We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but just fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #245 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is clearly old, that's all. The rooms were clean. That's the most important thing. The rooms are small and the TV was fuzzy. My family laughed and found other things to do. How much time do you really want to spend in your room anyway! We were at the Beach all the time! We had problems with our door lock, they had to replace the entire card reader. The staff was nice and quick. The main pool was nice and warm. This place is great for a family on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank smartgirlphxAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting, everything is out of date, dilapidated, and dirty. We couldn't get clean towels for 3 days. The front desk is incompetent, and lie to cover their own screw ups. Will never give this place my business again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank lola1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in in San Diego! Don't be fooled by the name, this is a horrible hotel that is way over priced. You are better off at a Motel 6 over this place. The room was a non smoking room and it still smelled horrible. We only stayed a few hours and we left.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank JonnyAwesum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This place is absolutely terrible. When we walked to our room the first thing we noticed was that the grass hadn't been cut in weeks. The grass was almost up to our knees! There is litter strewn all over the grass and walkways. When we got to our door, we noticed that the window screen was hanging loose on one side, and slit open on the other side. Inside the place is dark because 3 out of the 4 lightbulbs in the room were burnt out. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and the walls have squashed bugs on them that no one cleans off. The bed smelled like beer. I called the manager to complain and he said he'd be right over to check it out. I'm still waiting. I told my husband that I'd rather sleep in the car than in this filthy place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

29-07-2014
Old dump, there is no good word for this place. All old and broken.
Mold in the badroom. Smelly old AC. Stanes on the walls, i do not want to know where it come from. Closet door is missing. And much more failers. The owner shout put it on fire and bild a new good hotel. A prisson is better to stay dan this dump.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank wiegert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We wanted a non smoking room. The first room raked of smoke. Guess it was non smoking just for our visit. The second room smelled better their were stains on the carpet that I don't even want to think about. But then the TV and remote didn't work. The maintenance name did replace the remote and tried to fix the tv.Then there was an issue with the dead cocktail and live centipede in the bathroom. Erin at the front desk attempted to be accommodating without much care for our inconvenience. We did get our money back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarySue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I have to start out by saying how amazing the staff is. Again, amazing staff. Other than that, terrible. Nice location, when we first went to our room, we experienced a prostitution bust as we were unloading into our room next door. Apparently this is common here. We asked to be moved and we were moved. Gratefully since the room we just entered was mold endeared with holes in the wall and smelled like rat crap.

New room was bigger and over looked the pool and was just repainted. However, the dirt was painted in, new paint was done badly, doors and windows and lamps were painted over, and when the kids walked on. The floor, their feet went black from the nastiness. We had to wear our socks the whole time and burned them when we left. We also had the joy of hearing Jasmine next door talk with Frank about what she was offering for how much at 1 am in the morning and then commenced to perform.

Some elbow grease, some worker oversite, attention to detail, and ...a hell. Don't stay here. If you have a family, stay somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Town and Country San Diego
#183 of 278 in San Diego
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £41 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing