We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The SD Marriott Marquis is a beautiful hotel. We were on the 25th floor with a view of the world. It was a clear, beautiful fall day which added to the ambiance. The room was large, clean, huge windows for an outstanding view; modern décor. The bed was comfortable with feel-good linens. It had a spacious bathroom with all the amenities. There was a large workable desk area. I was able to keep the room at a rather cool temperature, not always possible at hotels (even though they give you a thermostat.) We did not eat at the hotel restaurants. The only disappointment was lack of parking. Few spaces were open and they were reserved for boat owners. I had to circle the entire parking area to find an open space at the far end of the parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,465 - 2,471 of 4,060 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Hotel is very, very clean. Perhaps the cleanest room I've ever stayed in. Quiet rooms, no middle of the night door slamming in the halls. King room is spacious, with good desk, fridge, coffee maker, and loveseat. Helpful, courteous staff. Amenities include Starbucks, gift shop, deli, and on-site restaurants/bars. Beautiful lagoon-like pool area, and whirlpool/hot tub exclusively for adults. Good conference rooms, underground access to the convention center. Conveniently located near restaurants and shops — nearby mall, Gas Lamp District within walking distance. Minutes from the airport by car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smj000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels I stayed in. Very nice rooms, great ambiance, very professional and friendly service, beautifully designed pool area. Also, great view of the marina in sunset, and literally 3 minutes from the convention center. All make a great experience.


Down points: Wifi.
The one problem we experienced was, as was said in other reviews: the wifi internet connection.
It was slow, unreliable, kept disconnecting and stalling. Internet worked fine when using the cable supplied in the room, so, as others have said this was not a problme with my own equipment. Its really unclear how a highquality hotel allows that service to be SO poor, where every neighborhood coffee place can make it work right. Ah, not to mention they charge a LOT for it.

Room Tip: Try geting a view to the marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I appreciate your candid comments regarding our internet service. We are looking at ways to improve this service for our guests.
Kind regards,
Tuni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was a business and family trip. We stayed for 6 nights from 25th April as my husband was attending a convention at the hotel. When we checked in we moved rooms 3 times until they found one that would be big enough for us to accommodate a crib, a stroller, golf clubs, business equipment and luggage for a family of three on a 2 week vacation. The bell boys were really helpful in finding us the most spacious room which ended up being on the city side on the corner of the seventh floor. It had panoramic windows which was good.
The hotel is convenient in that it is central, with the Gas Lamp District a stones throw away at the front of the property and the Marina at the back so, easy access to nice walks along the water front and other hotels, shops and restaurants.
The Marina Kitchen was always busy but the service and food were good. The bar was buzzing at night too and there was live entertainment most nights we were there.
There are two outdoor pools and if you have children they can be well entertained by the fountains in the pool area.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 3 and need a lot of room the largest double rooms are city facing at the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It is so nice to receive such complimentary words about our hotel. Thank you for your post and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are in San Diego.
Kind regards,
Tuni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We go to San Diego often and usually stay in the Gas Lamp District, however, my husband had a convention at this hotel so we decided to stay there. The location of the hotel is wonderful and you get all the resort amenities that you would expect from a higher end Marriot. The hotel is large to say the least with two towers. I would recommend requesting a room in the south tower because they have balconies. I'm not really inclined to stay at resort hotels unless in Hawaii or other island destination but I really enjoyed this one. The pool area is really nice with a bar and restaurant outside. The food was surprisingly good for hotel food. The breakfast was a little pricey but did offer a lot of variety for a buffet. If you have a hearty appetite I would definitely recommend the buffet. There is a coffee shop and a Roy's on the property. It's a short walk to the Gas Lamp District which is convenient. The hotel is located on the marina and has nice views and they offer a shuttle boat to Coronado Island which is really nice. Overall, a nice hotel, reasonably priced with good service.

Room Tip: South Tower with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Our location really is convenient to so many areas in San Diego. As you mentioned the Gaslamp District is one of them. I am happy to hear that you selected our hotel and that you enjoyed the balcony in your room. Hopefully you will stay with us again and discover some of the new growth along the boardwalk. A new shopping and social area will be opening soon just north of the hotel. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel we hope to see you back here soon.
Warm regards,
Tuni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I think the hotel industry really needs to put an emphasis on providing a very solid, reliable, and fast internet connection to its guests. I'd say that with over 75% of my hotel stays throughout the year, the hotel internet (whether free or paid) is awful. This was the case here, and this property charges for internet access. Whether I was in my room, the lobby, or one of the conference meeting rooms, I had a terrible connection. As a backup, I would try my Verizon HotSpot, and this would work great. So the issue was not with my computer, but the hotel network. Fix it!!

Aside from my painful experience with the internet, I would say....

- Room condition was excellent. Nice, new fixtures, very clean, big bathroom, frameless glass shower, lots of plugs for charging, and minimal wear & tear. Very impressed. The hallways, elevators....everything was in great shape. Like the hotel was just built.

- People are great. 100% of the hotel staff that I interacted with were friendly and helpful.

- Nice location. Right on the waterfront, next to the convention center, and an easy walk downtown.

- Pricey. The cost of the room, plus cost of all of the incidentals (parking, internet, water, etc), make this a costly hotel for a Marriott.

- Decent food. I was quite impressed with the breakfast and lunch that I had at the on-site restaurant. Great service, and one of the best breakfast buffets I've seen in a long time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I understand your frustration with our internet service. We have been tracking this trend at our hotel and will be making significant changes in the near future to improve the service provided in our hotel. I appreciate you kind words about our hotel and will share the information with our Hosts.
Kind regards,
Tuni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This is a business oriented hotel. And it's huge. I was a little wary at first, but it actually worked out perfectly for us when we visited family and friends in San Diego with our one year old boy.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It's right by the marina with an amazing ocean and Coronado island view. There are water front parks, perfect for morning stroll with our son. It's also within walking distance to seaport village. It's also easy to get onto the freeway.

We are marriot gold member, and the gold membership is actually worth something here. We were on 24th floor (club floor) with a room facing the bay and Coronado bridge. View was breathtaking. The club room serves free breakfast starting at 6am, which was perfect for our son who was jet lagged and waking up early in the morning. Breakfast selection is decent - scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh baked pastries (very good), assorted fresh fruit, etc. The club room is also a good place for us to have early dinner when we bought fish taco from food truck occasionally.

The room is a typical marriot room. Nothing to write home about but very clean and the bed and pillows are comfortable. The hotel provided a pack and play for our son. The one drawback is the bathroom has a shower but no tub. So it was challenging for us to bathe our son.

The staff are mostly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Dominic who worked at the club room one evening. He was so friendly and helpful, and made our son laugh all the time.

Yes self parking is $28 but so is parking at most hotels nearby.

This is a business oriented hotel catering to conventions. But if you can get past that, it actually works for young families as well. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit San Diego.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank puccipuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,158 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 286 in San Diego
4,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 286 in San Diego
5,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £170 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing