We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, location, helpful staff.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My girlfriend had a conference for work, so we stayed here because it was halfway between the airport and where she needed to go. Able to get on the expressway and go whereever we needed to go. Just outside of old town, which was a great thing. Both attached resturants had good food at a resonable prices. Had an issue with the sheets upon arrival, however staff brought up new ones very quickly. I'd love to go back to San Diego again, if I do I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parttime455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our location proved convenient for business and pleasure. Thank you for trying both our Waffle Spot and Amigo Spot restaurants during your visit. We also appreciate you giving us the opportunity to address any dissatisfaction immediately. Our goal is to prepare well for our guests so these issues never arise, but if they do, we are very happy to bridge the gap. We hope you will have a chance to visit us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    849
    232
    52
    30
See reviews for
810
646
132
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Rooms were very clean and updated. The pool area was wonderful and was centrally located to all of the rooms. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely return here! Recommended for families as the on-site Waffle Spot was a big hit with our kids too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K4137IRlisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Everyone at Kings Inn looks forward your church group's return each summer. We are glad you make our hotel your stopping place after your mission trips to Mexico and appreciate all the work you do for our neighbors to the south. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We thought the hotel was great. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful. The pool was really enjoyed by my children. We thought the hotel was very charming and we loved the laid back vibe. The Waffle Room and Amigo Room's decor was like taking a step back in time, but we loved it as we love anything retro.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessabooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Admittedly, when guests join us with an established appreciation for retro aesthetics it is much easier to appreciate the unique experience Kings Inn has to offer. We are glad you and the kids enjoyed our pool and restaurants as well as your room. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I have to guess that the people rating this 'Inn' (more like a motor lodge from the 60's) have never been to an actual 4 Star hotel.

This review is about the rooms and should not reflect management as I am sure they are doing the best they can with what they've got. And what they have here at Kings Inn is a heavily used and very tired motel.

The rooms are 2 Stars. They are small and heavily used. There are lots of little problems but because those little problems are so many it seems like one bigger problem.

The carpets are very ragged. The bathroom though cleanish has issues with dings, chips and stains.
The AC sounds like a fright train. The furniture is updated but the beds are well warn with tired with ill fitting linen. And if there is no on-demand movies to rent you simply can't have 4 Stars.

Just to demonstrate an understandable rating. A typical Marriott or Hyatt are 3 Star Hotels. A Weston is a 4-5 and the Ritz is a 5 Star. This hotel is barely a 2 Star.
Don't be fooled by the overly high reviews. This hotel is about as nice as most Motel 6s.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSCmePleasanton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
While we respect your contribution as a Senior Reviewer on Tripadvisor.com, we hope you will become better educated by our response on how the ratings are established here as you are mistaken in your assessments.

Ratings by Triple A and Mobile which have professional inspectors who grade hotels based on the quality of amenities, the condition of the property and the service of the staff. These ratings are in diamonds or stars. The ratings are unbiased and based on a strictly outlined criteria that does not allow for the inspector's personal opinion to play into the overall grade.

Tripadvisor.com reviews are different. Reviews submitted by our guests are based on their personal opinions and their level of satisfaction on a scale of 1 to 5. We are fortunate that the majority of our guests are very satisfied with Kings Inn and the service we provide. Of course, not everyone has the same opinion as was the case with your experience and we apologize for that. But when you review a hotel on Tripadvisor, it is not grading it on luxury, it is rating your personal experience and your level of satisfaction.

It is also more helpful when reviewers provide ratings for each of the subcategories: Location, Service, Rooms, Sleep Quality, Value and Cleanliness. Your review only provided an overall rating and the subcategories help hotels discern which areas are doing well and which areas need improvement. This is truly valued and appreciated.

We appreciate your feedback and for providing us an opportunity to clarify how ratings work on Tripadvisor for you and for all users.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

From checki in with Jacob, our stay was great! Beds comfortable, dinner and breakfast were good. Veronica assisted us with suggestions of things to do. Everyone was helpful & made us feel welcome. We have made our reservation for stay next month and look forward to this being out " San Diego Spot!"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moretrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are so happy to know that Jacob's friendly reception was just the cherry on top to a great stay at Kings Inn. Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We are excited to have you back in a month. We just received our new draperies this week so we will have something brand new for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Not the most fancy place, but it was clean, recently renovated, and convenient to various San Diego attractions. Having spent a week at a much fancier hotel downtown, it was a change in style, but perfectly functional and reasonably comfortable. The sink is outside of the rest of the bathroom, which is convenient for multi-person bathroom usage. The waffles in the lobby restaurant were great for breakfast - go early to avoid the crowd.

Make sure to get a room away from the pool and the main lobby - I can imagine it would be noisy in those areas, especially at night with the potentially lively restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffysnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for making Kings Inn a part of your San Diego visit. We are definitely a different experience than what you must have had downtown. We were probably less fancy but we are glad you were comfortable and happy with the cleanliness. We are sure that wherever you stayed downtown you did not have free parking and probably not free WiFi either as the average for both those features downtown runs about forrty dollars per night in addition to the higher room rates. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider staying with us for your entire stay the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were here for 2 nights and the location was excellent - a short drive from the San Diego Zoo and other tourist spots. Staff were helpful and the room was very clean. Breakfast is not included but the restaurant in the hotel is great for pancakes, waffles etc (portions are large). The hotel has a decent pool and a great hot tub and provides separate towels for this on request. Overall we had a great time and would love to visit again.

Ps this is a genuine review - we booked through booking.com. Only point to bear in mind is that you may want to ask for a room not adjacent to the freeway, this didn't bother us in the slightest as any noise was drowned out by the air con but may be worth considering for lighter sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for challenging the accusations of another reviewer. We value our Tripadvisor reviews because they do go through great lengths to prevent fraudulent activity or multiple posts by the same reviewer for the same stay. They actually will not post a review by a guest, good or bad, if the review is sent from the internet IP address of the hotel, for example if you review a hotel using their free WiFi. They are strict policies.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts at the Waffle Spot. Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your San Diego adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing