We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor location and poor service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is around a 20min drive to San Diego itself. The public transport to the hotel is also infrequent and stops very early at night. The staff were a mixed bag, some lovely while others couldn't have made us feel less welcome. More like a motel than a hotel. Not good value for money either. Will not be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Kings Inn. In reading your review, it becomes clear our unique property was not a great fit for your needs both in location and budget. And it stands to reason that if you were not happy with these initial impressions how easily other qualities like our newly renovated rooms, our usually informative and friendly desk staff, our affordable and delicious restaurants, our spectacular heated pool, and our diligent housekeeping staff may get overlooked. We do appreciate that you chose our hotel for your San Diego visit and we understand if the downtown and gaslamp district hotels would be a better choice for your future adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    826
    227
    50
    30
See reviews for
760
622
131
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As two couples, we traveled to San Diego to take in three baseball games and enjoy the beautiful city. The Kings Inn was really more than expected: clean and comfortable rooms, a restaurant for breakfast & lunch, a 2nd for dinner including a lounge, free parking close to the rooms, great location near the a trolley station, and a fantastic pool. The real surprise was the attention to customer service, indicated by a staff who were friendly and accommodating. From the housekeepers to the hotel manager, it was evident our business was appreciated. We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It was a pleasure having you at Kings Inn. It is great to read how you enjoyed your visit to San Diego and how Kings Inn and our friendly staff played a part in this. We hope you will have more opportunities to visit us in the future. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Big rooms and beds, clean pool, jacuzzi, great internet and even USB chargers in the room. In short; this hotel is great and not that expensive. People at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Also close to the city and a great mall with movie theatres and stuff..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthiasG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying at Kings Inn. We realize how much more thought must go into choosing hotels from halfway around the world and we appreciate that you gave our independent hotel a chance while visiting California. We are glad our central location served you well as you explored San Diego and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We wish you safe travels as you continue your American adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for Comic-Con 2014. This is our 6th year coming to San Diego and we've stayed at a different hotel every year because we couldn't find one we were truly comfortable with; but this time, we've finally found a keeper. Rooms were nice and clean, pool and hot-tub were well maintained, free wifi (mostly worked well), free parking, 10% discount at the attached restaurants (we never got to eat at the Mexican place for dinner, but the Waffle Spot was an appropriately named breakfast diner with great food and service), location is great on Hotel Circle, and reasonably priced. Only minor problem was we had some ants in the room, but it wasn't a huge issue for us. As I said, this will be our go-to spot from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor right next to the pool and LOVED it. Not too noisy, and pool closes at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are glad you found Kings Inn and even happier that we will be your Comic-Con hotel from here on out. We appreciate all our guests but Comic-Con is especially fun for the staff because we do have many returning guests and it is nice to catch up. We should have rates and availability on our website by next Friday, August 15th for next year. Booking in advance will offer you the best deals. In regards to the ants, we apologize. They are a new challenge for us and our pest service explained that the small sugar ants are suffering due to the drought in California and so they are seeking water. We have added additional treatments to deter them from the guest rooms without using heavy toxins. Thank you for your understanding. We look forward to seeing you next July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were travelling as a family with two teenage boys and stayed in a two queen bed room. The room was clean and large enough. The two beds were both large enough for to people to sleep.
We asked for a quiet room, which we got, didn't matter, that it was facing the pool, no noise from there (at least not when we were in the room).

We can recommend this hotel, it is close to the local attractions, easy to reach and people at the front desk nice and helpful

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your family's San Diego adventure and for sharing your experience here. We are glad the room was comfortable for your family of four. We hope you and your boys enjoyed our heated pool. We appreciate your recommendation to our potential future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Almost everything about this hotel is perfect. The bed felt great, the inside of the hotel room was great looking, parking was close, the pool and hot tub where great and the Waffle Spot was amazing. The only draw back was the bathroom size. It is very small but if it is just two people it is worth dealing with. The outside and sign doesn't match just how beautiful it really is.

Room Tip: Try for a room are first floor because closer to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We can accept almost perfect. Our goal is to provide that balance between comfort, value, service and cleanliness. We are happy you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel. Our en suite bathrooms are original to the hotel construction more than 50 years ago. Though the tub and toilet enclosure is smaller than new builds, we hope the bonus of having the sink outside the enclosure yet still semi private redeem the configuration. As a side note, our main sign is actually a registered historic landmark and though we may one day give it a minor facelift, we are fond of its iconic presence outside our vintage hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have been staying at the Kings Inn for years. It gets better every year. Great pool, rooms, restaurants and free parking ! Our favorite place to stay. It is close to all if the major attractions in San Diego and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneStudioCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are encouraged to read that you have stayed with us before and that each time we have gotten better for you. This is our goal. In our recent improvements and with ongoing and upcoming renovations we are perpetually striving to make Kings Inn the best it can be. We are glad that in your experience our efforts are paying off. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#16 of 279 in San Diego
1,839 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing