We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great comfy resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great comfy resort!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visit in the San Diego zoo. From the hallways and lobby it looks a little dated but we walked into a nice surprise upon check in to the room. We traveled with family and they honored our request for rooms next to each other. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful, even looking up the tide times for us. The rooms were very updated, even had USB and charging ports right into the night stand. The bed was very soft, and the room was clean. There was a patio with chairs and a table but we didn't really use it during our short stay. We did check out both restaurants right on site and it was so convenient being there. The Mexican restaurant was good but the Waffle Spot was great! They really have awesome waffles and give you a ton of food. The waitress was a sweetheart as well. The price was so great that I would stay here again on another trip to San Diego. I

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessR_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We always like reading that our first time guests enjoyed their visit enough that they plan to visit again. Thank you for your review. We are in the midst of updating our hotel. Rooms are nearly done and the restaurants and lobby are slated for the fall. We look forward to sharing the exciting changes on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    793
    220
    50
    28
See reviews for
710
583
126
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just like home everything you need is there rooms clean pool is perfect and the Jacuzzi is so relaxing with all the bubbles and jets . You never have to leave the hotel there are two perfect restaurants there for breakfast lunch and dinner and my daughter Savanna loves the souvenir mermaid She got from the lobby thanks you for the beat time of my life.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmorgan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We were happy to have you and your family at Kings Inn. It surely looked like our pool was a huge hit with your children and it is no wonder your daughter cherishes her mermaid snowglobe. She practically became one with all her time in the pool. We hope you will bring the family back to San Diego and Kings Inn soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelanto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family and I have stayed at the Kings Inn at least six times. It is very comfortable and cozy with two on site restaurants. The staff are very nice and helpful. The hotel is very clean. The pool and spa are very nice. We were pleasantly surprised on this most recent visit to see all the upgrades to the hotel including new beds/furniture/windows/flat screen tv's and gooseneck shower heads. There are refrigerators in every room and there is a laundry room. A very nice place to stay for a great price.

Room Tip: We had a room right outside one of the pool gaits which was great for us. The only thing about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
It is always a pleasure to see our returning guests. And now that we have remodeled our rooms we are especially excited to share the improvements. Thank you and your family for visiting us year after year. We look forward to your next visit to share our continued improvements to the rooms and the entire hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were a group of three girls (early 50's!) on a surfing getaway from Colorado and we stayed at the Kings Inn for three nights. The first thing we noticed was the genuine friendliness of the staff and next was the fabulous pool area. The hotel itself is older and makes you feel like you've stepped back into a simpler time. Age is not a factor here, though, It's clean, well-maintained, and has all the modern amenities. We ate at both restaurants. The food and prices were good. We would definitely consider staying here again and would recommend it to others. Excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfer_girl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are happy you girls enjoyed your surfing trip and that you chose Kings Inn for your hotel. You hit the nail on the head in recognizing our vision for our hotel: to provide a clean, comfortable hotel with great restaurants and amenities at a good value. All the while we do like to keep it simple and the service of our staff is genuine and earnest. We hope you will decide to plan a yearly trip, or semi annual even. We hear it can get pretty cold in Colorado during the winter while we enjoy the warm sun year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've been to the King's Inn several times and we're never disappointed. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the pool is lovely, and we always enjoy The Waffle Spot! The location can't be beat; it's close to anything you want to do in San Diego. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjh480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Kings Inn was built 55 years ago with families in mind. Our open court setting with half our rooms opening out to overlook our beautiful pool is ideal for parents and children. We love seeing the excitement on our younger guests' faces when they see the pool which is much larger than average hotel pools and goes to a nine foot depth. And our restaurants definitely keep the kid friendly theme. Sir Wafflelot, our waffle king is a local celebrity and visits every weekend. We value all our guests and want to fill every visit with fun and happy memories. Besides, we still understand that the young guests of today are the young parents of tomorrow, returning to San Diego to share those fun memories with their little ones. We are happy we succeeded with your children and with you and hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for a short trip (Fri - Sun). The front desk staff is fantastic, helpful and friendly even when they were swamped. I had a king sized bed that was pretty comfortable, especially considering the price point for this hotel. However, the bathroom is super small -- I felt cramped in there and I was traveling alone. There are 2 restaurants on site, a waffle place for breakfast and a Mexican restaurant for dinner. I did not try the Mexican restaurant, but The Waffle Spot was pretty good. Diner set up, a bit pricey (but aren't all restaurants located in hotels?) and delicious waffles. The location is great - Hotel Circle is close to just about everywhere in SD you'd want to go. Pool was clean and there were plenty of chairs around, and there's even a bar outside. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are glad you found value in your stay and that you were served well by our friendly staff. We apologize if you felt restricted by the size of your bathroom. We realize the limitations for the toilet area because it is in a room that also houses a full size tub and shower. Hopefully, because the bathrooms are en suite with the sink outside of the enclosure, this helps alleviate some of the confinement while also allowing more than one guest to get ready at a time. We do provide 10% off breakfast to our guests and the average diner spends under $12 for generous portions of quality diner style comfort food. We thank you for choosing Kings Inn and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Kings Inn for a quick trip to San Diego to go to Sea World (Tuesday-Thursday this week). Our stay was wonderful, the front desk manager Ana was gracious in a pinch while I needed to utilize the property's laundry room. Thanks again, Ana~you truly were a lifesaver to us that night! The staff in the Waffle Spot were amazing with service and the breakfasts we had there were simply delightful! The only real drawback to our room that I can think of is the size of the bathroom. Pretty small, a little difficult to maneuver in, but did not detract from the room itself. We all slept quite comfortably with very little noise outside. The pool area is nice and clean, with a very nice jacuzzi off to the side. Everyone was SO nice to us, employees and hotel patrons alike. We definitely have Kings Inn on our list of favorite places to stay when we travel now!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are honored to make your list of preferred hotels for your family trips.Thank you for your kind review. For future trips, please keep in mind that we have many adjoining room options if you want separate rooms and bathrooms for the kids. We are happy to accommodate these requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,805 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing