both fabulous parts to our team and they will be ecstatic to hear they made your trip a memorable one.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt from 07/08/14 to 07/10/14. They were having a convention at the hotel at the time but you never would have known. We did arrive late in the evening so that may be why check in was not a problem but we flew through checkout. They put my sister's points on her gold Hyatt card and as advertised because I had an MLife casino card through MGM and they are now partners with them they credited all hotel cost to my MLife account for Las Vegas.

We booked a club room in the 40 story hotel and our room was on the 40th floor. What a view. The room was not any bigger than the other rooms but had a small fridge and bathroom amenities (shampoo etc) and was very modern. The room was clean and quiet. We walked around the first night as it was fairly late and the pool was nice although we never ended up using it and the gym was quite big. We ate that night in the hotel at Redfields and the food was very good.

The hotel was right across the street from Sea Port village so the next day after a day at Sea World we were able to rest and walk around . The Cheesecake Factory is right across the street so we ate there and there were several other restaurants to choose from in the same area. The next day we took a cab to the Gas Lamp district which is about a twelve minute walk as we walked back. All kinds of restaurants, bars, a movie theater etc in that are which as I said is a short distance from the hotel.

We had booked a club level room so breakfast both mornings was included and was very good and at night from 6pm to 9pm light appetizers as well. You also could go into the club area any time of day with your room key and get free water, soda etc. The employees were very nice the entire time we were there.

It is a little far from Sea World but it was very close to the zoo so it depends what you want to do. It cost us 35.00 with tip both ways in a cab to Sea World but it was worth it. I would stay at the hotel again no problem and there are still many things we did not have time for so hope to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgasdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us this past July. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our Grand Club Access program and we are glad you did. This is a great way to go if you are looking for small bites, snacks and drinks throughout the day. We are happy to hear you toured about downtown and even made it to see further out attractions. The trolley is a good way to cut costs as well as using Uber cars if not taxi’s.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and for staying with us this year. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hyatt in San Diego. It's in a great location, with nice onsite restaurants and many places to visit within walking distance. The staff was very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, John. We are happy to help and provide you with anything you might need during your stay and we are glad you appreciated this. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wonderful location in the centre of all, walking distance to Westfield shopping, gas lamp district, little Italy and next door to sea point centre. Staff are excellent and rooms finished to a high standard. The sea point tower rooms are much quieter than the harbour tower rooms. The gym is first class. We ate in Sally's one of the nights and the food was excellent though for the price the portions are on the small side. We had a few drinks in the lobby bar which had a nice atmosphere and excellent barman.

Room Tip: Request the sea point tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Eilis,
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We couldn’t be happier to hear your thoughts about your stay and how much you enjoyed it this past July. You are completely right about our location. We are within walking distance to many attractions and resources you might need for your trip. We are happy you appreciated the quietness of your guestroom and food at Sally’s. We will be sharing your thoughts about the cost and see what possibilities might lie in the future to make our guests experiences that much better. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's an amazing hotel, I have never stayed at a hotel like yours and I don't think I'll do until my honeymoon one day. The room was perfect, the view was Amazing. Staff very kind and helpful. To expensive with the breakfast though, had I known I would never have ordered breakfast for $41.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Johanna Ga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Johanna. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. We would be honored to have you on such a special day. For the future, please take a look at our website offers page, you will find that there are packages available and may include breakfast with your stay. Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others. We look forward to having you back in sunny San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the first time we visited San Diego. We chose this hotel because of brand reputation and the good location. It beat our expectation. The room was clean and like new. The staff were nice, and of course the location was vert convenient. It oversees a harbor with great view, and there are many nice restaurants nearby

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Caiping H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. It is our pleasure in hosting you and couldn’t be happier to find that we beat your expectations. Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing