We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fine hotel, good pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #41 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northwest, US
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, fine hotel, good pool.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for business with family. We enjoyed the hotel premises and its architecture; we thought the hotel was the most unique of the whole SD marina area. Rooms are relatively spacious for an urban upscale hotel. It is a close walk to many restaurants and across the street from a tram line. The convention center is just next to it, a short outdoor walk. To reach the hotel from the airport, you may not need to rent a car: actually, do not rent if you plan to stay near--take a shuttle; there are enough places to eat and meet nearby, and you will avoid the steep parking fee of about $20+ per day.

Drawbacks: room price, self-parking filled very quickly (but there was a convention), water in the pool was relatively cold (definitely not heated enough: they could crank it up a bit for as much as they charge). The foyer was quite impersonal because of its size.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the tram line (the street signals are quite loud and more frequent that so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AQMRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    1,302
    359
    128
    96
See reviews for
676
748
115
1,751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hunstville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I don't know how this Marriott does it, but they consistently offer exceptional and friendly service. Every single employee! From the front desk, to the maintenance staff. Beautiful view, clean facility, walk to everything and exceptional service. Truly the best hotel we've stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed recently for business in the city and for me usually a hotel bed is a hotel bed. However, in this case, it was really a more rewarding experience since the personnel, specially Scott at reception, made sure my stay was a pleasant one. I had a small billing problem with the laundry service and when I brought it to the manager's (Blake) attention, he was very responsive and understood that my expectations as a customer were not fulfilled. The breakfast buffet was very well presented and the food was excellent. I had a room overlooking the marina and it had beautiful views. And the most important thing for me as a business traveller, the internet connection, was fast enough to work seamlessly. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The North Tower, where I stayed, has corner views. Also, the ground area is closer to the exit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We've stayed here to attend a conference. The convention center is right next door so it's super convenient. Rooms are clean, beds are very comfy and the staff are always friendly. We showed up at 8.30am in the morning and got checked in and straight to our room. You can walk to all sorts of restaurants and also enjoy the waterfront and ocean view. Definitely eat at the Marina Kitchen - it's excellent. The pool area is lovely. The only minor issue is that there is a little noise from the trains outside but these are not very frequent and might not be noticed from rooms that don't face the city side.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank small_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
378 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was my third time to San Diego in the past 6 months for various conferences, each time the hotels have been fantastic. This time I stayed in the Marriott Marquis and Marina - which is extremely convenient to the convention center (basically next door). Given how LARGE the convention center is, it is nice to be as close as possible.
In addition to the proximity - my room was very nice - I was fortunate to have a great view and balcony. The room was nicely laid out and well lite.
The food was pretty good - food quality is very high in San Diego - and of course there are fabulous restaurants in the area.
The pool looked nice (I did not try it)

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the harbor and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

At a conference, I revisited this gem in the Marriott chain. The rooms are well appointed & each has a great view. The staff are all well trained, friendly and make every effort to accommodate. The restaurants are good (and affordable!!!). Love it!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Because the Hilton was overbooked, they moved us to the Marriott and comped our room and parking. Comparing the Hilton to the Marriott is like comparing apples to oranges. The Hilton, while very nice property with attentive staff, is a rank below the Marriott in every category. Service at the Marriott is truly outstanding. Our room was perfect with its balcony overlooking both the city and the bay. Included amenities from the shampoo to the coffee was quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the north tower as these have good views of the bay and the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InKleined2Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,188 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
5,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,736 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing