We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. It was great. The renovated room was clean. Beds were comfy pool was great. Mexican restaurant bar was good and lively. But let's be honest, what really makes a stay at Kings Inn is the Waffle Spot. If you stay here and don't eat a waffle, that's just a fail. Never will you taste anything so close to heaven as that fluffy delicious waffle.
Come for the sunshine. Stay for the waffle

Oh yeah the desk staff were really friendly and helpful, and you park for free unlike a certain hotel across the free way whose name rhymes with Kwown Plasa

Room Tip: I'd stick to the pool side rooms to limit the freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Kings Inn has been a participating hotel for Tiki Oasis for many years. It is a great fit because we love our midcentury aesthetics as much as our tiki guests and that is highlighted by our new room designs. We are not stopping there. The lobby is next and the restaurants will receive some TLC as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our restaurants-we completely agree about the waffles at the Waffle Spot. We may even have to borrow your slogan. We look forward to your return next August to show off all the new renovations we will have made. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    795
    220
    50
    28
See reviews for
711
584
126
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We really enjoyed our four day stay at the Kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. The room had a nice retro vibe. We were steps from the pool and hot tub - it was wonderful. We enjoyed the small outside bar step. We ate Amigo's twice - the food there was excellent.
All the staff were very friendly & saw to everything we needed.

Room Tip: Room 110 is right near the gate for the pool. Easy access but if you want a quiet room, pick somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our retro vibe at Kings Inn. We were truly looking forward to sharing our new room designs with our Tiki Oasis guests because we feel you understand our drive to preserve much of our vintage culture that our midcentury hotel has to offer. We still have many more projects and hope you return next year to witness the exciting changes. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Balboa CA.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went during Tiki Oasis, they're rates were great, the staff was friendly and helpful and my son and I were very pleased with this hotel.
We only stayed 2 nights, but I would definitely stay again!
Clean nice caring A+++++

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintageHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are happy you and your son chose Kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. Every year more and more of the festival attendees migrate our way and discover our quaint midcentury southern California inn. It is nice to read that the friendliness of our staff was abundant during your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again whenever you visit San Diego and definitely next Tiki Oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

With all this warm weather my family and I were craving a night in air conditioning with a pool. Loved this hotel. The pool and spa are nice and perfect for the kids. The rooms are newly remodeled and very clean. Also the staff was super friendly. Loved the waffle breakfast in the morning. I will be booking again for another night escape and will continue to recommend to family and friends that come to visit. The kings inn is close to everything and a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amezasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
It is always an special treat when San Diegans decide to stay with us. Thank you for your review. We will be happy to take care of any of your friends and family whenever they visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the waffles and the pool. We are looking to expand our pool and water activity area over the winter. We hope you will be back to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Not doing a lengthy review because it is so not necessary!! Kings Inn San Diego and staff go way above and beyond - this is a 5 STAR Inn for a San DIego vacation. My special applause to Nancy, who put up with my long-distance e-mails as I was setting up a mini-vacation for my daughter and grandsons. She was SUPER and made sure that all went more than wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAIDER201401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Kings Inn. We do pride ourselves on the friendly and helpful service our staff consistently provides. Nancy recently rejoined us after 4 years away and we are happy to have her back. We hope now that you found us you will stay with us again whenever you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very adequate hotel for the budget conscience. The rooms are clean ( a little small) but who comes to San Diego to stay in the room? The beds were comfortable the AC was good.
The wifi was sketchy hooking up...but then again you really should not be working in San Diego.
The pool was heated and refreshing.
We will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad the hotel met your needs during your San Diego visit. We are currently installing new cables to increase bandwidth for our our free WiFi and though it is never completely unavailable, until the project is complete there are brief times where the signal is not as strong. We are sorry if this was your experience. We do have many more improvements planned for Kings Inn over the fall and winter and hope you have a chance to visit again to see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went for Tiki Oasis weekend. It was our first year attending. We stayed at the Kings Inn fri-mon. Rate was a little pricey but location was good. The pool was nice, and the convenience of the restaurants was good. My only complaint was the rooms. The rooms were a bit muggy, bathrooms not so clean and there was ants everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoColi252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are sorry your experience did not live up to our standards for cleanliness. We value our tiki guests and many stay year after year because of the comfort, service and cleanliness. We regret we were not approached sooner to amend any cleaning issues during your stay. In regards to the sugar ants, the extreme drought conditions combined with the hottest weather of the year has driven them to seek new supply sources and unfortunately this means they have been looking in guest rooms. Though it is only a temporary spike in activity, we have taken a more aggressive treatment approach outdoors. Indoors, we are looking at more organic deterrents and encouraging our guests to keep all food and beverages inside the 4.4 cubic foot refrigerators to dissuade them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#95 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing