We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine motel, no frills, no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego North
Ranked #238 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We needed to be in San Diego the weekend of Comic Con (but not to dress up as Klingons!) and this was the only reasonably priced motel we could find (even then of course we paid well over the odds). It wasn't in an ideal location for us as we wanted to be nearer to Poway but turned out to be pretty well placed (just off the 805), a few minutes drive to Harbour Island, La Jolla or to Downtown.
No complaints, it is what it is. Normal price of around $70 would make it reasonable for this sort of city. The girl on check-in was really nice and very apologetic about the price hike for Comic Con.
Korean restaurant right next door and good breakfast place (Coco's Bakery) a short drive East on Clairemont Boulevard.

Room Tip: One side faces the freeway. We asked for a room facing the parking lot and we didn't notice any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

It seems to me that Motel 6 has remodeled most of their hotels in recent years.....This Motel 6 is no different. It's small, quiet, and delivered EXACTLY what I have come to expect. Simple check-in and Check out..given the basic essentials needed for a 1-2 night stay. Everybody was polite, and stayed out of sight and mind for the duration of my stay. This specific MOTEL 6 was not dirty, not fancy, and not loud.

Room Tip: Check in goes a lot faster if you submit a reservation via computer or call first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cra1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Located at the middle of major san diego attractions, 15 minutes drive to center. Mcdonald's is walk distance, Eating and Laundry can easily be reached by car. Poor in room equipments: you can hear loud noise from the wall, especially the water sound from next door. Late arrived guests usually made a lots of noise. Suggest to prepare ear protection.

Room Tip: Smoke room smells not so smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Any motel that you have to drive down an alley past a chinese restaurant and 2 cop cars should have screamed to us to turn around. We decided to keep our reservations anyways, but that was a mistake.

The drug deals and meth addicts/hookers in the parking lot, meant we rushed right to our room. There we were hit with the stench of smoke and chemicals (despite being a smoke free room), a burnt comforter covering stained sheets, strange stuff on the walls, a non-draining sink with no hot water, a moldy shower, thin tiny towels, a TV with bunny ear quality signal, and a toilet that had been glued back together.

I will admit that I tend to not leave reviews when I'm rather neutral on the subject, but this motel was a slum. Nothing has been "refreshed" as the website claims, unless you count the dirt that might get washed off during a rainstorm. I've spent 27 nights in hotels over the past year and this wasn't the cheapest one, but it was the worst.

Please don't stay here if you want to enjoy your trip to beautiful San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Room was clean, carpet worn a bit. Bath Towels were threadbare and small...probably the cheapest possible. Everything worked, hot water was hot. Basic. As a value for the money, it was acceptable at best. I'll be using Motel 6 now and then...no major complaints and it was handy.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank John32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2005

Unfriendly service, musty rooms, dogs everywhere - on the positive side the wake up call came as promised and the taxi arrived on time. You can do better somewhere else...

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank davidfitts901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose-Alfonso-Aguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#229 of 286 in San Diego
321 reviews
Motel 6 San Diego - Southbay
#207 of 286 in San Diego
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#189 of 286 in San Diego
148 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#175 of 286 in San Diego
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego North

Address: 5592 Clairemont Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92117-2347
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £51 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego North 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego
Motel Six San Diego
San Diego Motel 6
San Diego Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing