We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriott for holiday parties and conferences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Temecula, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Marriott for holiday parties and conferences”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was a huge hotel. Cute shops. Interestingly curated items to buy which is nice to see. The WiFi is tricking because you have to keep buying it for each device. It was a beautiful place to stay but a bit generic. The concierge floor is closed on weekends which we weren't expecting



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubashark0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    1,319
    364
    132
    99
See reviews for
698
760
116
1,778
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston,MA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We arrived on Thanksgiving and was given a spacious room, with a small but adequate balcony, looking over the harbor. The view was fantastic, especially of the Coronado Bridge and the pool and lit Xmas trees. The location couldn't have been better---right in Seaport Village---which gave us access to many restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is very lovely, up to date, and the staff---everyone we met----couldn't have been nicer. They were helpful and courteous. Manager Jeff came to our room to drop off my choice of pillows and he was terrific. I'm a critic of Marriott AC systems (check out other reviews of different Marriott properties) but no complaints with this one. Very cool and having the choice of AC or the balcony door open made it even better. Stall shower beautiful and large. We ate outside at the Tikki Bar one night and it was a great experience. Felt like we were in the Bahamas with the fire pits, cool breezes, pool and water. Final breakfast at the hotel---again eating out on the deck---was reasonable, delicious, and the perfect end. Can't say often. Stay there if you can.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony. Worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIKOOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for your very flattering review of our hotel. It was nice of you to mention Jeff in your post. I like to recognize our Hosts who are personally mentioned in correspondence. The hotel does offer some nice outdoor dining opportunities and we are fortunate that the weather is agreeable almost year-round. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to San Diego.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, excellent staff and wonderful pool. Was here for business meeting and enjoyed every minute. Gym is excellent as we with up to date equipment. Bar on ground floor is very lively and provide great food and drinks.

Only downside, don't take a room on the city side. Little laud.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I am so glad you hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the gym. We try to keep our equipment up-to-date and also offer a weekly fitness schedule that includes, Yoga and Zumba for our guests to enjoy. Our location is unique in that our urban location is reflected in our city view rooms and our bay view rooms give a resort-like impression. Thank you for posting your experience.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent resort with an amazing location. Everything about the Marriot is perfect, staff are friendly, happy and accommodating to every request. The food in the Marina restaurant is wonderful and the Sunday brunch was one of the best. Easy access to downtown San Diego with a short walk, the seaside boardwalk is interesting and enjoyable for a stroll, shopping, enjoying the sunset or a run. Enjoyed every minute at the Marriot that sweats over all the details. The rooms are clean and the courtyard is visually appealing with a huge pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday Brunch in our Marina Kitchen and took advantage of walking around our city. We are fortunate to be so close to many attractions as you discovered. San Diego is expanding on those attractions; such as a new entertainment zone at The Headquarters adjacent to the boardwalk. I hope you when you return we’ll be able to introduce you to some new area amenities.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Kevin K one of the employees there when out of his way to make sure my husbands birthday was great !
Kevin saved the day! When we got there there was a big group in line checking in and making a bit of a fuss some how Kevin had my husband happy and smiling at the end!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your complimentary words about our Host Kevin. I like to recognize our Hosts and was happy to hear that we could make your husband smile on his birthday. We can all relate to needing a smile on that special day. Warm regards, Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Given the location, this hotel is busy with convention attendees. The customer service is excellent and the Marina kitchen produced some excellent food. Quite a few good choices of restaurants a the nearby Gaslamp Quarters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makan0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I appreciate being able to share your kind words with our Hosts about the level of service they provided during your stay and the good food in our Marina Kitchen. Thank you, Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Right on the harbor the views are spectacular. Boats the pool. Roy's restaurant on site. Nice touches. But crowded with convention goers. Restaurant is decent although we were set at the back and did not feel like we were even in the restaurant. Service was ok but far from the best I've experienced. Had the turkey pot pie. A good comfort food. Little bland but turkey was tasty. Parking was not fun. Self park is far away from the entrances and if yiu arrive late beware u have to climb a flight I stairs to gain entrance not easy if u have luggage. Overall an adequate stay. Would not stay for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allready2goru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,831 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing