We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre Hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in May of 2009 and the accomodations were so-so. I am a busines professional that travels quite a bit for business and leisure and this hotel would rank average for me. If you are staying here for business then you will enjoy your stay. The hotel is close to the waterfront and a short distance from the downtown area. However, if you are looking for a leisure stay then there are definitely better hotels in the area.. starting with the Marriott next door. I arrived on a Thursday night a at 8:30pm and attempted to grab drinks and appetizers in the hotel lobby bar and they were already closing down for the evening. The next day I was relaxing at the pool and noticed you were not able to order food or drinks in the pool area. If you wanted to place an order you had to find a standing phone, guess your order (no menus or staff onsite), and request it from room service. Overall, if you are looking for a luxury resort then this is not your hotel. The lobby and grounds are beautiful.. but the service and accomodations do not make this a must stay.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easytraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,064
    2,051
    633
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,481
209
3,387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed here for four nights and it was the best we ever experienced. The views were exquisite, the room was well appointed, windows open! Staff was friendly, location was terrific. We would go back as opposed to a resort or overseas.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconblueColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The Manchester Grand is a lovely hotel with a spectacular lounge, Top of the Hyatt, where you will find locals and visitors alike. Most rooms are spacious and have water views and the King Room with windows on two sides is well worth the extra fee. The location is great as Seaport Village is at your doorstep and for those who love to walk there is the Maritime Museum, Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Horton Plaza and a plethora of fabulous restaurants along the way. Add in Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the beaches and what's not to love?

Anyway, I love staying at this hotel when I return to my home town. And my son's who are still in San Diego love visiting the hotel each time, (Back to the Top of the Hyatt...) ; )

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymacwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at the hotel in the Harbor Tower for 4 nights Our room had a view of the harbor which included the Midway and the cruise ships that were in port. The room was spacious and very clean. the bed was very comfortable. We had a breakfast buffet at the hotel included with our room. It included an extensive amount of food including some of the best waffles with fruit and cream ever! The only problem we had was noisy neighbors in the adjacent room who came in at about 3 am and slammed their door and proceeded to talk loudly for a few hours and kept us awake! The left the next night and we had a quiet night's sleep then.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petunia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

This hotel is enormous and caters entirely to the convention crowd. The check-in, lobby and bar area was swarming with hundreds, if not thousands, of convenioneers every day I was there. I was shocked that on a Thursday evening, the pool area was transformed into a thumping hip-hop welcome party for a convention group, and the music was so loud it echoed into our room on the 31st floor until past 10 pm. It showed a total disregard for hotel guests who not only have to listen to incredibly loud music but also can't use the pool or hot tub. If you're a leisure traveler, you'll be better served elsewhere.

The other problem, no fault of the hotel, is the proximity of the train tracks. Train whistles and bells clang 24/7, and it's like your own little alarm clock going off every half hour.

On the plus side, the room was updated and clean, and the view was absolutely spectacular, spanning the downtown skyline, Coronado, the ocean, bay, airport, sunsets... a stunning and unforgettable view. Ask for a room on an upper floor!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagotripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Don't be fooled by the gorgeous lobby/exterior, location, and fabulous views! All these things are true, but that's where the good qualities end--if that's enough for you, enjoy your stay! The staff is rude and extremely incompetent, the rooms are dirty and out-dated, limited laundry and it's quite dingy. I made an official complaint against this hotel to the corporate office and was given compensation, due to the severity of their offenses. The staff at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego never apologized for their wrong-doing. Be wary of this facility, there are much better establishments in the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Although the service was top-notch and all personnel were friendly and helpful, this hotel is in desperate need of an update. Decor has seen it's better days. Rooms look stuck in the 80's with lots of burgundy & hunter green color schemes and beat-up dark cherry furniture with brass accents. The photo homage to the wealthy, conservative "who's who" of the Republican Party in the lobby could also be a turn-off to some, but perhaps those are the kinds of people this hotel appeals to... maybe Doug Manchester's new trophy wife should suggest a redo.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomdrew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,973 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing