We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Service!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #27 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at The King Inn for two nights and loved it!!!!!! The rooms where a bit small but location and service from staff at front desk made up for it... Vero at the front desk is awesome and so helpful.. And dont forget to have breakfast at the Waffle Spot. They have the best waffles ever!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picheliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It is always great to read how guests enjoyed their stay at Kings Inn, but we are most proud when we read how the service of our staff make the difference. Thank you for recognizing Veronica for her service. We hope you will have new opportunities to return to San Diego and to stay at Kings Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My family of three stayed at Kings Inn for two nights (a Thursday and Friday). I am a planner and researcher at heart so I did allot of looking around before booking our stay here. We were in San Diego for Sea World (which is only 6 minutes away!) and then we went to Disneyland on the way home so I was looking for something reasonably priced but still nice. This hotel was both. We checked in a little before 10pm, the office was nice and welcoming. The man at the front desk was very friendly and he upgraded our rooms to right by the pool! The rooms were very comfy, the bathroom is on the smaller side but this place is a hotel, not an apartment complex, it served its purpose and really if you're on vacation how much time are you spending in the room? My husband said he hadn't slept so well in a long time, the beds were amazing! The pool looked very nice and every morning we woke up there were people cleaning it. My husband and I are smokers so I appreciated the designated smoking area. I also felt this was good for nonsmokers, there wasn't a bunch of people in random places blowing smoke all over the place! I didn't use the Wi-Fi personally but my daughter was able to watch Netflix on her tablet with no problem. There are two restaurants connected to the office, we ate at both. I had the bacon waffle at the Waffle Spot and I am still thinking about it! Paula was our server and she was awesome! We ate at the Amigo Spot after getting in from Sea World, our eyes were bigger then our stomachs but the atmosphere was good and the mariachi band came to our table and sang our daughters request (twinkle twinkle little star). You also get coupons to use at both places for being a guest which I thought was really awesome. Parking is good and FREE! I would recommend this hotel and if we are ever in San Diego again I won't be looking for a hotel, I'll just book this one!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Edde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you were comfortable and that you found our smoking patio convenient as all rooms are nonsmoking at Kings Inn. We have added new seating and lounging couches there and it seems to be a hit with all guests. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff here was wonderful. I have never had a stay where the people were so kind and pleasant. This motel is clean and accommodating. I will always stay here whenever I am in San Diego. My family loved the pool and the location is close to many restaurants, stores and attractions. Safe, Clean location. Staff is excellent!!

Room Tip: I requested a ground level, open to the pool room, as my family loves the pool. there are several en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are very excited to know that Kings Inn will be your hotel of choice whenever you return to San Diego. Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your tips about poolside rooms. only around 20% of our rooms are directly poolside (1st and 2nd floor) but we have plans to expand the pool area and transform it to a mini oasis that will be fun for kids and adults. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I spent lots of time researching a hotel in San Diego and I thought Kings Inn was perfect for our budget as well as location. Newly remodeled rooms and nice pool for the kids as well. Would stay there again for sure. Also had dinner at the Amigo Spot which we enjoyed, but did not eat at the Waffle Spot (always packed)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank krudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are happy you found us. Thank you for trying our Amigo Spot during your stay. Yes, the Waffle Spot has a huge following locally as well as with tourists and waits can occur but in San Diego, most breakfast spots encounter this regularly. We like our brunches here. We hope you will have another opportunity to visit and to try our fantastic waffles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good value, a/c worked, bed was comfortable, coffee machine, room looked to have been recently refurbished, shower was good, it was quiet as we were away from the pool. In hot weather the pool is very popular with everyone. The breakfast Waffle House was massively busy and had good food. The bar and restaurant on the other side was also very friendly and had a great menu. The wifi when we were there was a little patchy but I saw the manager desperately trying to get it fixed and he was most apologetic.
Only downer was no lift so when on the 2nd floor with cases it was a bit of a pain.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool if you aren't going to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of installing new cables for our WiFi access points (12 total) throughout the hotel property. During this growth process not all access points have been fully functional. We apologize if this posed any major challenges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had so much fun, i went there for my birthday and they made me feel so welcome and comfortable. My friends i invited had the most greatest time there and enjoyed every minute of it. We didn't wanna leave when we had to check out. The food was wonderful and soooo good, the waffles and pancakes were yummy.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your Sweet 16 getaway at Kings Inn. It was an honor having you, your mom and your friends here to celebrate. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back for other occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked the hotel after reading trip advisor reviews. Sadly disappointed with the overall stay.
The room was clean but unfortunately we had ants in our room on a daily basis.
My son is 6 foot so showering was difficult in the small bathroom.
On a plus, the staff were really pleasant and helped organise a surprise for our anniversary which was really nicely done.
We booked for the budget price but really could have stayed somewhere nicer for the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are sorry you were not completely happy with your stay at Kings Inn during your three week visit to the U.S. last month. Our goal is always to balance comfort, service, cleanliness and value in meeting the needs of our guests and we apologize that in regards to comfort and value you felt slighted but are happy that you were satisfied with the cleanliness and also the service provided by our staff. We appreciate your stay and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#10 of 286 in San Diego
1,969 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#46 of 286 in San Diego
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn San Diego has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Family-owned and family-friendly, Kings Inn San Diego is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing