We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I love San Diego and have stayed at several hotels. This is my first stay at the Marqui and it was superb - from beginning to end. The room and balcony were beautiful and well-equipped. Most important, I was treated like a Queen by every staff person. The reservationist corrected an error made by Marriott corporation. She did so with class! The valet service was perfect! I ordered something from the deli and went to pick up. When I arrived, I saw what I had ordered - which was kind of small for two people. I ask if I could exchange for something else. I wish I could remember his name, but he couldn't do enough to find something perfect for our late night meal. I suppose it's what is expected of a higher level hotel, but I feel they go above and beyond to make guests feel special in this large hotel.

Room Tip: North Tower - balcony higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

On behalf of our Hosts, thank you for you complimentary post of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,179 - 2,185 of 4,085 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a weekend trip. It was perfectly located and a short walk from our hornblower dinner cruise dock. The room was nice and clean with a balcony overt looking the marina. We are planning a return trip!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GloDuranBani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When we were planning our trip to SD, I wasn't sure how to choose which part of the city to stay in. We picked here pretty much at random between the 4 Marriotts (we usually stay at Marriotts) in the area figuring we could just drive to other parts of the city. This was definitely the correct choice. The location is perfect. It is right on the marina and a quick stroll to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp, and the ferry over to Coronado. Getting to Coronado or Old Town by car is quick and easy (and getting to the interstate is also close by). The hotel itself is quite nice. It has a large pool -- Though I warn you: SD is cold in April if you are used to hot weather like I am. The pool is heated nicely, but the air is chilly when you get out. There are also bike and surrey rentals at the hotel, but we didn't take advantage of those. There are several restaurants on site, but we didn't try them preferring to walk over to the Gaslamp. We had a room overlooking the Marina and the bridge to Coronado - the view was stunning. My only issue with the hotel was that the concierge lounge was small and it seems like everyone has "status" granting them access to it. It was difficult to find seating before heading out each day and the food area was cramped. Also - and this has nothing to do with the hotel - but I warn you not to take one of the pedicabs from the hotel to the Gaslamp. It is easily walkable and the pedicabs are ridiculously expensive. We took one once thinking it would be fun and a good way to see the historic buildings along the way. It is, but it's not worth the expense.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogachick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed there July 5th. Only one night . I had 2 rooms on the same floor. 1 for my husband and the other for my 3 adult kids. We both had rooms overlooking the bay. That night we were able to enjoy the fireworks without leaving our room. Ordered room service and it was great!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While my wife summited about sales, I stayed here and toured San Diego for four days, using the Marriott as my base. The hotel is gigantic and in a prime location - big corporate chain lodging, for better or for worse. Trolley is right there, and it's a stone's throw away from the Convention Center and Seaport Village.

Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable with an excellent view of the water and the bridge. Every amenity you could want is there, but you'll pay dearly for them. Fortunately, there's a Ralph's Grocery store within a ten to fifteen minute walk from the hotel.

As lodging goes, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. But in light of their prices, perhaps I'd see what other deals were kicking about at a similarly rated facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is now the hotel by which I measure all other hotel stays. The location was terrific, the room was huge and very well appointed. The pool area was lovely. I was there for a conference and then stayed on for a few days to explore the area. Wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank REAL-EAC-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite for Fourth of July for a quick Staycation. We did mobile check in stating we would arrive at 1pm. Got there at 1 and our room wasn't ready. No big deal we'll go to the pool and wait for the room to be ready. Get to the pool there are no seats. I ask an attendant how this works and she tells me that all is left is a spot on the grass. So for 600+ I have to sit on the grass with my family of four..awesome. It only went downhill from there. Not enough staff for the restaurant, no room service. The best was paying 40.00 for vAlet then waiting an hour outside for your car. Room was beautiful view couldn't be beat for fireworks. I will add that after complaint I was immediately contacted and reimbursed for valet. All in all... They have a lot of work to do in the customer service area.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Aja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0410, Executive Assistant at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Aja, I’m very sorry that your stay with us over the 4th of July was marred by the delay in delivering your room and a place to sit by the pool. Thank you for selecting our hotel and allowing us the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. We do have one of the best locations for watching the fireworks and appreciate your candid comments. Your post is being reviewed by our team and shared with Ace Parking so that we can learn and grow from your experience.

Kind regards,

Jeanine Spencer
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,182 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#29 of 286 in San Diego
5,556 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £197 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing