We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable San Diego Lodging and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Ranked #90 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
445 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Comfortable San Diego Lodging and Good Location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A nice place of lodging, Marriott Mission Valley is a good place to consider for a stay in beautiful San Diego. Just minutes from the airport and downtown, the large hotel has the amenities you like and the location you need for a comfortable stay.

Marriott Mission Valley offers attractive, clean rooms that are roughly standard in size and about what you expect for a hotel. The beds are comfortable and I like the large desk with easily accessible electrical outlets, perfect for those who need to plug in the laptop and cell phone. This is not only convenient, it is nice because it keeps the cords out in the open where they are more visible, making it less likely you will leave them behind. Each room has a small balcony as well, for some fresh air and views of the surrounding areas.

Amenities at this Marriott are about in- line with others of the chain and everything looks inviting and appealing. About the only small issues visitors are likely to have is with the wifi and the parking. The wifi isn’t free in the rooms and this could cause some frustration. My advice to management would be to make it free, even if it requires increasing the room rates by a few dollars per night. There is a similar issue with parking- it’s a little pricey and it would be better if it was somehow factored into the room rate.

Other than these small issues, the Marriott Mission Valley is a nice place to stay. I found the staff courteous and helpful in most every way and my stay was worry- free. It’s a nice place to consider for lodging in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: Try to get on the upper floors for the best balcony views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_Carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very thorough review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip and that our rooms and amenities provided convenience and comfort for you while traveling! Thank you for your feedback regarding our parking and in-room Wi-Fi. Your comments help us identify areas where we can continue to improve on our guests' experiences. We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    204
    64
    15
    10
See reviews for
120
83
25
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel. Liked the room. Free wi-fi. Pool was nice., but slightly cold. Nice jacuzzi. About 10 minute drive to Old Town and to Seaworld. The bar down stairs was nice with decent prices on food which can be taken out to then pool. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Kirby,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind words about our rooms and our bar and pool areas. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our proximity to local attractions as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great hotel, rooms were very comfortable. I loved that the couch pulled out into a bed. We had a suite as well, which was very convenient. We have friends who shared the suite from the other side, great way to travel with kids too and have a community room for those that stay up late or go to bed early. Service and staff were wonderful too. The pool was a fun addition too.

Room Tip: The suites are great if you have children because they are completely separate with a door separatin...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they do this. We didn't take advantage but it's good they offer it.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind words about our hotel and staff. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your suite and and the pool. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you to San Diego again.

Sincerely,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we were driving through. We reserved a concierge room and, unfortunately, nothing about this hotel impressed me from the room, to the lounges to the pool area. Service at reception was average. Service in the concierge lounge, however, was good. The pool area was nothing special and the cushions on lounge chairs were ripped and falling apart. There is free WIFI in the concierge lounge and public lobby areas but when I asked the reception about WIFI she told me I had to pay for it and provided me instructions. I guess maybe I should have researched it a little more but would have thought the receptionist would have explained the options. The room itself was average and not all that expensive but by the time you add the extras (parking and wifi) it started getting pricey comparatively. The night before we had stayed in a normal King size room in a Courtyard which was just as nice as our concierge king size room in the Marriott. For the all inclusive end price differential not sure if this Marriott was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi service and pool area. Please be assured that your comments are taken seriously and help us identify areas where we can improve upon our service. Regarding price, we do our best to stay in line with the going rate of surrounding area hotels. We hope to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to San Diego.


Best regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is always very clean and the service is always top notch. They are willing to go the extra mile to delight there customer. The rooms are good size and do not have the bad aromas of some other hotels. The food in the concietge room was good. The hotel is well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We appreciate your very kind words about the cleanliness of our hotel, our service, and our food. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in the heart of a business district, with great meeting rooms and beautiful pool area. It has typical Marriott amenities--nice breakfast area, cozy bar, comfortable beds and small extras like cold, fruit-infused water in the lobby. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the room décor was pretty bland for a Marriott, but it was comfortable. Onsite parking was $18 per day, but very conveniently located for self parking. Of course, they also have valet parking. If you are traveling with a partner, most rooms are set up for one person--even rooms with king size bed have one chair, and a very small dressing area with one sink. My room on the 9th floor had a nice view of the pool. Unfortunately, I couldn't sleep with the door open to enjoy the beautiful San Diego weather, because of the street noise. Even late at night there was a lot of noisy truck and motorcycle traffic.

Room Tip: Noisy location due to nearby freeways and busy streets. I don't know about rooms not facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindainvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are happy to hear that we were able to offer you a comfortable and convenient place to stay for your business trip and that our staff made you feel at home. Thank you for your compliments on our amenities and meeting rooms. We also appreciate your feedback on our room decor as it is a valuable tool for our team. We hope to host you on your next trip to San Diego!

Warm regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a peaceful, relaxing getaway! This hotel is a great value for the money. Our special thanks to Manager Kristen and her awesome staff in the restaurant/lounge, especially Jorge, Liza and James M. You made it very special for us - we will see you again!

Room Tip: We chose a toom at the end of the corridor - it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do have the practice of having guests reuse towels if possible
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed a relaxing escape with us during your recent trip to San Diego! Thank you for your kind words about our staff, as we take great pride in our friendly service. We would certainly welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future!

Warm regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Property: San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#82 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing