We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love King's Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Love King's Inn!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here 7 years ago, and when we were coming back to San Diego, my son said "Can we stay at the place with the waffles again?" The employees are all kind and helpful, and the restaurants are great! Waffle Stop has the best waffles on the planet! Pool is so inviting and the property has everything you may need, like a small laundry room. Really enjoyed our stay both times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Welcome back to Kings Inn! Your inevitable return is all part of our fiendish plan. (insert devious laugh here) First we welcome you in with our cheerful all nonsmoking rooms and great rates. Then we strive to wow you with our friendly service. We add to that our amazing pool and amenities like free parking, free WiFi and spacious refrigerators in every room. And then, we tempt you with the scrumptious waffles like our Double Chocolate Chip Waffle and our Bacon Waffle at the Waffle Spot. Our goal is to help create happy memories for adults and children alike. Based on your review it looks like we did just that and it is part of why your son remembered us and wanted to come back. Hopefully, this visit was just as great and that now that you have rediscovered our unique family-owned and family-friendly hotel, you won't stay away so long. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    824
    225
    50
    30
See reviews for
755
621
131
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Kings Inn is a nice hotel or motel with two very good and cheap restaurents and a nice pool. The only bad thing is that it is far away from the center. But rember to go and eat in their Mexican restaurent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaBruun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and restaurants. We do understand for international travelers how the perception of distance varies and why you would feel our hotel is far from the downtown area. We are five miles away, but a quick 12 minute drive. Seaworld and the Zoo are even closer. Our location makes it convenient to get to most all attractions that San Diego is famous for. We even have great areas much closer like Old Town and Hillcrest that are less than a mile away and equally as rich in dining and nightlife options as the Gaslamp District. If you return to San Diego, we hope you will stay with us again and encourage you and all guests to challenge our friendly desk staff for great recommendations closer to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the King's Inn for our Family Vacation and Tiki Oasis. We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful our stay was. While the hotel rooms are a bit small they are smartly decorated with a vintage flair very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had a room facing the pool and it was perfect! We love the retro look of the kidney shaped pool and all the palm trees. It was a great place to relax and soak up some sun while our daughter swam to her heart's content! The 2 onsite restaurants are also wonderful and a great convenience. We had especially wonderful service by Enrico at the Amigo Spot. We loved our stay at the King's Inn and highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikijillsuzzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay at Kings Inn. Glad to see you liked our new midcentury room designs. And we are confident it was easier to enjoy our roomy pool than the one at the Tiki festival. Thank you for trying our restaurants and for recognizing Enrico for his bartending. We will happily pass along your kind words. We hope to see you again soon, or at least for the next Tiki Oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. It was great. The renovated room was clean. Beds were comfy pool was great. Mexican restaurant bar was good and lively. But let's be honest, what really makes a stay at Kings Inn is the Waffle Spot. If you stay here and don't eat a waffle, that's just a fail. Never will you taste anything so close to heaven as that fluffy delicious waffle.
Come for the sunshine. Stay for the waffle

Oh yeah the desk staff were really friendly and helpful, and you park for free unlike a certain hotel across the free way whose name rhymes with Kwown Plasa

Room Tip: I'd stick to the pool side rooms to limit the freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Kings Inn has been a participating hotel for Tiki Oasis for many years. It is a great fit because we love our midcentury aesthetics as much as our tiki guests and that is highlighted by our new room designs. We are not stopping there. The lobby is next and the restaurants will receive some TLC as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our restaurants-we completely agree about the waffles at the Waffle Spot. We may even have to borrow your slogan. We look forward to your return next August to show off all the new renovations we will have made. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We really enjoyed our four day stay at the Kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. The room had a nice retro vibe. We were steps from the pool and hot tub - it was wonderful. We enjoyed the small outside bar step. We ate Amigo's twice - the food there was excellent.
All the staff were very friendly & saw to everything we needed.

Room Tip: Room 110 is right near the gate for the pool. Easy access but if you want a quiet room, pick somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed our retro vibe at Kings Inn. We were truly looking forward to sharing our new room designs with our Tiki Oasis guests because we feel you understand our drive to preserve much of our vintage culture that our midcentury hotel has to offer. We still have many more projects and hope you return next year to witness the exciting changes. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Balboa CA.
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went during Tiki Oasis, they're rates were great, the staff was friendly and helpful and my son and I were very pleased with this hotel.
We only stayed 2 nights, but I would definitely stay again!
Clean nice caring A+++++

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintageHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are happy you and your son chose Kings Inn during Tiki Oasis. Every year more and more of the festival attendees migrate our way and discover our quaint midcentury southern California inn. It is nice to read that the friendliness of our staff was abundant during your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again whenever you visit San Diego and definitely next Tiki Oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

With all this warm weather my family and I were craving a night in air conditioning with a pool. Loved this hotel. The pool and spa are nice and perfect for the kids. The rooms are newly remodeled and very clean. Also the staff was super friendly. Loved the waffle breakfast in the morning. I will be booking again for another night escape and will continue to recommend to family and friends that come to visit. The kings inn is close to everything and a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amezasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
It is always an special treat when San Diegans decide to stay with us. Thank you for your review. We will be happy to take care of any of your friends and family whenever they visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the waffles and the pool. We are looking to expand our pool and water activity area over the winter. We hope you will be back to enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing