We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Harbour Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gladstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Harbour Views”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe harbour view room and had a lovely room. The room was large enough in size and when we requested an extra fold out bed, it came almost instantly and only cost $20 for the wntire 3 nights. (It was very comfortable as well). The hotel is located very close to many tourist sites such as the Maritime Museum and the Gaslamp area. The receptionist at the tour desk was very helpful and advised us on the best and cheapest ways to get to the San Diego Zoo and Seaworld. The tram stop is virtually across the road to make these journeys within easy reach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTourist_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your complimentary post about your stay at our hotel. I enjoy being able to share these posts with our employees. Many of our guests enjoy our location and I hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,918
    1,319
    362
    131
    98
See reviews for
694
760
116
1,774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

in for a quick stay - this is a very nice and very large facility. great rooms - large, clean, quiet. staff is very helpful and friendly. easy walking distance to the convention center, Gaslamp District, Seaport village, etc. also only about 10 min. from the airport. recommend if staying in the downtown area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your post about our hotel. Our convenient location is a bonus for many of our business and leisure guests. In the summer we offer ferry service to Coronado Island, expanding the area our guests can enjoy.
Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for our companies annual conference and was very impressed. They were extremely well organized and the conference went off without a glitch. When checking in I was given a harbor facing room in the North Tower, the view was great! Loved waking up to the harbor view and having my own balcony. The only downside was being on floor 7 you could hear a lot of noise from the pool area bar late at night.

It was great to be able to walk to the Gaslamp District & Seaport Village. Overall a great stay and I would recommend to anyone looking to stay downtown!

Room Tip: North Tower has balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times while attending an annual convention, and have never been disappointed. I requested a room facing the harbor, and the view was beautiful. The hotel is in an exceptional location: walking distance to the Gaslamp District, restaurants, and directly adjacent to the convention center. There is a Starbuck's in the lobby, good restaurant choices on site, a lovely pool area, and the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable, and very clean. Whether you are attending a convention, or vacationing with children and family, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a conference and was impressed with the staff and location. The hotel is steps away from the gas light district and many other locations. The pool bar was great, nice to have heaters as it was cooler. My only complaint is that I am Gold with Marriott and ended up with a room right next to the elevators. Increasingly, Marriott consistently ignores loyal customers (or maybe that there are so many we are a dime a dozen).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The location of this hotel was ideal for the purpose of our visit to San Diego. The Marriott Marquis & Marina was steps away from the Gas Lamp District, USS Midway and a variety of other key San Diego locations, including the mass transportation system. It provided spectacular views of the harbor and a great starting point to each day. The concierge staff was excellent, providing tremendous recommendations for meals (coffee, dinner, etc.) and easy-to-follow directions to anywhere we asked.

Room Tip: If possible, request a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited San Diego over the Christmas into new Year season and stayed at the
San Diego Marriot Marquis & Marina. OMG! This property is awesome. Our kids (17 & 13) had the best time. The pools are amazing. The staff is sooooo friendly and helpful. The concierge (Marco) is the best ever. The property is in the perfect location - walking distance to the very hip Gaslamp district, USS Midway Museum, Seaport Village,the Convention center and many more. It was just unfortunate we were one day short to the auto show which was held at the Convention center.We had a beautiful room on the 15th floor north tower overlooking the marina and the coronado bay bridge. The food at the Marina Kitchen is to die for.The MK signature burgers, the rib eye steak is delicious, the Margarita pizza (don't let the name fool you, there is no alcohol in the pizza) is great. Best breakfast ever. I could go on and on. There are some great restaurants in the area, - Nobu, Morton's steakhouse. We would love to go back. San Diego is a beautiful city, the people are very nice, more laid back atmosphere.
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: North tower is great. The bay view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,816 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing