We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One night in May” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“One night in May”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were only able to stay at the San Diego Marriott Marquis but had a wonderful room with a bayfront balcony room and could not have been happier. We liked it so much we have scheduled another stay this coming fall. The pool/spa area is magnificent. Wish they had a buffet breakfast but that is a minor glitch in what we thought was a great one-night stay. Went to a San Diego Padres game and the walk is easy. Everyone there was friendly and helpful with extra kudos going to Emily on the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    1,219
    340
    122
    85
See reviews for
643
702
112
1,616
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here on business and traveled with a colleague. The hotel is in a great location - right downtown, close to the convention center and on the light rail line. Walking distance to restaurants. This hotel would be an excellent choice for business or pleasure. The main restaurant was very good, albeit a bit pricey, and there is a Starbucks and another small cafe right off of the lobby. My room had a great view. The hotel is situated in a way that most rooms have a harbor view.
My colleague had an updated room that had a power strip, including USB power outlets right on her desk. My room did not have this, and charging multiple devices was a bit of a challenge as outlets were not conveniently located. Also, the mattress on my bed was very saggy on one side.

There is a complimentary in-room coffee service, and they will happily replenish with extras on request.

The staff here was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has been updated. For business travelers, request a room with the updated power st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

First, when we checked in and we went to our supposed room on the 8th floor, our key didn't work and there was a privacy tag on it. After repeated tries, a woman came to the door and said she had asked for late check out. Next, we were redirected to the 12th floor and guess what? Same scenario! When we went downstairs to complain, after much waiting we were given a $50 credit for our troubles. (FYI: they charge $13 a day for wi-fi , $28 a day for self park,and every elevator ride you are assaulted by dramatic weather emergencies on a video.) Then, the following day, despite a privacy tag on our door, housekeeping came in, moved our personal items around, and cleaned our room while we were out. Finally, on our second night, there was a very disruptive group across the hall (door slamming, yelling, and expletives). We called the front desk at 2,3 and 4 in the morning. They responded with "we have a 3 warning rule". The next day after talking to the receptionist and her lengthy phone check with "security" she offered half off of our daily rate. Half off for a full night of misery? When I asked to talk to a manager to give feedback, I was handed a TripAdvisor card and was told "sometimes they read what people write". Read. This.

Room Tip: Clarify that no one is actually in your room before you go upstairs. Refuse to comply with their &q...
See more room tips
Green Features: They could have complied with our request not to enter our room and saved some water/towels and energy.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us. I am very sorry to learn that your stay with less than memorable and not relaxing. I have e-mailed you directly for more information so that we can fully investigate the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I look forward to speaking with you. I appreciate that you chose our hotel for your visit to San Diego and would like to make sure that you know your concerns are taken very seriously.

Kind regards,
Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a lovely Marriott! Beautiful rooms with balconies overlooking ocean and marina and San Diego skyline. Really feels like a resort getaway, right next to convention center. Amenities include a Starbuck's on site and a really great gift shop - much better than the average hotel offerings. Gorgeous lagoon style pool - really amazing (see photo). Not crazy about 4 things: 1. $40 per night valet parking. 2. No discount or waiving of WiFi charges for Silver Elite members. 3. The kind of showers where you have to get inside to turn them on and get a jolt of cold water no matter how much you try to avoid it. 4. No beauty salon or spa on site. But overall, really nice place I would highly recommend. If you are attending a conference and bringing your family along, they will be happy campers! Super nice staff - some older folks working in the front who were very kind and attentive and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Marriott Marquis and Marina is great for atmosphere. Located on the waterfront, with views of sailboats, the bay, and the downtown high-rises. The hotel has a lovely Hawaiian-feeling courtyard with a long pool for swimming and two hot pools. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The historic Gaslamp quarter, the Convention Center, and historic boat museums are within easy walking distance

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I don't give an "excellent" rating casually, but the Marriott left nothing to be desired...well...let's get this out of the way early; valet parking was $40, I thought that was pretty ridiculous. The lobby is beautiful, check in swift, well appointed, spacious rooms and we had a spectacular view of the marina and pool area. The pool area has a very tropical feel and the Tequila Bar reminded me of chillin' in the Caribbean.
You've got Seaport Village at the back door, Gaslamp Quarter across the street...you can't be in a better spot for eating and shopping! Bring the kids, or better yet, leave them!
We met Vinnie the bellman on our way out; luck of the draw, he's been on the property for 27 years...talk about dedication! Cool dude! Look for him before you leave, he knows his way around.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkusSTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina is excellent. I recommend staying here when visiting San Diego. It is a short walk from the gas lamp district, where all the action is. This is my first visit to San Diego and am impressed with the number of restaurants and bars in the area. Many options, many opportunities to have a good time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank t O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing