We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hyatt Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

One of the best Hyatt properties I have been to. The entire hotel is very well appointed with higher end decor. The Grand Club is very large, with very good food options throughout the day. Did not have a chance to try any of the on site dining or bars. Very close to Seaport Village (right out the back door) and a short walk to the New Children's Museum, PetCo, and the Gas Lamp district.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretchimp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi Christopher,

Thank you so much for your feedback. One of the many great features of our hotel is the location. You are just steps away from shopping, food and a good time.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,559)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,454 - 4,460 of 7,559 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

An excellent hotel at a great location. Could be even better if we didn't have to pay additional for parking and internet which inflates the room costs; they could have allowed redemption against one meal at the hotel's restaurants .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank akpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The location of which we reside, allows our guests to enjoy the good eats and fun activities that San Diego has to offer. The pricing of our amenities and services are very similar to the other hotels in the area. When booking your next trip, be sure to take a look at the offers we have on our website, some packages may include internet and parking.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It is a truly beautiful hotel with a fabulous staff. The downsides to this gorgeous hotel are having to pay for in room internet, and use of the business office to print a boarding pass when the room is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Noeleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi Noeleen,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and would be thrilled to welcome you back soon. For future, take a look at the offers we have on our website. Some packages may include internet.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I don't know what we did, or what got into them, but they upgraded us to a suite!
The suite was massive, and had a great view of the water. This suite was much bigger than my downtown apartment. Couch, that could have been turned into an extra bed, a kitchenette, and a big dining table, just to mention a few of the luxuries of this suite.

The hotel is located close to lots of restaurants, and shopping. So it's very well located, to get around San Diego, for a tourist.

I used their swimming pool and hot tub. It's a small swimming pool, but nice. I saw that their gym on my way to the pool, and it looked fully equipped.

They've got a brand new key card system for their rooms. It's a tap system. These room keys are supposed to also get you in and out of the parking lot once you check-in, but it did not work. We had to always speak to the parking attendant to get out of the lot. Never had to pay, because it was connected to the room, but always had to stop to clear that up.

I even went to the reception to get this figured out, and whatever they said they did, didn't actually work.

I am overlooking that in my rating, because it is a brand new key system, and they are still working out some kinks. Overall everything else about this hotel was excellent, and made up for the minor hassle leaving the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gayan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review Gayan. I wonder if you stayed in one of our Top 101 Suites of the World!? We are so happy you appreciated this complimentary upgrade. Whenever we can do this for guests, we are happy to and you would be surprised how often it happens. Thank you for acknowledging that the parking key system is new. The parking garage is operated by a separate entity and as much as we wish this was under our umbrella of services, it unfortunately is not. We have shared this review with them and they are aware of your troubles and have since eradicated the issue. They are keeping attendants on post, however, in the meantime to ensure there is a person to assist should you or any other guest have troubles. Again - thank you for your review - we look forward to hosting you again soon. All the best and safe travels home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Manchester Grand Hyatt is a beautiful hotel and the location is perfect. They have an amazing gym and their restaurant Lael's where you have breakfast is amazing.

We stayed at the Hyatt during our trip to California at the beginning of August. It was an amazing experience. We had stayed there at about the same time last year and when we arrived this year Cathy one of the concierge remembered us right away. By the end of our stay we have become friends with Cathy and Philip the other concierge. They made our stay extra special.

Thank you very much for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for you review. We are so happy you had a great time. And of course we remember you! You are so valued here and we're glad you can see that. Thank you for returning to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Next summer maybe? Early August? ;) Until then - we wish you and your family the best always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is our destination for sure whenever we go to San Diego. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a VERY welcoming gentleman, Mr. Ghanaam, who made our stay nothing short of memorable. Our room had killer views of San Diego bay, the Seaport Village, and Coronado Island...The room had windows all around, and top notch technology to control the AC and the blinds. We didn't want to leave the room to soak in more of this beautiful scene. We went down to the swimming pool, and it was a very inviting and lovely area with two Jacuzzis, and a large outdoor fireplace overlooking the ocean. Upon sunset, two staff members walked around with blankets to offer, as it was getting cold. Soon, they followed it by chocolate and marshmallows with long sticks to roast on the fire place. I was shocked that it was only for $8 (if it was Disneyland it would've been $80). Later on, the pool area turned into an outdoor theater, as outdoor screens were put out for the kids to watch a movie. It gets even better. The staff even brought inflatable beds and blankets for the kids to watch the movie while laying down (just like at home). I was very pleased when they also distributed bags of freshly popped popcorn for FREE and offered hot coco and coffee for a nominal $2. That was over and above what I have seen throughout my travel experience.
In the morning, we tried their breakfast...the buffet was nothing short of amazing with excellent service and great high quality items that covered anything and everything that comes to mind.

THIS IS A MUST VISIT HOTEL. THE BEST IN SD.

Room Tip: WE were on the 29th floor...super excellent views that makes you don't want to leave the room. M...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bashar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Saturday nights out at the pool are truly an experience here at our hotel. And this might be one of our favorite reviews that we've ever read. It means so much to us when we go above and beyond and not only have it appreciated but noticed and commended as well. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words here with us. They truly mean more to us than you know. We are sharing this with the staff and appreciate the time you took to write them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are so pleased you had such a great time at our hotel. We always wish you the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We loved the hotel, especially the location. Alll the staff that we had contact with were very pleasant. The views were spectacular. The Top of the Hyatt is a must see. Children can visit without being in the lounge itself up until a certain time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank kennethl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SD, Guest Relations Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Kenneth,

Thank you so much for your review. We agree - Top of the Hyatt is just something you cannot afford to miss while on property. We are so thrilled that our ocean view and city view rooms are something you fondly remember about your visit with us. Every room has either an ocean view or a city/ocean view. It's one of our favorite hotel features and it makes us so happy to know that you appreciate that too. Thank you for letting us host you, Kenneth. Until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,411 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £112 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing