We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Niguel, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A room with a view...”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel it was a GRAND HYATT experience. The professional staff greeted us and accommodated my needs. The room on the 23rd floor had breathtaking views as per my request when booking for my east coast guests. It's the only hotel I choose to stay in when visiting San Diego. The location affords easy accessibility to Seaport Village and the harbor area so that entertaining out of town guests is as easy as stepping out the door.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Front Office Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dianne,

Thank you so much for the recent review of our property. We are so lucky to be situated right downtown so close to everything, especially the airport! We're so glad you appreciated this as much as we do and that you had a grand time at our hotel. Again - thank you so much for taking the time to write us such thoughtful comments. It truly means the world to us. After all, you are why we are in business. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best to you, Dianne - safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,139
    2,078
    642
    232
    172
See reviews for
1,396
1,504
213
3,446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Worth every penny! Great location and absolutely stunning hotel. We had a room on the bay side with a spectacular, million dollar view. I would highly recommend this hotel! The service was excellent and the amenities were top notch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Penny. We are so happy you enjoyed staying with us this past August. The views from each room are breathtaking and we are glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliso viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay they have a staff that is friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We loved our view from our room. The pool is great and they have family fun area by the pool that makes a vacation one to remember. Order the smores to roast for great memories.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, Matthew. We couldn’t be happier to find that you enjoyed staying with us this past August. Our staff takes pride in their services and will be ecstatic to hear how much you appreciated what they had to offer. Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to host you again soon. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

San Diego was great and the hotel was in a great location, very clean, relaxing and beautiful views and amenities. The concierge staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious with a great view of the harbour and Coronado island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Grady O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you, Grady. It means so much to us to hear you enjoyed staying with us during your trip to San Diego a couple of months ago. Our concierge staff will be so happy to hear you appreciated their helpfulness. They are great people to ask about the area and where to go. Thank you again for your wonderful and choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is big and beautiful. Located in downtown San Diego, by the bay, near Seaport Village and the US Midway/Star of India/etc. Lots of nice restaurants in the area. The staff is excellent. We got an upgraded room, with an amazing view of the bay. Parking is adjacent to the hotel - for a fee. Seems a popular party location, so be prepared for a bit of crowds and noise at the pool area.

Room Tip: Hyatt's Gold Passport elite members can easily request a room upgrade to a view of the bay.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins are easily found all over the premises and pool area.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobMacSoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Rob. Our hotel’s location is great for anyone looking to explore downtown San Diego within walking distance and we are glad you took a liking to where we reside. For your next trip, check out our websites offers page for packages that may include anything from parking to breakfast, among other amenities. Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is even more beautiful in person. It has an awesome location being next to Sea Port Village and down the street from Gas Lamp plus the convention center. Everything is within walking distance. The rooms were clean (very clean) and you can't beat the views not to mention every amenity you could ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Tammy. It means so much to us to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom and amenities. The location of our hotel is great for those who want to explore downtown attractions and it seems like you did just that! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in late July early august. This is a grand hotel it is appointed beautifully and is absolutely immaculately clean. We had a beautiful suite which provided wonderful views. The regency club is very nice probably among the top 10 in the US. Here is what went well:

Rooms: clean and nicely appointed. They were spacious
Gym: one of the nicest guns at a Hyatt that I have ever seen (in the US). The only one better is the one at the Denver convention centre.
Breakfast: wow the waffles in label's are amazing. Incredible, there aren't enough superlatives.
Location: adjacent to seaport village, walking distance to the midway museum. Can't be beat.

Negatives:
Convention drawback: there was a vemma convention in town towards the end of our stay. It for insanely crowded and they closed down the family pool. They then sent us to the adult pool. Unfortunately they did not staff for the increased volume. The pool was littered with alcoholic beverages and trash. Definitely not family friendly.

Unloading luggage: for some strange reason they don't let you take a luggage cart tho your car tho unload your vehicle. Not a huge deal but it's annoying enough for me to drop them half a star.

Overall a nice hotel I would suggest you check if there are any conventions in town before going.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldZIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past July. It is great to hear you appreciated our room’s cleanliness, location of our hotel and Lael’s delectable breakfast. Our 4th floor pool deck is rarely closed for events but we will be sure to share your feedback about staffing for higher volumes to ensure we are accommodating everyone’s needs. Thank you again for your lovely review and for sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,202 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,056 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing