We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott Rewards Gold Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, AL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Marriott Rewards Gold Experience!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Being a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite paid off on this trip! The hotel was in a great location and had a beautiful view of the Marina and water. The club on the 24th floor was a great place to unwind after a long day of meetings and have a few drinks and appetizers. The staff was always at your beckoned call. The new Marriott app where you can just send them a message from your phone for extra pillows, towels, etc. is on display at this hotel for sure. I can't say enough about how attentive the staff is to your every need and desire. Great job Marriott!

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are doing everything they can to be green. They have separate cans for recycled items and advertise green movements in the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    1,319
    362
    131
    98
See reviews for
695
760
116
1,775
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is average, but great location, nice pool, good f&B outlets but do not expect anything extra. Typical conference hotel, key word is profit. Service acceptable but poor compare to the Marriott branch Asia hotels. Empty minibar? Have to ask for shower cap and extra Shampoo and conditioner several times. No big mirror in bath room. The service was rather poor at the elite desk, no upgrade available. I have a platinum Marriott Membership but except free internet no extra service at all. Have been only once to the executive floor, nothing special. Pool service excellent. Breakfast staff good, Room cleaning good. Restaurant Grill outside good food excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Lyan,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at our hotel. I appreciate your comments regarding the amenities offered at our hotel and have shared your notes with our Director of Services. I am sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty obtaining them during your stay. As you noted this hotel does not offer a mini-bar but we do have small refrigerators in the room for our guests to utilize during their stay.

It seems like you spent a lot of time in our hotel and getting to know our Hosts from all departments and I appreciate your mentioning them. Thank you for dining in our Marina Kitchen and Tequila Bar & Grille. TripAdvisor Posts are shared with our Hosts so that they can directly understand how the service they extend impacts our guests. Our Elite desk tries to honor the upgrades as often as possible and are sometimes precluded from doing so due to groups that have contracted those suites. I do sincerely apologize that an upgrade was not available during your stay.

I do hope that you would consider reaching out to me personally if your travel plans bring you back to San Diego. I would very much like to change your impression of our hotel by personally tending to your room assignment and ensuring that your preferences are met.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed there in 2003 and were pleased to return in 2014. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and very comfortable. The upgraded bathroom (with dedicated shower) was classy. The pool area and outdoor bar are very relaxing especially with the fire bowls at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at this Marriott for 3 nights in May for a business conference, and once again, rather like my experience of staying at the Marriott at the Dead Sea in Jordan, the service from beginning to end was first rate - particularly all those at the Concierge desk who never tired of answering all of my questions or making calls for me.

The location for downtown San Diego is unbeatable plus you get the sea views and so much to see just walking distance from the hotel.

Admittedly, the room rates can easily be beaten elsewhere in town, but as were on a group rate, $239/night plus taxes seemed extremely reasonable to me.

You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: pay a little extra and be sure to get the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zone1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Situated right next to the SD Convention Center so very convenient for conference goers. It is your good old business hotel with everything running efficient though really nothing special about. Swimming pool and ground area between the two towers are nice but guestrooms are really not that big despite of being comfortably decorated. Bathroom is functional but also on the tight side. The good thing is every room seems to have a private balcony which opens up to a fantastic million-dollar harbor view!

Unfortunately due to heavy use during the convention week, the Club level was closed while I was there so can't comment about the service, otherwise hotel staff is friendly and very professional.

Hotel rate at Marriott during ANY convention period will likely be high but location wise, you simply can't beat it. In sum, it is a good comfortable business hotel which I will not hesitate to recommend to fellow travelers regardlessly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been staying at the Marriott Marquis for years. It has always been a great place to stay because it is well-managed and because the people who work there do a terrific job. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the workout area is terrific and the views are great. The property, however, has a distinctly dated, corporate and vanilla feel to it now, given the increase in the number of hotels (even large chain hotels) that are updating to give a "boutique experience." Overall, a solid value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Marriott Marquis in San Diego. I had read a number of reviews of the hotel and knew exactly where I wanted to be in the hotel. Prior to my stay, I telephoned the hotel with my room request. Upon arrival, I was delighted to learn that I was assigned to the exact type of room I had requested: bay-view king with a balcony on the 24th floor. The view was absolutely magnificent. The room was wonderful as well--good sized with a sofa, refrigerator and all of the usual amenities. The bathroom did not have a tub but I prefer a walk-in shower so that was not a problem for me.
The hotel is very, very large and was filled to capacity during my stay. Nonetheless, the service was excellent throughout. And, it was very quiet in my room. It goes without saying that I would select this hotel again when I return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North Tower all have balconies. Those on the higher floors on the bay side have specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,819 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing