We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #27 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our first visit to San Diego, wonderful hotel. Centrally located to many interesting places, by cab or walking distance. Great dining and shopping area right behind the hotel. Very safe area for walking and jogging. Views of the water and sky are spectacular. Outstanding service from the staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 320donnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. Our number one priority is to make you feel welcome and at home without a care in the world so you can enjoy the views from your guestroom, pool deck or Top of the Hyatt lounge. We are happy you had a lovely time with us and we hope to host you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,693 - 4,699 of 7,633 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent 3 nights in this big and wonderful hotel situated in the Marina area of San Diego.
Excellent services as gym, swimming pool, tennis courts, etc.
It was a pleasure staying with us, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Federico243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Federico. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed many of our hotel’s amenities while staying with us. The pleasure was all ours and we want to thank YOU for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others here on Trip Advisor. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staying at the Hyatt this week for a conference. Convenient location. I am a platinum with Hyatt so I thought and expected more benefits but frankly - very few if any. No Breakfast, No concierge lounge. The benefits I was provided was "free internet" and a newspaper - i choose New York Times. On Sunday I got the local San Diego paper, on Monday no paper, on Tuesday Wall Street - ugh.

Location - great convenient for the convention center and gaslamp but no shuttle to go from one place to another.

Rooms - reasonable size, quiet, comfy beds.

Internet - Okay - while as a Platinum I get "premium" internet, it is nothing to write home about - the internet sleep is still slow.

Cleanliness - first towel had a hair on it - ugh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bhavit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Dear Bhavit,
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are sorry to hear you felt our services were inconsistent. This is not typical of our staff to disregard Platinum Member’s requests and we are truly sorry that it seemed so. We will be sharing this with our staff to ensure that our valued members are not overlooked under any circumstances. We will also be sharing your comments about our bath towels as this is unacceptable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to improving based on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I will start out by saying that I am a Hilton Honors Diamond and usually stay at hiltons. In this case a colleague booked the hotel for a conference and I was not disappointed in any sense.

The rooms were great, clean and spacious. But the real difference of the hotel was the staff, the amenities and the location. All 3 were superb. We could easily walk to the gas lamp district and also to the harbor/marina where there were shops and restaurants.

The hotel is huge. It has a few pool options on rooftops (they should add a pool bar to one of them). The lobby area is also quite nice with incredibly tall ceilings.

Nice hotel. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room with a harbor view. The US Naval base is across the water. I woke up one morning to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, Steve. It is an honor to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our staff’s services. The location of our hotel is great for exploring San Diego and we are glad you took advantage of the accessibility in that. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others; we truly appreciate it and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

At check-in we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome and made to feel at home. Our room was very comfortable and modern. We enjoyed a beautiful view of the Coronado Bridge and the bay. Looking beyond we had a glimpse of the Pacific too. The hotel was comfortable the pools and fire pits were nice to take advantage of too. The hotel sits right in the Seaport Village so you have wonderful shopping, dining and parks right in your back yard. The San Diego Trolley stops across the street and is extremely easy to use and got us all over the city. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: go for a higher floor room and choose quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. It means so much to us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting San Diego. Our goal is to make your trip a memorable one and we are glad you felt at home. With our hotel being so central to downtown attractions, there is something to do within steps from the hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed venturing around downtown and we wouldn’t have it any other way. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and for choosing us. We hope to welcome you to sunny San Diego again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The corner rooms have absolutely dramatic views! For anyone visiting San Diego, i doubt you could do better than a corner room with wall to wall windows! Beautiful! Total luxury and an amazing hotel top to bottom. The pool was fantastic and the fitmess center had everything one could hope for. Above all else, though, was the location--perfect for a jog on the bay or taking in the nearby surf shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, Andrew. We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us this past July. It sounds like you took advantage of a few of our amenities, especially the location and we are so glad you did.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location - right by Seaport Village and the Harbor Walk, lovely facility - elegant, well kept and spacious, and friendly, courteous service - from registration, to the Concierge and valet and door attendants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Thank you for you thoughtful review, Gail. It is so great to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and we are glad you appreciated this. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us and others here on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
5,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 278 in San Diego
5,330 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £109 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing