We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay excellent view next to convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed her for a few nights while exhibiting at the Boutique Design West hospitality conference. Even though I booked thru a discount bid site on line with a crazy former Star Trek guy (ifyaknowwhutimsayin)…They gave gave me an early check in, a late check out and a room with an amazing view (see photo). They fresh fruit all over the place for a quick snack. Hotel is located on the bay, right next to the Convention Center and a very short walk to the gas lamp district. Nice pool area and public spaces. Entire staff was excellent. Hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room out on the point…it's a bit of a walk from the elevator but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,273 - 2,279 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Very large property and in their middle of every thing San Diego! Nice pool with a great atmosphere..excellent amenities...food is not great out here but many close restaurants around..

Staff was helpful and responsive but this had a few exceptions in our visit with front desk canceling our reservation and then finding it after 15 minutes waiting!

All in all..things were good and will be happy to stay at the Marquis again.

Saad

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Skylander1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stayed here whilst attending a conference - very nice hotel and good service throughout.Good location by the marina with walks along to the scenic bay. A bit noisy in the late afternoon with the military helicopters but did not last for long each day.
good pool and surrounding areas - 10 minute walk into town and the many restaurants available in the gaslamp area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I held a business meeting for 150 people at this hotel on March 8 and this was one of the best experiences I have had at a hotel. The departments I interacted with were, Front Desk, Bellman, Concierge, Banquets, Resturant/Bar and Housekeeping. All excellent. This hotel is BEAUTIFUL, its in a great location for tourist wanting to visit all parts of San Diego. The rooms are beautiful, the lobby is gorgeous, the staff is so friendly, and the VIEWS AREA AMAZING. You would expect to pay $400 a night for this kind of experience. Best value I bet you can find in San Diego. All ACES!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a terrific hotel in a great location. Prefer the south tower. Had a lovely exec suite, view of the harbor, all good...except... The concierge lounge is closed on weekends. Ok but they have also done away with full room service and can bring breakfast (limited and not even cold cereal) in an Eco friendly bag. Really disappointed as we had a beautiful room, terrific view and the perfect setting for a nice breakfast in the room. Not happening. I understand the quick grab and go but for a property of this level, roll up an omelet and a pot of coffee please!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GolingGal949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice room, nice pool, nice location. Breakfast was good but could improve. Waiting time was too long for a business hotel.
Access to promenade excellent. Shops and restaurants close by. It was a good experience to stay here.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Eva-Lotta-Pingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Lost internet connection and was forwarded to the help desk who stated every thing was fine. I was put on hold multiple times and finally hung up. During my second call to the front desk, they finally told me that they were having trouble with the internet. Then we lost TV connection and in my third call the front desk told me that everything is fine and they could send up a technician at 10:30pm. I declined and told her that we had lost all wireless/cable connect. She again made excuses. Will not be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ed98052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Ed,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a post about our hotel. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that this has caused you. We also received your e-mail to Marriott’s Customer Care and will respond directly to you regarding your experience at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#31 of 279 in San Diego
5,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £129 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing