We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location but losing its luster.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
okapigirl
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location but losing its luster.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel is showing its age and losing its special touch. Stayed here before and just didn't have the same quality experience. Overall the service is still pretty good. The bellmen are very helpful and courteous. Staff was very friendly from the front desk to room service. The food quality overall was good but when I ordered the same breakfast item the quality varied. Received lukewarm coffee one morning. Had constant internet problems so had them remove the charges. The location is great and so was the harbor view from the 8th floor balcony. Rooms were pretty quiet and had comfortable beds. One day housekeeping didn't clean the room at all and most days it was not really cleaned well-just towels and toiletries replaced and beds made. Even at a convention rate I expect more from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okapigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    1,219
    340
    122
    85
See reviews for
643
702
112
1,616
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Last week I was invited to a conference and this was the hotel selected as venue. The room I stayed was large enough for 3 people, had a balcony looking over the bay area and the natural components of the hotel were breathtaking. The pool with palm trees, the spa and many restaurants were very nice. The service is also good. It could be pricey if you are on a budget since one glass on wine was 17 dollars!! They had other options, but yes they are pricey. The hotel is very close to the airport, zoo and sea world. Also walking distance from the gaslamp district where there are many restaurants and shops. The beach is very very close and the lobby staff are on top of every detail. Is an option for sure. The pool is great and the gym is adequate size. The lobby area has many gift shops and a starbucksplus 2 bars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiev16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had a great stay here for a convention. Location is outstanding, employees were top notch. The bellman who greeted me in my taxi kept checking up on me by name for the entire trip-you have a winner there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived around four. We were welcomed upon arrival. Our room wasn't ready, left our bags with their storage service. Our only complaint is that we never received a call telling us our room was ready. We came back to the hotel around six and the room was ready. Travel weary, we needed to rest. Our room was great, clean and fresh. Our view was spectacular. We took advantage of the pool and hot tub. Loved it! Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is nice , location excellent. You can get anywhere you want to go from this hotel,
walking,riding cart,cab or bicycle. This was are second time to stay at this location.It is very close to the airport ,but not so close you hear the planes. We walked every day somewhere. The food and drinks are pricey but local store very close.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st-jean
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Easy acess to public transportation .. Walking distance to seaportvillage and gaslamp district. Tram all round town or bus. Friendly staff. Clean . Only downside is free internet in lobby and slow. Pool resaurant is good and nice ambience. Nice pools. Hot tub missing colrine and not hot enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

d in on Tuesday and our on Thursday and as expected just a wonderful experience from check in and arrival until departure. Food and all services from breakfast, lunch and poolside Bar and Pool side amenities were superb.

Room , had a king room facing city and everything in the room was great and very restful.

The marina and walking lanes and shops were delightful and the hotel is very centrally located,

You will not be disappointed if you elect to stay here , the staff will take great care of you.

Larry

Room Tip: Ask or request Marina side view of the marina and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lchilcoat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing