We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #27 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Kings Inn 15 Aug 14 & I truth I picked it out on the internet based on it having a waffle spot! We arrived into the holt around 6pm & were greeted like it was our millionth visit - lovely staff. We had flown in from Australia that morning & spent the day at San Diego Zoo so were beat ... But the room was awesome. King bed that was uber comfy, shower was hot & had good pressure & great air con.
Check out was easy & access to the freeways was so easy.
if I ever get the chance will def stay again.
Thanks for a great start to our holiday!

Room Tip: Our room was off to the side so no noise at all even considering there is a restaurant downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

It is great to know that the reception you received at check in was noteworthy. We like to think we have the friendliest guest service staff around and are happy this was your experience. We are happy you were comfortable with your accommodations and that you will consider Kings Inn again should you return to San Diego. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at Kings Inn San Diego from August 13 to August 16 2014. Everything was great. Great location. Rooms are wonderful with brand new furniture, beautiful decor. Front desk was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the entire San Diego area. Maintenance staff has the property very well maintained. Kids loved the pool, looks awesome specially at night. They have a pool bar Thursday to Sunday from 2 to 7 pm nice touch. They have two restaurants on site with great tasting food, The Waffle Spot for breakfast/lunch and The Amigo Spot for dinner. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful with everything we needed. Thank you to the entire Kings Inn staff that made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Omar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your glowing review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your visit and our fantastic pool. Our pool bar is a summer feature we added this year and it will be open for just two more weekends. We are glad you chose Kings Inn and hope you have an opportunity to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hosted an event for 60 people (my first!), many of whom were out-of-towners and many of whom were on a fixed/limited income. The staff, banquet facility, and food were top notch, and they were able to accommodate my ridiculous $15 per person budget! The event was for a group of artists, actors to be precise, and we didn't need "fancy," just pleasant and fun, and that's exactly what we got! I was pleasantly surprised by the upgraded room - one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever experienced, clean, air conditioned, fridge - all in working order. Would DEFINITELY return, for an event, or just with my family for a fun affordable San Diego staycation! Thank you, Kenyetta, James, and Angela, in particular!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are very happy you and your group of sixty enjoyed your cocktail reception in our banquet room last Saturday. Thank you for you glowing report and for acknowledging the service of Kenyetta, James and Angela. We hope you can plan more events with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice place, very clean, comfortable room. The bathroom is quite small. Check in was easy. The only thing is that the price does not include breakfast. it does come with a 10% discount for your meal.
Free wifi but does not always connected for some reason. The room near the street is a bit noisy. But if you just need a place to crash at night, this is a really good place for it. Looks a bit old but for us the most important thing is that it is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myr_Saulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your stay at Kings Inn. We are glad you were comfortable and that you felt our hotel room suited your needs. We hope you will stay with us again and give us an opportunity to improve upon your first experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed four nights for a wedding on Coronado. The staff was very helpful when we had questions. Very quiet and great location to get to local attractions. The Waffle Spot was amazing, couldn't wait for breakfast, and it was reasonably priced. Only drawback was the really small bathroom but that definitely won't stop us from returning!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erjk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn and found it to be a great value. We are also happy you enjoyed breakfast at the Waffle Spot. Thank you for sharing your stay and for you kind review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights to check out the city and the zoo/sea world. Staff were great. Ample parking. Room had a fridge and a huge bed! Design of the room was odd. Sink was on the outside of the bathroom right in front of the entry door and bathroom itself was very small - only really enough floor space for the door to open! Overall everything was clean and tidy. There is a laundry room and onsite restaurants. Wifi was awful! It only worked for the first 10min of our four day stay - we didn't pursue with management. Relatively close to old town and theme parks - check brochures in lobby for discounts. We found the hotel circle area difficult to navigate at times - relied heavily on the GPS to get around - lots of highways and exits! Despite being close to the highway it was pretty quiet. Would probably stay again next time.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are sorry to learn you did not enjoy your room other than its size. Most of our rooms have a bathroom in the back and only few like yours have the bathroom in the entry. These rooms are typically much quieter and we try to keep that as a consideration for guests not wanting pool noise and other general traffic noise. We apologize the WiFi was inconsistent. We actually have an access point directly out the door of your room and had we been made aware you had challenges we would have quickly reset it for you. Thank you for staying at Kings Inn and for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I did my research before selecting the Kings Inn and was very satisfied. It was just what I wanted and expected. Good price, great location, nice pool, comfortable beds, clean. The bathroom was too small (as was the whole room), but ok. The waffle spot restaurant had good food and we never had to wait. Ate there 3 different mornings. We were there August 2-7 and had plans each day. Very easy to get to every attraction and close to fast food. My 13 year old daughter preferred it over our fancier "on-the-beach" hotel we stayed at for the following two days. Her only complaint was wi-fi. I didn't have a problem, but she was only able to connect once. We stayed on second floor next to the pool. Not noisy either. We did have to wait a little for check-in, so went to get some fast-food and it was ready when we got back I would stay there again. Let me add, though, that if you want fancy with lots of amenities, then probably not for you. If you want affordable and with all the basics covered, then good choice.

Room Tip: Pool side seems nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caramiamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for taking the recommendations of our previous guests in booking your stay at Kings Inn. We are glad we met expectations and that we even got the added approval of your daughter. We are definitely not a fancy hotel but we hope all guests feel that even more than the basic comforts are covered when they stay with us. We definitely offer a much greater value than those beach front hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#48 of 286 in San Diego
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn San Diego has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Family-owned and family-friendly, Kings Inn San Diego is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing