We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,123)
Filter reviews
8,124 results
Traveller rating
4,654
2,287
714
273
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,654
2,287
714
273
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,991 - 4,996 of 8,124 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is our destination for sure whenever we go to San Diego. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a VERY welcoming gentleman, Mr. Ghanaam, who made our stay nothing short of memorable. Our room had killer views of San Diego bay, the Seaport Village, and Coronado Island...The room had windows all around, and top notch technology to control the AC and the blinds. We didn't want to leave the room to soak in more of this beautiful scene. We went down to the swimming pool, and it was a very inviting and lovely area with two Jacuzzis, and a large outdoor fireplace overlooking the ocean. Upon sunset, two staff members walked around with blankets to offer, as it was getting cold. Soon, they followed it by chocolate and marshmallows with long sticks to roast on the fire place. I was shocked that it was only for $8 (if it was Disneyland it would've been $80). Later on, the pool area turned into an outdoor theater, as outdoor screens were put out for the kids to watch a movie. It gets even better. The staff even brought inflatable beds and blankets for the kids to watch the movie while laying down (just like at home). I was very pleased when they also distributed bags of freshly popped popcorn for FREE and offered hot coco and coffee for a nominal $2. That was over and above what I have seen throughout my travel experience.
In the morning, we tried their breakfast...the buffet was nothing short of amazing with excellent service and great high quality items that covered anything and everything that comes to mind.

THIS IS A MUST VISIT HOTEL. THE BEST IN SD.

Room Tip: WE were on the 29th floor...super excellent views that makes you don't want to leave the room. Make sure to book one facing the water.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bashar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Saturday nights out at the pool are truly an experience here at our hotel. And this might be one of our favorite reviews that we've ever read. It means so much to us when we go above and beyond and not only have it appreciated but noticed and commended as well. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words here with us. They truly mean more to us than you know. We are sharing this with the staff and appreciate the time you took to write them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are so pleased you had such a great time at our hotel. We always wish you the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We loved the hotel, especially the location. Alll the staff that we had contact with were very pleasant. The views were spectacular. The Top of the Hyatt is a must see. Children can visit without being in the lounge itself up until a certain time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank kennethl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Kenneth,

Thank you so much for your review. We agree - Top of the Hyatt is just something you cannot afford to miss while on property. We are so thrilled that our ocean view and city view rooms are something you fondly remember about your visit with us. Every room has either an ocean view or a city/ocean view. It's one of our favorite hotel features and it makes us so happy to know that you appreciate that too. Thank you for letting us host you, Kenneth. Until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Fairly pricey but very conveniently located hotel with stunning views. A huge property, located right at the water, with nice walks near by and the gas lamp district at 10 min walking distance.
The service was great. Despite the hotel being so big, things run very smoothly. Their breakfast restaurant seems like a bottleneck (there was a large conference happening when we stayed there), but there are other great places near by to compensate for it. I liked the fact that there are two swimming pools (one for kids and play and the other where one can do laps). They are both outdoors, but in San Diego weather this works most of the time. Overall a pleasant experience. WiFi was included in our price - something that I highly appreciate.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xaxun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Our wi-fi was rated the #2 fastest wi-fi in San Diego recently and when traveling, this is so incredibly key to getting work done and communicating to your home or office, we are so glad you appreciated this feature in our hotel. You might also like to know that we will be renovating our breakfast restaurant in the next year to solve that bottleneck you speak of. Thank you so much for your feedback - we look forward to having you stay here again with us soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I am surprised that this hotel is not higher ranked in San Diego. It was the best we stayed in during our US trip and easily top 10 out of all the hotels I have stayed in around the world. After the bad hotel experience we had in San Francisco arriving at the Hyatt felt like a dream.

We got a great deal on this hotel. We had a really nice room with great views. Every morning we enjoyed some exercise in the gym and a swim in the adult pool (third floor) before going out to explore lovely San Diego. It is walking distance to the gaslamp quarter and the USS Midway, the Coronado Ferry and most of central San Diego. The lovely Seaport Village with a lot of restaurants is just next door.

I like to travel without a car even though people say it is impossible in the US. Here it was very easy. The airport is just a short taxi ride from the hotel and the flight bus stops 5-10 minutes walk away, next to the Amtrak station. The hotel is very close to a tram station from where you easily can go to Mission Valley for shopping or Old Town where you change for buses to the beaches and La Jolla.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a seaview but still got a wonderful view over the harbour and Mss Midway. I guess we got lucky but I think most rooms will have some sea view at least in Seaport tower. Register as a Hyatt member on arrival to get free Wifi!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pellevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review of our property. We are so happy you loved our location, our hotel and our service. We strive everyday to provide service and the highest quality room product in San Diego so that we can be gratified with reviews like this. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your trip in the US. We are so glad you had fun and that we could be a part of that. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I've enjoyed my stay(s) at the Grand Hyatt San Diego - an excellent location not far from the business district but more importantly, right alongside the water, next to Seaport Village and within easy walking distance to the many impressive restaurants in the Gaslight District. A nice pool, a beautiful lobby and a top floor lounge with killer views for late night cocktails.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 1MacDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Your review and the fact that you are a return guest is so important to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and again. You are the reason we are in business - you are helping us be the #1 hotel here in San Diego, we couldn't do it without you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews