We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Dirty Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #243 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nasty Dirty Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked here as this was the only place we could find to stay. Thank goodness we only were there one night because this may be one of the dirtiest nastiest hotel I've ever stayed. The whole place is dirty from the outside to the inside of the room. The bedspreads were dirty and crusty in places. I can't even begin to explain how nasty the tile was in the bathroom. Mold, dirt, and rust were everywhere. The plugs in the rooms didn't even work. There was no trashcan. I guess people just use the entire room as a trashcan.

I would sleep in my car...on the side of the road before I would ever stay another night in this filthy, nasty, dirty hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Staff and Management of the Mission Valley Resort are working hard to make an impact on the quality and condition of our guest rooms. We are continuously updating rooms daily. We know that we are an older property, but make up for those challenges with a great staff, clean rooms and great prices.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    110
    103
    118
    317
See reviews for
238
168
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When my family walked into the tiny room we noticed how dirty and run down the room was. There were hairs on the pillows and sheets. We found a dead flying insect in the bed as well. We called the office and housekeeping came to clean the beds. The front door had some sort of stain on it. The safe in the closet was missing the door. The mirror in the bathroom is chipping on the corners. Above the shower/tub area the paint is cracked and chipping. My daughter flipped out because she found spiders on the wall and on the ceiling. The light bulbs in 2 of the lamps were out, but they were replaced. We paid 100/night and the least they could do is provide a clean room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allioop42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Staff and Management of the Mission Valley Resort are working hard to make an impact on the quality and condition of our guest rooms. We are continuously updating rooms daily. We know that we are an older property, but make up for those challenges with a great staff, clean rooms and great prices.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lousy customer service, felt like I was being rushed. Reps seem unwilling to help even though they claim they were unable to. Unmade rooms. First room sent to looked like we were late for the party. Beds unmade, food, bottles and trash everywhere, bathroom disgusting. Second room moved to, previous guest still there and still having their own party, oh the smells coming out of there?? Third room smelled like an ash tray and the phone had no directory. Finally, after working all day, driving all night, putting up with bad service, get to fourth room, only to find one preference requested. Room made but just seems unclean and rundown. Walls scuffed, bathroom cramped and deteriorating, beds uncomfortable. Also, buildings rundown, spider webs everywhere, and large rodent seen running around bushes outside.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Staff and Management of the Mission Valley Resort are working hard to make an impact on the quality and condition of our guest rooms. We are continuously updating rooms daily. We know that we are an older property, but make up for those challenges with a great staff, clean rooms and great prices.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights. I was absolutely terrified to stay here when I read the reviews. Maybe it depends what building you are in and what type of room, but our room was, for the price, very nice, quiet and comfortable. The bed was comfy, the sheets clean (no bed bugs!). The furniture looked newer and although the tv was an old tube style it was fine and worked well. The bathroom also was clean except for a few rust marks on fixtures you don't touch anyways. There were a few dings and scuffs on the walls and floors but nothing excessive. The lobby and room smelled good (And I am pregnant, so my nose is really sensitive!). Only issue was some outlets didn't work. I would stay here again. Some people that post are expecting the Hilton at budget prices. This hotel is much nicer than the Howard Johnson down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegasandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments.

This is a great assessment of what this hotel is about. Challenged, yet realistic.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

HOTEl IMPOSSIBLE please visit here!!! The rooms are dirty and there is hair everywhere!!!! Hair in the sheets,Hair in the shower, dirty floors!! We were very itchy when we stayed in this hotel!! Its disgusting and the rooms are not clean!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a11109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Staff and Management of the Mission Valley Resort are working hard to make an impact on the quality and condition of our guest rooms. We are continuously updating rooms daily. We know that we are an older property, but make up for those challenges with a great staff, clean rooms and great prices. Give us another chance to make a better impression.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is filthy. From dirty furniture, to water marks and mold in the bathroom, this was plain horrible. I was traveling at night and booked this hotel last minute. Perfect setting for a horror movie where zombies go on vacation.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mvrgm, General Manager at Mission Valley Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The Staff and Management of the Mission Valley Resort are working hard to make an impact on the quality and condition of our guest rooms. We are continuously updating rooms daily. We know that we are an older property, but make up for those challenges with a great staff, clean rooms and great prices. Give us another chance to make a better impression.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#164 of 278 in San Diego
185 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Town and Country San Diego
#183 of 278 in San Diego
3,654 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#133 of 278 in San Diego
202 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Property: Mission Valley Resort
Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing