We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here while my husband attended a conference. It is your typical big convention hotel and if you know that up front, it isn't bad. Beautiful view of the harbor and a close walk to Seaport Village. My only complaint is that all of the food offerings are very expensive and it is a little far to venture out of the hotel to get something cheaper (and probably better) to eat. Breakfast in particular was kind of a drag because you have a long way to walk before you get to where you can order food and then a long way to take it back to your room if that's waht you want to do. Room service is astronomically expensive here. The pool area is to die for though. Ask for a balcony room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,775 - 2,781 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We loved the three days we spent at this hotel. I agree with the majority of the other reviews of this Hotel. Large spacious lobbies, nice large rooms, lush pool areas and the staff - every single one we encountered - was pleasant, helpful and seemed to be at ease and not rushed. We had a balcony on the 22 floor on the City View side, in the "north tower" with a little of the harbor view and it was stunning. Parking is the normal ridiculous Down Town San Diego price, 38.00 a night self-parking. Valet more. However, directly across from the hotel on First and J Street, 1 1/2 blocks away, there was a 15.00 a day parking lot. We did not use it because we were feeling a little lazy. The food in the restaurant was excellent, though expensive. The pools, fire pits and outdoor bar filled up quickly at night with mostly 30 something’s, some 40 something’s. During the day, mostly families. During the day, there was plenty of room to sit poolside or bar side and enjoy the sun. Close enough to the Gaslamp area. We had an event (Crawl for Cardiology) that we attended which was a bar-to-bar-to-bar sort of evening, and the walk was fine. You are also within spitting distance to the Sea Port Village, which is almost adjacent to the back of the hotel's grounds. The grounds and lobby are vast and you end up doing a lot of walking just to get around the hotel. I do not know if I could have afforded the room for three days if we had not gotten an excellent deal through price line. ($120.00 a night, plus taxes and parking.) There are less expensive hotels closer to the activities that you come to San Diego for, but we will try to come back to this one again soon. It has a resort feeling to it without the pretentiousness of some other locations.

Room Tip: We asked for and received an upgrade to a balcony, and we liked the city view better than the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a great loaction. We were in a balcony room facing the marina in the North Tower. It is a short walk to the Convention Center or the Gas Lamp District.
The only issues I had, for the rates they charge they are missing on amenities. There are no bathtubs in the rooms, only showers. Upon check-in for 2, there were only 2 towels in the bathroom. Parking is $28 for self-parking of $40 for valet...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Everything about this hotel was utterly fantastic. Great food, great staff, great rooms, great work out facilities, great outdoor pool and bar, and great location. Came on business, but will be returning for an extended vacation with family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDJD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was probably one of the better Marriott hotels that I've stayed at. It had a very nice gym and pool area and the service and rooms were good. My only issue was that the hotel was almost too large and certainly didn't have the charm of a smaller 4 star boutique hotel but overall it's a great place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A nice spot for a girls getaway. We enjoyed the restaurant and nearby Seaport village. Very nice room - upgraded to a balcony with marina view. Very pretty!! Excellent customer service. The pool is huge, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here during 2012 Comic-Con and will be staying again for this years Comic-Con. The property is one of the most beautiful hotels that I've had the pleasure of staying in. The view from my room was amazing and having a balcony was an added treat. The location cannot be beat-close to everything that downtown San Diego has to offer.

The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The only thing is that some of the bartenders were a little rude. Not sure if it was because it was probably more high-volume than usual due to Comic-Con but it was a little off-putting. Nothing that ruined my stay though.

Looking forward to staying here this year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
5,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £129 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing