We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing staff and great location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay was made wonderful by the staff at this hotel. We arrived without a reservation early in the morning after driving all night. The staff made it possible for us to get an early check in so we could rest up. Then they arranged for us to stay in our room during the holiday weekend even though they were booked up. They were awesome! The rooms were recently updated and everything was clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarroll86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn. It is not often that we have rooms available at all on weekends, especially for early check in. But when we do, we are happy to expedite your accommodations. We hope you have a chance to visit again and encourage you to book ahead to get our best rates. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    838
    231
    51
    30
See reviews for
789
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coachella Valley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for a convention and we loved it. Sandy was really helpful and friendly, people like her make you want to comeback. My only complaint would be that they leave you ads panflets daily through the door which is annoying overall a nice experience ajd I would recommend it

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sospechoso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our 2 boys stayed here for 3 nights. The room was very clean and the hotel staff were friendly, pleasant and quick to respond to every question and need. We enjoyed breakfast at the Waffle Spot ( best waffles ever ) also enjoyed time at the pool. Location of the hotel is prime. Very easy to get to the beach, Sea World and The Zoo. Hotel Manager David Parrent went above and beyond to make our stay an excellent one.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wynell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

OK, maybe one shouldn't read a lot into reviews. Once chosen, I read some of the reviews and I was a bit worried. Also, some of the conditions felt a bit too harsh, considering it's a hotel business. But there was no reason to, at all! The hotel is a two-story hotel, and our room was very nice, cleaned very well every day, and the front desk staff made us feel welcome. I can also understand, that after having rowdy guests, it's perhaps wise to have those house rules! :) Anyhow, a good place, nice room, as stated before the bathroom may be considered a bit small, but is fully adequate! American love their wall to wall carpeting... I'm not a big fan of it, but there you go. It was very clean, as I said before. There's a pool and plenty of parking space. The breakfast place (the Waffle Spot) makes good breakfast with PLENTY of food!

If you need tickets to the zoo and the Sea World, front desk staff's got it for a bit cheaper price!

Definitely a place I would recommend staying at.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, and a bit behind the front building if you're easily bothered by traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for reassuring our potential future guests with your review. We understand the thought and consideration placed in selecting hotels for your vacation and are happy you felt encouraged by previous reviews to try us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn and breakfast at the Waffle Spot. We hope the rest of your travels are full of great memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great value for the price. Bathroom is small but the room is very spacious. Hotel is in a great central location. It is close to the beaches, downtown, zoo and Balboa Park. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn and for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that our hotel met your needs. We hope that whenever you decide to get away from Tucson you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the first place I stayed in the US. The Motel is in a convenient spot that is very easy to drive to from the airport. A busy road runs right by the motel so it's not the quietest of places I have stayed. The room I stayed in was fairly big, and looked like it had been recently refurbished. The TV was good, plenty of cable channels, the bed was huge but I guess all beds are in the US, and everything was clean. There are ample parking spaces and the spaces are not allocated, so you can just rock up and park. A security guard came the second we pulled up to ask questions and helped us take our bags to reception. There is a hot tub in the pool area but we didn't use either, looked nice though. For how cheap the rooms are here you get more than you pay for. don't forget to visit the waffle spot for breakfast. Nom

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, I understand that they are not all refurbished yet. Also ask for a 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We are happy to read that your first stop in the states was a good one. Thank you for your review and for recognizing the security guard for his assistance. We don't always know when our staff go above and beyond for our guests but are not surprised because we have an awesome family of employees at Kings Inn. We wanted you to know that all rooms are refurbished and since your visit we have added in room coffeemakers too. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for four days to attend a training class. I will admit to being a hotel snob so I was a little hesitant. But the Kings Inn has it figured out. Despite it's age, it's impeccably clean and well cared for, inside and out. My room was perfectly clean every single day. The staff are AMAZING - they go out of their way in every possible way. I generally stay at Hilton, Doubletree, Westins and the like when traveling for business -- the service and cleanliness absolutely equaled (in some cases exceeding) what I generally experience.

The management here clearly takes pride in their hotel and it shows. This is a great value in San Diego and I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMommy85212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your business trip. We realize that most of our guests are visiting for leisure but are glad that you wanted to give us a try. We do have an awesome staff and housekeeping is vital. In fact we just bought them lunch last Friday because of all the great comments they are getting for their hard work. Management definitely takes great pride in what we have here at Kings Inn but so do all our staff. We are fortunate to have an amazing family of people working here and making things great for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing