We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Escondido, California
2 reviews
“Perfect night in the city”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My group stayed in the hotel for just one night. We arrived early 3pm so we could enjoy the pool and hot tub. It was fantastic the pool looks brand new and super clean. The pool area is well kept and the girls loved it. Our rooms were adjoining and very spacious. We had lots of room. The staff was very very nice and called me by name every time I walked by the front desk. We enjoyed breakfast at the Waffle spot the next morning and the waffles were fantastic. I would say this is a great place to stay and close to downtown...and shopping was just the otherside of the freeway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are happy your group decided to stay at Kings Inn during your weekend staycation. Thank you for your kind words. We recently made improvements to our pool and our Waffle Spot is fantastic; we agree. Escondido is not very far away so we hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    851
    232
    52
    30
See reviews for
815
649
132
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alamosa
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Other places claim to strive for a customer experience second to none, KINGS INN is a place you actually believe it and see it. It's too bad they don't have more all over the US, I would stay here again in a heart beat. The staff were very genuine and after checking in, it felt like we were part of the 'family'. It is enough to make you not want to stay at a chain hotel again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a 'quiet' room, ask for a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. The main component that makes Kings Inn special is the friendly staff here who genuinely care about our guests and take pride in our unique little independent hotel. We like to say they are the jewels in the crown here. It truly be wonderful if friendly and considerate service was still a universal expectation in hotels across the country. Call us old school but we hope to build longstanding relationships with our guests so that we see them back year after year. We definitely have a loyal following and hope that you are now included in this group of distinguished guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceano, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a couple other hotels, but cancelled based on their reviews. Continued to read the reviews and chose the KINGS INN based on the good customer service reviews. We were not disappointed. Everyone we dealt with from check-in to check-out was very friendly and accommodating. We liked The Amigo Spot and The Waffle Stop. Good food and service. The pool and spa were very nicely maintained. Heated pool, spa was great. We were there Friday night and Saturday night and it was very quiet. We had a great nights sleep. The coffee in the lobby was very good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the recommendations of many other guests and giving Kings Inn a try. We are glad we met your expectations and the you enjoyed our restaurants as well. We appreciate that you are regular reviewer for Tripadvisor . These reviews truly make a difference and help our potential guests and us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for 5 days, and needed a budget-friendly hotel. The Kings Inn Hotel was perfect for us! We paid about $66 night, which we consider a great deal. Because of the price, we did not have high expectations, but were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean - nothing fancy, but more than adequate. The pool area was great. Not a dirty, run-down pool like you see in many budget hotels, but very clean, hot tub was clean and working. We were a little worried that our room would be really noisy since it was right in front of the pool - but by 8pm every night, everything was quiet. The location was great to go and do all the of the touristy things we wanted to do in San Diego, and there is a large mall just on the other side of the highway, where we found some great shops and nice places to eat. We also ate at the Waffle Spot and the Amigo Spot. The staff at both were great! - Very friendly. The portions were very large - and the food was good. We will definitely stay here again, if we go back to San Diego.
There was some room remodeling happening during our stay, but it did not bother us at all - no noise, etc..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We always like seeing reviews from guests who say they look forward to staying with us again. Thank you for your kind words. The rooms are in the process of remodeling and we hope to have a more complete look by July. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My dad and I decided to spend Memorial Day Weekend in San Diego, and I looked at a lot of hotels before choosing the Kings Inn. I must say the accomodations as well as the pleasant staff made the stay there very enjoyable. The hotel is very close to the Old Town Transit station, which was great, because we took the trolley system downtown so that we could watch the Padres play baseball.

We both found the staff to be very courteous and helpful with any all questions we had. We needed some directions to a restaurant we wanted to try, and they provided us with a map, and told us exactly how to get there, which we did with no problem.

We will stay at the Kings Inn again on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhoward53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review. It's great to hear you and your dad had a nice weekend at Kings Inn. We appreciate you choosing independent hotel for your San Diego adventure and Baseball outing.
We hope you can plan more trips to San Diego and stays at Kings Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Unfortunately, the first room we were put in had bedbugs and I didn't know it until I started getting bites. I called the manager and the situation was handled swiftly and with the utmost of professionalism. We were moved to an upgraded room at no extra cost, reimbursed for the first night in the affected room, and were given money to run our clothes through the laundry at the hotel.

As far as the room was concerned once we were moved, it was nice and updated, had a balcony and was very spacious. It was upstairs from the main lobby and there was a bit of noise, but it didn't affect our sleep. Housekeeping was very friendly and responsive. The pillows are very lumpy but they give you five, so you can stack them and smoosh them around until you're comfortable. I suppose the biggest annoyance was there was no TV channel guide, either in the room or on the TV, so it was a hassle to find things to watch before bed.

You might think I would dismiss this hotel altogether after the bedbug problem. But the fact is hotels deal with bedbug problems, whether it's the King's Inn or the Waldorf. It's a very challenging problem to deal with in the hotel business, and it can happen anywhere. For what it's worth, after I started getting bites and we stripped the bed to search for them, all we found were a few dead ones. So, they are doing what they can to control the pests.

I can't say with certainty I would stay there again, but if I'm on a tight budget, I would probably book a room with them in the future. We normally stay at another hotel in Hotel Circle, but went with the King's Inn due to budget constraints. It was not a bad stay at all, and the water pressure was even pretty decent, with plenty of hot water. Also, the pool and the hot tub were very nice. BEWARE: there are no coffee makers in any of the rooms as of this writing.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the interior rooms upstairs above the lobby as you can hear quite a bit of lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCtravlur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
When potential guests read the words "bed bugs", the genuine response is "Oh, no!" You are correct in saying that no hotel is immune to them. And Kings Inn is a hotel, but we do have a very proactive approach when they are reported which is to relocate our guests, offer our dryers for their clothing (the heat will kill them), and inspect and treat the room and any neighboring room both with in house certified trained staff and through our certified pest control. Our pest control actually has the trained beagles that can immediately detect infestations.

Fortunately at Kings Inn and for the most part, San Diego, bed bugs are not a common challenge. In fact, your original room turned up free of the culprits at the time of the inspection, but we had an abbreviated treatment just for safe measure because it does have all new furniture that was installed the day before you arrived and because we did not take your concern for granted.

We appreciated your understanding in expressing your concern and are happy that you enjoyed the second room. Coffeemakers for the rooms are just waiting for all rooms to be refurnished; sometime next week they will be completed. We are glad that you found value in your stay and that our service and property were noteworthy. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I pick a hotel based on the need at the time. I've done high end luxury and budget. For this trip, I wanted to meet the needs of co-travelers on a limited budget so I also needed to be comfortable.
I selected Kings Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews. They were right on target. Location is perfect if you have many places in the area you want to visit. Access to freeway is easy. I know sometimes people get confused in the Hotel Circle area but I found it very easy. Of course, the Google Map app with sound is wonderful. It tells me exactly where to go and it was very accurate!
The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms were standard budget hotel. Small and sparse. The adult kids complained the bathrooms were small but that was standard years ago!
These rooms definitely need updating but that is happening after the summer season. The plans are nicely displayed in the lobby. I wonder if the prices will go up!
The current rooms, while old, are very clean. I know because I lost my glasses and tore the room apart looking for them. I moved every bit of furniture, took the mattress off, pulled off sheets. Every area was dusted vacuumed and neat.
Parking was free and easy. We did not try the onsite restaurants because we like to go to well reviewed, fun spots. We went to The Patio in Pacific Beach and Chocolat in Hillcrest. They were excellent.
The Kings Inn served a purpose for this trip and I would highly recommend it. Be sure to look at your confirmation. I missed that taxes were not included in the number so I had a little shock when paying. Still not a major problem at these low rates. For a holiday weekend, we paid a total of $245 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: We were located on the inner section, lower level and it was very quiet. There are rooms closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Battmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your Memorial Weekend trip and thank you for your review. We are glad you found our value, cleanliness, service and comfort to your satisfaction. We regret that you did not try either of our restaurants but are happy your found excellent alternatives close by. In regards to our new rooms, the completion is closer than you think. By June 4th all rooms will have new furnishings. The draperies and accessories will be installed over the next six to eight weeks to complete our new look. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay again and see the transformation for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing