We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel:)))”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel:)))”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have just arrived home after a12 night stay in this magnificent hotel. The lobby was absolutely beautiful, the staff were very professional and very helpful. We were on floor 28 room 2866. We had the most wonderful view of the harbour and could see USS Midway as well as Seaport village and lots of the boats in the bay. Our room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable and the room was cleaned to a good standard each day. The bathroom was a decent size, with a good shower. The hotel itself was kept very clean and there are two pools to use one is an adults only pool which is the one we used, it was lovely, the views were gorgeous:) we ate in the Redfields sports bar which was very nice and the service was good. The location of this hotel was excellent , there was the Seaport village out the back of the hotel and aCheesecake factory just to the side. The USS Midway aircraft carrier was within walking distance as was the gaslamp area. Overall we fell in love with this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor in the harbour tower for great views of San Diego bay- breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNEGROVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Anne,

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting gorgeous San Diego. We are thrilled to find that you experienced and enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer. Our staff at Redfield’s will be pleased to hear you appreciated their service and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,251
    2,135
    663
    238
    180
See reviews for
1,451
1,538
222
3,535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

What can I say, this is one very grand and impressive hotel.

From the magnificent reception to the modern and very clean rooms this is a lovely hotel.

The location is absolutely amazing as well, you are minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the gaslamp quarter in San Diego. SD is surely one extremely nice and clean city with nice people.

The hotel has a nice pool, 2 jacuzzis and well equipped gym. It also has 2 bars within the reception area as well as a pool bar and also around the pool are two table football tables and a ping pong table.

We were staying on the 25th floor (the hotel has 40 floors!) and the view was amazing. The lifts are super fast (can make your ears pop!) so get you there fast. The 40th floor has a bar with incredible views across SD.

The pool bar can be expensive, I was drinking 'craft' beer which for a can around the pool (330ml can) which was $7.25 but if you go downstairs to reds, the sports bar, you can get a pint in a plastic cup you can bring up to the pool for $7.

If you want to park then they have their own car park, it's a multi-storey so no shortage of space and the charge is $28 per night which considering the location is not un-reasonable. If I could mark the hotel down on anything it would be that wifi is $10 per day, a little excessive, we only needed it occasionally so didn't pay for it everyday but I know alot of hotels charge now. That said the room cost is reasonable for what you are getting. Also when we checked I joined the hyatt reward program (which is free) and because of what we had spent got the wifi cost knocked off.

There are firepits around the pool that get lit every night so the kids can toast marshmallows. A little steep to buy sticks and 'mallows from the bar at $10, but hey your choice! (or do what we did and buy them from the local supermarket and blag a stick! shhh don't tell anyone!)

I would not hesitate in recommending, or re-visiting this hotel. It was simply amazing. I would go tomorrow and stay there for alooong time if I could, SD is an incredble city too.

Room Tip: If you go for a 'premium' view room in either the seaport or harbour tower then you are look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyk1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Hi Gary,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us this past August. Our Hyatt Gold Passport program is a great way to get access to not only internet but traveler points and so much more. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My stay at this grand hotel was wonderful. The view was incredible overlooking the harbor. The staff was great beginning with valet service to front office concierge and housekeeping. Will stay here again. Hotel is centrally located to many attractions which Re all within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank D8944KImariag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Our staff will be thrilled to hear what you had to say about the services they provided you during your stay. Here, at the Grand, we genuinely care for our guests and want you to have the best experience possible. We would be honored to host you again and look forward to it. Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Generic hotel with great view of the city. Good size rooms and comfortable bed. Is really worth taking the elevator to the rooftop bar; great views of San Diego from there. Very nice location close to the convention center.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berardi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Berardi,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed Top of the Hyatt and the views that came along with it. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests have a great time while exploring San Diego- whether is it for business or for pleasure- and have a comfortable room to relax when they need it. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This was our third stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt and hopefully won't be our last! The place is only about 11 years old and is still in great shape. There are 2 towers but I have always stayed at the Harbor Tower. I am a member of the HyattClub so it gained us access to the "club" on floor 33. Which is awesome open 24 hours offers snacks, drinks and coffee and free breakfast!!

The Harbor Village is right out the back door which offers great views and lots of shops and restaurants.

Our room was 2940 and had a great view facing the USS Midway and the Harbor. Nice comfortable bed and a good sized restroom. Elevators where fast and efficient. Staff are top notch and very helpful. We walked over to the Gaslamp district but really did not like that area.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I could hear the bells from the train that went by day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erniepba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It means so much to us that we can continue to wow you each time you visit our hotel. Our Harbor Tower is actually around the 22 year mark and our Seaport Tower is just turning 12 this year. We have been keeping up with maintaining and renovating spaces to give a fresh look so we glad you take notice in that. Grand Club Access is a fabulous way to go to exclusive access to snacks and drinks each day of your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and others. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth time! Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent 1 night in town to visit seaworld and the San Diego zoo, let me juts say that we loooved the Manchester grand hyatt .Wonderful location in the center , with a beautiful view on the seaport village and the battled ship USS midway . We had a leisure walk around the harbours in the morning, so beautiful .
The pool is super nice, large choice of restaurants . The breakfast buffet at Lael's was amazing.
The rooms very lovely, we had a king and a queen for our kids, communicating , with view on the bay .
The hotel is massive and you might get lost easily at first!
Everyone was super nice, from the bellman, to the receptionist.
We forgot a suitcase at the hotel, and they were fast to accomodate a delivery to our home in orange county . We will be back and really enjoyed !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westshoreBelleair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. The location of our hotel is one of the key features we pride in because it gives our guests the ability to experience the best of beautiful San Diego. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and breakfast buffet with your family. Having two massive towers can easily turn you around which is why we have several reader boards to help you and of course our friendly staff who would gladly show you the way. With kids and a plane to catch, the luggage might have been the least of your worries at the time but we are happy to help and have your belongings sent to you. Thank you again and we hope to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Good lord!!!!! From the minute we pulled up the service was amazing. It was our family's first trip to San Diego and the hotel was amazing. We received a free room upgrade and 150$ credit. The staff was also great as well, always very nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi Anthony,

It is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our services during your stay. We hope that we made you and your family’s first trip to San Diego special and a memorable one. Hopefully we can be your host again soon. Thank you so much for your kind review. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing