We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #31 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I am surprised that this hotel is not higher ranked in San Diego. It was the best we stayed in during our US trip and easily top 10 out of all the hotels I have stayed in around the world. After the bad hotel experience we had in San Francisco arriving at the Hyatt felt like a dream.

We got a great deal on this hotel. We had a really nice room with great views. Every morning we enjoyed some exercise in the gym and a swim in the adult pool (third floor) before going out to explore lovely San Diego. It is walking distance to the gaslamp quarter and the USS Midway, the Coronado Ferry and most of central San Diego. The lovely Seaport Village with a lot of restaurants is just next door.

I like to travel without a car even though people say it is impossible in the US. Here it was very easy. The airport is just a short taxi ride from the hotel and the flight bus stops 5-10 minutes walk away, next to the Amtrak station. The hotel is very close to a tram station from where you easily can go to Mission Valley for shopping or Old Town where you change for buses to the beaches and La Jolla.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a seaview but still got a wonderful view over the harbour and Mss Midway. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pellevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review of our property. We are so happy you loved our location, our hotel and our service. We strive everyday to provide service and the highest quality room product in San Diego so that we can be gratified with reviews like this. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your trip in the US. We are so glad you had fun and that we could be a part of that. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,819 - 4,825 of 7,934 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I've enjoyed my stay(s) at the Grand Hyatt San Diego - an excellent location not far from the business district but more importantly, right alongside the water, next to Seaport Village and within easy walking distance to the many impressive restaurants in the Gaslight District. A nice pool, a beautiful lobby and a top floor lounge with killer views for late night cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 1MacDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Your review and the fact that you are a return guest is so important to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and again. You are the reason we are in business - you are helping us be the #1 hotel here in San Diego, we couldn't do it without you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I planned a surprise trip to SD for my husband's birthday. The hotel I choose is always my first priority and I tend to book based on reviews online (hence the reason I write this review). I booked this mini vacation through Southwest.com (it included flight, car, hotel). I noticed days before we left that Southwest had booked a premium double bed room. I called the hotel and spoke with Molly. She was amazing and changed our room to a king bed. Once we arrived, I was taken back by how "grand" the lobby was! We check in with two young ladies at the front desk. They immediately say happy birthday to my husband :-) and said that Molly made sure we had the best room in the house. They weren't kidding! I have never seen such an amazing view! We overlooked the entire harbor! This hotel was very clean, staff was super accommodating, and the location was very convenient! Really was a walk away from everything!
I do have one con I have to mention: the bathroom. For as grand as this hotel/and room was, the bathroom was very basic and the tub couldn't fit a small woman in it comfortable.
Overall, this hotel and the staff help make my birthday surprise so special for my husband! Thanks!!

Room Tip: Higher level in the Seaport Tower facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alycat985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Happy birthday indeed! We are so glad we could share in this special moment with you and your husband. Your comment about the bathtub is duly noted. Molly is so amazing at what she does and we're happy she was able to do something extra special for you and your husband. Happy birthday, to him. And thank you so much for staying with us. Until we meet again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about the Manchester Grand Hyatt. Beautiful location, close to everything. Beautiful views, nice restaurants, beautiful rooms, nice pool. Everyone from the bell desk, reservations, maid service, was so friendly and anxious to help. Chris who took our bags up to our room was so great at giving suggestions of where we should eat, and go visit. Took his advice and had an awesome meal at Puesto, Yum! Rooms are clean, nice decor, comfortable beds. You definitely get what you pay for. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. We've posted your comments in our back hallways so our associates can see that their efforts are leaving a lasting impression with valued guests like you. Thank you for choosing Hyatt - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The people at the check-in desk were very friendly and made sure that we knew that we could leave our car in their parking lot until 3:00 as we were shopping at Seaport Village. thank you for that info :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel that is located at Seaport Village, which is very convenient for tourist type activities. There are great views of the North San Diego Bay, Coronado Island, and beyond from the pool deck, and the room I stayed in. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the food was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Randolph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Randolph,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Grand. You, our valued guest, mean so much to everyone here at the hotel and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff in this hotel take their tasks seriously. Courtesy and dedication should be in their name tags. I cannot mention a single flaw during my stay (except the overload with the elevators) There were a couple of conventions and the one I attended had 2700 participants therefore; the elevator part is understandable

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Lizete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Lizete,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Seeing that we've made you happy and that each and every one of our associates impressed positively upon you means the world to us. You are 100% accurate about our elevators, being a 1,628 room hotel, we have quite a bit of traffic coming in and out of the elevators which can slow them down some due to all the floor requests, but what's refreshing about your review is your understanding of this matter. We wish there were alternate methods (besides stairs, which are not practical for higher floors) to get guests to their desired destinations during these peak times, but typically the elevators do move very quickly. We're sorry you experienced wait times with them. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,596 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £136 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing