We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel stay I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #253 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Rooms are extremely dirty and old. Service is severely lacking. The pictures are not representative at all by any stretch of imgagination how run down the property really is. There are so many great hotels in San Diego. Please do yourself a favor and book your stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dontbullyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

No hot water. The desk sent a maintenance person....assured us there would be hot water in the morning so we stayed. No hot water in the morning! Asked for our money back.....desk said to call Expedia.......The first two calls to Expedia resulted in denial from Mission Resort to refund our nights stay......I called Chris myself.......Expedia then called Chris and finally we got a refund. ALSO! the TV barely worked...the drapes were off their tracks, furniture banged up, the tub wouldn't drain as we ran the cold water hoping it would get warm, the sheets were sooo thin, and the lock on the door was ....iffy at best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Been staying in hotels throughout San Diego while on relocation the last 5 months. I found the bottom. Cheap rate but paying dearly; won't walk barefoot in the room; funk odors, no weather seal on front door and thin windows, dude is coughing next door and sounds like he is coughing on me. Funk spilled on the wall paper next to the bed. Bed looks like, never mind. This is bad. Have nothing good to say about this place except the parking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank trace10808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is not a fancy hotel, but it has all we look for when we go to San Diego. Room 100 has connection with 2 other rooms, so, it is excellent for families with kids and teenagers. It is not far from a couple of shopping malls. There is a big gym which we did not use.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selvamaria71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It is basically a glorified motel, the rooms are basic, Walls are thin, shower is ok, rooms smell stale but if you are not in your room much and enjoying sd then does the job.
The tavern the hotel has was very good as was the jacuzzi. Staff were friendly on the whole too. Location wise it's nicely placed for all sd attractions within 10 minute drive on average

Room Tip: Get towards back of property to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyBenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm1234, Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Even though you had a good stay it does seem that room conditions is something we can and are currently working to improve. As for the staff we all here strive to give excellent customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a room in the 400 building and had no problems with mold or cleanliness as others have mentioned. Chris at the front desk was very nice. We had the room to relax package and the free breakfast was great. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first. Not a problem for us but others have made comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candigirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm1234, Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The staff takes great pride in providing great service and we look forward to having you stay with us again!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Cob webs in the corners, mold above the shower AND MULTIPLE DIFFERENT TYPES OF "HAIRS" found in my son's supposedly clean, freshly made bed, tops the list of reasons why you should seek accommodations elsewhere. (I have photos of all) My employer sought a hotel on the internet for our one night stay in SD for a two day project we were on, and found this "place" rated at 3 and 1/2 stars. That rating normally ensures a reasonably clean, safe, problem free stay for our technicians while working out of town, but not in this case. Top it all off with a 1 hour wait in the lobby while we tried to figure out how to give them a credit card, that I did not have available, to charge their "mandatory", un-waivable, $100.00 charge for incidentals. My employer offered to give them a credit card number over the phone, which they refused to take without having a signed credit card authorization letter on file. Being that it was 9:00 pm and my employer not having a fax machine at home (it's at the office where it should be) we SAT in the lobby for an hour until my son offered them $50.00 cash out of own pocket (which was never mentioned by the STONE FACED, unconcerned staff at the reception desk) as a possible alternative, we were finally granted access to the stellar accommodations I described at the beginning of this epic. After reporting the Hair In The "Clean" Bed we were given a better room and the excuse that the hair came from the "maid" in the performance of her duties, yeah right. Try using a hair net next time sister, and while you're at it, try changing the sheets instead of just re-making the bed after the room is vacated by the previous patrons.

Room Tip: Local clientele seem a little seedy and untrustworthy. If you absolutely must stay here (not recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Residence Inn San Diego Central
#107 of 286 in San Diego
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing