We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #108 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed there for four nights while in town for family business. Very nice accomodations! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice outdoor areas to enjoy a glass of wine after a long day. Had a great view and was close to everything that we needed. Had an issue with room service one morning, but it was taken care of promptly. We will definatly stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side upper floor - best views from that side. DO NOT get an end room - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley for your recent stay! We are thrilled to receive your positive feedback on our friendly and helpful staff, convenient location, and outdoor areas. It is great to hear that your room service issue was taken care of promptly and efficiently. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at the Marriott Mission Valley for 5 nights in April for business. It was in a great location with easy access to the I8 freeway and very close to lots of shopping and restaurants but tucked away where it was nice and quiet. The hotel lobby, pool, jacuzzi, and gym were very nice with a relaxing resort feel with nice patio furniture and hammocks. The room was updated and nicely furnished with a fridge (empty), desk, couch, king size bed, balcony, and large flat screen tv. The bathroom was a good size with the sink outside in the room with lots of counter space. They also have HBO which allowed me to watch the premier of Game of Thrones. Parking was extra for $18 a day. Wireless was included in the rate we got. Overall, this was a great hotel with no real complaints except the hairdryer sucked so bring your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! We appreciate your positive comments on everything from the great location to the TV options. It is wonderful to know that our hotel suited your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, should your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really loved my stay at this Marriott. The personnel at the front desk were very friendly. The housekeeping does am excellent job at keeping the rooms very clean. This is very close to stores and places to eat within walking distance. I will be patronizing this place again when we go to visit our son.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience regarding your stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! We are thrilled to hear that our front desk personnel and housekeeping staff helped contribute to your visit. We are happy to know you found the hotel rooms to be clean and well maintained. We appreciate your positive comments on our location as well. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Traveling in a group usually creates all sorts of problems from missing room reservations, lack of space to accommodate all guests in the party, then topping things off with poor customer service. This is NOT the case at the Marriott Mission Valley.
As the group point of contact, I began receiving email correspondence from the hotel weeks ahead of our arrival date confirming the reservations and asking about any special needs my group might require. Christy Lee is the definition of professional and went above and beyond the entire week to make our Marriott Experience the most memorable in quite a while. The front desk, restaurant and concierge staff only added to our experience by providing friendly world-class service, not often found at such a large hotel.
If you are traveling to the San Diego area you MUST experience this Marriott property. There is ample shopping and restaurants nearby and can catch trolley to downtown right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for choosing the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay. It is wonderful to know that Christy Lee and our staff made you feel so welcomed and helped give you a memorable experience! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our location and property. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here exclusively for almost two years. For some reason my previous rating did not post so I am doing it again. The hotel is well located near shops, restaurants, and near the Chargers stadium. It is only about a 15 minute drive from downtown and the airport.

The hotel is clean and was recently remodeled, so it's like a new hotel. What made this hotel so special to me was the staff. They really went out of their way to know me by name. Two of the mangers (Ray and Eric) also go out of their way to satisfy customers.

No matter where my future travels in San Diego might take me, I will go out of my way to stay at this Marriott property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We are so glad to hear that you have had a wonderful experience at our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to offer us your positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear you were able to utilize the local San Diego area. Thank you for your comments on Ray, Eric, and the rest of our staff. We love to hear that they helped make your stay so special. We very much appreciate your loyalty to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley and hope to be able to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a recent guest of CBS during the NCAA tournament, I had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott Mission Valley and I wish to commend all of the staff and especially Kelly Burton, for wonderful service and attention to my every need. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Phyllis Goodman, Tucson, AZ.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! Thank you for your comments on our wonderful staff. We are glad to know that Kelly and the rest of our team took such good care of you. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was really happy with this hotel I recommend anyone to stay here great service. I always stay at the Marriott's and always have a great experience they are my # one hotel I cant see my self anywhere else.
Thank you Marriott

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley! Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We appreciate your recommendation and your loyalty to the Marriott brand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#110 of 279 in San Diego
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing